Stay Hungry

Stay Hungry — Photograph by Mia Pharaoh

74 thoughts on “Stay Hungry

  1. Very intriguing photo, Mia! There are so many layers of hunger one can take away from this image. I love how you’ve taken a cropped view (both photographically and fashion-wise) and added so much depth to it using two simple words. Brilliant!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Tim, you’ve really made my day with your wonderful comment, thank you. There are so many layers to hunger, I’m really happy that came across. Super glad that you liked how I cropped the image, the T-shirt had to stay, for me there was just something about it that I liked. Thank you again. ~ Mia

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Hector, there are a couple of spins on “Stay Hungry”. I like the idea of no defeat, keep going, challenges are good, they’re kind of what drives us forward, and of course never settle. Wishing you a happy 4th of July tomorrow, I don’t know about where you are, the festivities started here weeks ago. Enjoy! ~ Mia

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hi Mia ♥ I’m home with a week off doing house hunting for a new home. Exciting and exhausting. I’m in Florida and tomorrow there will be fireworks, good food and maybe good company. Drop by, you would love my rice 😉

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Hector, thank you the invitation sounds wonderful and delicious. House hunting how exciting, and true quite exhausting, wishing you the best of luck with that. Enjoy the festivities, good company, good food and good fireworks! 🙂 Have a wonderful week off. ~ Mia

          Like

    1. Dear Aruna, thank you. I’m really pleased that you liked the image. I want to thank you for sharing my image on your site, that’s such a lovely gift. Please take good care. ~ Mia 💗

      Like

        1. Well, I do reserve the right to change my mind. 😉 I’ll have to remember I’m being confuddling, a severe case of confusion, oh no! 😉 Thank you for the happy hugs, back at you. And yes it’s our Independence Day, here’s to a nation of coffee drinkers! 😉 xo

          Liked by 1 person

  2. Unusually for me, looking at this ‘better than Picasso’ photograph, my first random thought was a line from Metallica’s ‘Nothing Else Matters’, ‘Open mind for a different view’

    No idea why, it just seemed to fit. The first ‘word’ type random thought said, “Look at me, I’m alive” – maybe that’s a good reason to ‘Stay Hungry’, Mia.
    As always, as ever, you never disappoint.
    Juste George

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Juste George, the Metallica song is perfect, I’m so glad that you shared it. ‘Nothing Else Matters’, and ‘Open mind for a different view’,is wonderful. Things would be so stagnant if we didn’t have an open mind pushing us forward, allowing us to go in different directions, possibly even fail. I like your random thoughts. I think when we stay hungry, we also stay alive (we keep creativity alive that way too). Thank you for such a kind comment, still wondering about Picasso also. ~ Mia

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Mia, this photo has me thinking and I’m not sure what it is. I think it’s the texture/overlay. It adds contradiction to a photo that could easily be a glamor shot, but the texture says, “grunge, punk, or pain.” As others said, there are many layers to hunger and I think your photo adds another to think about. Really well done… Be well. -Chris

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Chris, thank you for sharing your thoughts along with some very kind words. This is a first for me, a stand alone photo, no words really other than a title. The photo had a lot of filth/grunge to begin with, I shot it through a messed up piece of dirty glass. I did use a filter on top of that, I wanted it to look a little more worn, hoping it would give the image a bit more depth. Thanks again. Have a good evening, take care. ~ Mia

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, I’m really pleased to read that you like the image. For sure, “Stay Hungry” has many meanings. I like to think of it as a catalyst, a motivator to keep me going, especially as it applies to creativity, daring to do things differently. Wishing you the very best with your, “Stay Hungry”.

      I can feel your post this morning, “Solitude. Goal: Transparency.” Vilhelm Hammershøi’s, “Interior” depicts that so well, a wonderful pairing of image and words. His work is stunning and has such an air of bleakness to it, possibly because many of the subjects in his paintings seem to be captured in deep contemplation.

      Please have a lovely Tuesday. ~ Mia

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Dear Mia, “Stay Hungry” touched me in so many ways, my first impression took me back to my psyche days, seeing carvings like a map, on a young girl’s body, hungry to leave the borderline, of I need you, don’t leave me. That my friend was just a first impression, gritty real, clinical in nature, and then I moved on to a different view, seeing a map with symbols laid out through the lines of the overlay, and I became hungry to know what the symbols say and which directions to follow, that led me back to my psyche days. 😉 That’s why I love your stuff, keeps me thinking, and looking for directions, and trying to interpret symbols. BTW, I edited my last reply to you on 2Ghost, not sure what happened there, really doesn’t matter, I probably said what was on a part of the Freudian map anyway. Have a great 4th. This was great! Daniel

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dearest Daniel, thank you so much. I love that you shared your impressions, and I especially like where they came from. My hope was to give thought to as many meaning as possible to the term, “Stay Hungry” and not get too close to the borderline of inappropriate, remaining in somewhat artistically good taste with the photo. 😉 Of course that’s all subjective, but more importantly, it is a gritty and real photo, as well as gritty and real in reference to your psyche days. Underneath it all, if we pull back all the layers hopefully that’s what we’re left with “real”. Symbols are fascinating, especially the ancient ones. I should share a couple with you one day, you may be able to shed some light on them.

      Thank you the 4th was nice and loud too. I hope that you enjoyed yours. Please enjoy your evening and have a great weekend. ~ Mia

      Like

      1. Hi Mia, I was working from home, and just recently went back into an office corporate setting, commuting 70 miles round a day. It’s a wonderful opportunity for me, but oh my time for blogging has been severely reduced. 😑 The saddest thing in the world would be to not communicate with my wonderful virtual friend, that’s you, so be assured at times I might be later than usual on a reply but will reply. The post “I Sing” was written on a very wet piece of paper in a blizzard at 12000 feet up in 2007, more on that someday. 😀 Now as to your symbols do tell I have to know. If I don’t know what they are I will find someone who does. ☺ Your friend Daniel

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Hi Daniel, congratulations on the new setting. I understand completely having limited time, thank you for your kindness in letting me know, please know there is never an issue. I can only imagine that something incredible happened at 12,000 feet , inspiring you to write something so marvelous. I hope you don’t mind I sent the images/symbols to the email associated with your WordPress account, please let me know that you’ve received them when you have a chance. As with all things there’s much more to the story that just a few symbols. 😉 I’m looking forward to the rest of your story. Thank you for your wonderful offer to help, a new set of eyes maybe the key. ~ Always your friend, Mia

          Like

  5. This does have me thinking and I must admit to being a little bemused. It has me in the state of mind that someone about reading Lautremont ‘one doesn’t know where the humour ends or the mystification begin’ I am paraphrasing from memory. Anyway laughter in the dark, the most unnerving kind. Wishing you well Miss Cranes or should I say the Sphinx.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Mr. Cake. Somethings should remain ambiguous, lending thought to reason, or reason to thought. I like the following very much, “laughter in the dark, the most unnerving kind.” And really who knows where the humor ends with me, as most don’t think I have any, so a win-win for moi. I do love ancient Egypt. ~ Miss Cranes

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I find your photo to be very powerful Mia I love that sweet spot between satiety and ravenousness. It’s so empowering! I hope you have a wonderful week! – Lola 🌺 ( 🍔🍕🌭)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lola, thank you for sharing your wonderful thoughts in a lovely comment. So true, it’s that “sweet spot between” that gives us our balance, power and maybe even the endurance we need to press on. Likewise, I hope you’re having a wonderful week. ~ Mia 🙂 💗

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

