Mirage

Staring Into The Sun — Photograph by Mia Pharaoh

 

Mirage
10 Words Only


Understanding allure, it’s no wonder Icarus flew towards the sun.

~


“To a Friend Whose Work Has Come to Triumph”

By Anne Sexton

Consider Icarus, pasting those sticky wings on,
testing that strange little tug at his shoulder blade,
and think of that first flawless moment over the lawn
of the labyrinth. Think of the difference it made!
There below are the trees, as awkward as camels;
and here are the shocked starlings pumping past
and think of innocent Icarus who is doing quite well.
Larger than a sail, over the fog and the blast
of the plushy ocean, he goes. Admire his wings!
Feel the fire at his neck and see how casually
he glances up and is caught, wondrously tunneling
into that hot eye. Who cares that he fell back to the sea?
See him acclaiming the sun and come plunging down
while his sensible daddy goes straight into town.
**

51 thoughts on “Mirage

    1. Meghan, thank you. This photo is a complete mystery. I was working on an idea of channeling Kazimir Malevich’s, Black Circle by way of a photo. I don’t manipulate my photos much if at all, the occasional filter and maybe change a color to black and white, while I try different things, like dirty glass over the lens and other weird things, I think photography has now become a form of digital art and there’s nothing wrong with that, the tools are fabulous, everyone can make a great photo. So this series of surreal landscapes was captured quite by accident while I was focusing in on a black hole, maybe there is something to the folding of time and space. 😉 Really glad you like it. Hope you’re enjoying the beginning of your week and staying cool. ~ Mia 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Wow, the backstory makes it even more fascinating! I agree that the ability to take a great photo is within reach. Nevertheless the photographer still has to have the creative vision. This is amazing. 🙏

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Thank you for a wonderful reply. Odd, right? I’m really thrilled that you have an appreciation for this photo and my oh so strange and unpredictable process which I apparently have little control over at times. 😉 I completely agree, creative vision is such an important element in any artistic endeavor.

          Liked by 2 people

          1. Nothing extraordinary would be discovered without experimentation! And sometimes by accident, like Man Ray and solarization. Stick with your strange and unpredictable process Mia, Its working! ❤

            Liked by 1 person

  1. It seems like all my life I’ve had songs thrown at me, whether I liked them or not. The lines from one such song reads, ‘..like Icarus ascending, on beautiful foolish arms’. Seriously great photograph, Mia, plus 10 words that say more than 100. You’re on a roll.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Juste George, thank you for sharing those lines with me, I do love Amelia Earhart. I think it’s better to ascend on foolish arms than to have never attempted to use our foolish arms, spending life in the non-creative safe zone. Thank you, I’m really happy to read that you like the photo and my 10 words. It’s so odd, this accident was to be a throw away photo, it just captivated me for some reason, maybe it’s the mystery and intrigue of what the image is trying to share. I hope you’re surviving the heat and humidity. Please have a good Tuesday morning. ~ Mia, R & E

      Liked by 1 person

      1. However the photograph came into being it doesn’t really matter because it’s wonderfully weird, Mia. So good I wondering ‘what next’? Hope you have the rain you’re praying for, Juste George

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Aruna, life offers up a lot of choices, maybe appearing like a mirage. I think we still need to check them out and see if they’re real of not, and find out if they are a good fit for us, and do they make good sense. The poem is brilliant, it’s the work of Anne Sexton. Please have a terrific week and take good care. ~ Mia

      Like

  2. Your experimentation with photography is awesome. I saw something on YouTube that talked about “forcing unfamiliarity” and it sounds that you go for it with the camera. I wonder if Icarus would have been so famous if he had landed properly. Be well, Mia. -Chris

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Chris. Really just odd and happy accidents, sometimes there’s magic to be found in the trials and errors. I’m pretty sure if Icarus had landed properly we wouldn’t even know his name, and what would we do with the Wright Brothers? Enjoy the rest of your Tuesday. ~ Mia

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve often wondered about flying too close to the sun, figuratively of course. I recall a line from the film “Roxanne” – “When you’re reaching for a star, there’s a long way to fall.” Thank you for rekindling these thoughts, Mia.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Mr. Cake, thank you. I’m glad you like the photo, it’s not the strangest one I’ve ever take, but it’s near the top of the list, it’s completely untouched, photographed just as you see it. As I mentioned in another comment it just sort of appeared, rather odd. I always like Anne Sexton too, the poem is perfect and tells a story as only she could. ~ Miss Cranes

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Lola! It’s so great to see you! Thank you for your lovely words. I’m enjoying the summer, it’s been beautiful, although really hot. I hope that you’ve been enjoying your summer too. Also, have you been enjoying those spectacular sunsets? Wishing you well. ~ Mia 💗

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you Mia! I have been doing a lot of traveling and enjoying the summer too! The sunsets have been spectacular and I will share some here soon! Enjoy your evening! – Lola 😀

        Liked by 1 person

        1. You’re so very welcome, Lola. I’m happy to read that you’ve been enjoying the summer and I’m looking forward to seeing some of those spectacular sunsets. Please take good care and have a wonderful upcoming weekend. ~ Mia 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

  4. Hi Mia, Your work always amazes me, this is no exception. I sat on the patio earlier this evening, listening to Chris Cornell sing “Black Hole Sun” and looking at this work of art you created, that had a million stories in it. That was for you. I then read the amazing Anne Sexton piece, that I had never read before, and I changed tunes and listened to Iron Maiden sing “Flight of Icarus”. That was for me. 🙂 All this is true, as well as your continual contribution to wonderful art and friendship in my life. Thank you. Daniel

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Daniel, thank your marvelous words. I shared above with Meghan the background of how this came to be, still a mystery. In my effort to channel the painting of Kazimir Malevich’s, Black Circle, which by the way I was going to call it, Black Hole, I kid you not, I find another wonderful and strange occurrence in reference to “Black Hole Sun”, don’t you think? I like Anne Sexton a lot, I’ll reserve my thoughts as to why and share later. While you are far too kind about my efforts, I’m most definitely honored by your friendship. Shavua tov. ~ Mia

      Like

Leave a Reply

