Affectation

Artist Anna RizzardiArtist Anna Rizzardi

 

Affectation


Finally revived
From your half-truths

Lies: sins of omissions
You took my breath away
Laid me to rest
While Lying in Wait — four days
I traveled to Nain
Bethany and Galilee too
Cruel is the beautiful ugly man
Whose façade got wet
Exposing the bone

 

.
“It is not only what we do, but also what we do not do, for which we are accountable.”
― Molière (Jean-Baptiste Poquelin)


Jewel – “Who Will Save Your Soul


Originally posted — October 22, 2015 @ 10:24 ***

43 thoughts on “Affectation

    1. Hi Brian, when I give thought to it, I find myself wondering if it’s all an illusion, and is everyone dreaming the same dream? Maybe Poe was on to something. I can’t help on the Molière quote, I searched yet fell short for an answer. Please have a good day and a lovely weekend. ~ Mia

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Rob, thank you. That’s a good one, should we be accountable for what we withhold? I hope you’re having a Happy Friday and soon to be pool side. Please enjoy the upcoming weekend. ~ Mia 🙂

      Like

  1. A remarkable story told in few words. Whether factual or a fiction matters not. Michael Ondaatje would be proud, possibly jealous that these words are yours, not his. At last, something worthy to read and absorb.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Mike, thank you very much a wonderful comment, you’re far too kind. “If only” comes to mind when I think of Michael Ondaatje, thank you again. Please enjoy the rest of your day and have a terrific weekend. ~ Mia

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Poignent, direct and shredding façades. Superb piece.

    For some reason I didn’t get a notification when you posted this so I didn’t see it until now.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Extraordinary Copper. I see the sins of omission make an appearance, and they trouble the conscience more, I think, than the stupid stuff we do (that I do anyway. Someone once said that heaven was a matter of milk bottle tops, all the small details decide the fate of our souls. Sorry I digress but excellent.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Mr. Cake. Sins of omissions are a minefield. It’s all found in the details, and the smaller the detail the more heaven or havoc it plays on our souls. Please have a wonderful evening, I will be making my way over shortly.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Lola, thank you for the nice words. I can’t imagine anyone has not experienced this on one level or another. How can you avoid it? Thank you the weekend was lovely, I hope that you enjoyed yours and are having a wonderful week so far. ~ Mia 🙂 💗

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I agree Mia! When one loves one risks much, sometimes too much. I have mentally pinned scarlet letters on several over time. Have a lovely and creative rest of the week and weekend! – Lola 😀💕

        Liked by 1 person

          1. This is so true Mia! I feel the same way. I’ve always loved the song “Daughters” by John Mayer and especially these lyrics;
            On behalf of every man
            Looking out for every girl
            You are the God and weight of her world
            So fathers, be good to your daughters
            Daughters will love like you do
            Girls become lovers who turn into mothers
            So mothers be good to your daughters too.”
            Have a great weekend! – Lola 💜

            Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, I thought it’s the perfect song, especially because there is no perfect. Some will argue we’ll all be saved, while some will say none of us will be saved. I think I would rather have someone lie to my face instead of the silent sin of omission.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. You cover so much with so few words with this piece of work ~ impressive Mia, and so powerful. “Cruel is the beautiful ugly man, Whose façade got wet, Exposing the bone” ~ such souls will always be revealed, the problem is just how long this process will take.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Randall, I hope you’ve been well. Thank you for your kindness. I completely agree, they do eventually reveal themselves and how true, “the problem is just how long this process will take.” Missteps and misfortunes always worth exploring, I think it shows where we’ve been and where we’re going. Please take good care and enjoy your Friday and the upcoming weekend. ~ Mia

      Like

Leave a Reply

