27 thoughts on “A Toxic Privilege

      1. One can only hope. It finally caught up with with some of the men who used their class to abuse young girls and women. But there is so much reckoning that needs to be done with the entrenched political elite

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi George, interesting that you would mention that about the helicopters. The sound of the Huey is as close to the sound of the helicopter rotor blades that I’ve been hearing, slow it down now to a thump, thump, thump. It is perfect percussion! Wishing you and your family well. ~ Mia

      Liked by 1 person

      1. The full version, intro especially – hard to find on YouTube – of Billy Joel’s Goodnight Saigon uses the helicopter as additional (?) sound art to the song itself. That was a rare thing back then, as far as I know not many tried stuff like that. What you’ve got here with Creedence Clearwater is something else, Mia. I’m useless at seeing the meanings most times, but the quote I think says it all. Musically, making a helicopter an instrument, not just an art like addition, it is – artistically – something else. I enjoyed this one a lot. Have a great election and a good day to match ~ George

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Hi George. The sound of the rotor system is most hypnotic and has melody of its own. I think the sound conjures an unspoken primal emotion. Maybe it’s the constant underlying vibration or the repetitive nature of the thumps, much like drums. I wish Goodnight Saigon, had carried the sound art throughout the entire song. Never a fan of Billy Joel, saw him in concert once years ago. Tickets from a friend, I think it was at the Hollywood Bowl. Thank you for the kind wishes, wishing you many good days to come. ~ PM

          Liked by 1 person

          1. I don’t know hardly anything about Billy Joel, PM. I agree with you, repetition of all sorts, not just words, are crucial to most music, a bit like the backdrop in a movie is. Atmosphere. Even singing solo, a silence behind the words sets the mood. Keep writing ~ George

            Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Ogden, CCR really did pluck at the heart strings of an entire generation. So many great songs for sure. Thinking back there was so much good music that came out of the Vietnam era, sadly, very sadly. Take good care! ~ Mia 💖 💖 💖

      Liked by 1 person

      1. So true – funny thing is, I look back on that era as being happy happy sunny sunshine! (its just my rose tined youth talking there) Its true tho, when everything’s fine, the music seems to get weak and wishy washy – the musicians seem to need a bit of adversity – also it was to do with the struggle just to be somebody and say something, it comes in waves – also tho they do say its to do with what new instruments get invented, electric guitars, radio, TV, synths, and so on! ❤

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Greg! Was it supposed to be better? Always good to hold onto hope. The Jetsons were great, I loved Astro, “Ruh-roh!” The space treadmill always got to me. 😉 Oh, that’s right, what about Rosie the Robot? Have a good evening! ~ Mia

      Liked by 1 person

        1. Thank you, Greg! And a special ‘thank you’ for a big smile, yes, we should watch more cartoons. Indeed, the AI intrusion into our lives is a real and exponential threat/fear. Have a good evening!

          Liked by 1 person

  1. Wrangler used this song for a patriotic ad years back. It always made me cringe they didn’t even listen to the lyrics.

    I worked on helicopters for 8 years and this was always our theme song!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Love your musical taste.
    Though I have a strong personal dislike of helicopters. One ride too many in a combined maneuver when I was in the Army. A dislike shared by many a Vietnam vet I met when I went to College…
    ✊🏻

    Liked by 1 person

    1. So nice of you, Brian. Glad you like the music. 🙂 I’m hypnotized by the sound of the rotors and the vibration. Do I remember correctly, you did some of your graduate work (college) in the US? Why am I thinking Arizona, maybe New Mexico (somewhere hot and dry), apologies if I’m way off base. Please do correct me. Thank you.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. No worry. It does start with A. Like in ‘Bama. Roll Tide, Tuscalooser, Alabamer. Bear Bryant was still there… A fantastic experience. I even learned “ter speak Sudern” on top of mah MBA.
        Bless mah soul.
        (I won’t ask you where you went to school, thinking of predators)
        😉

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment