Trace Elements

The Letters — Photograph by Mia Pharaoh

 

Trace  Elements

 

“If we look long and hard enough into the mirror, we’ll see the ghosts that our memories keep alive. After all, we’re just ghosts here too, noting more, nothing less. Do the memories that haunt us always boil down to a matter of benevolence? I think not.”
— June Gloom, The Gray Zone


Oskar Schuster – “Les Sablons”                        
                                                        *      *

68 thoughts on “Trace Elements

  1. How many ways can i say how much i agree? Enough times that it is a permanent state of being. This is the true core of things. Those trace elements of lives behind and beyond the living. Every visual, every chosen thought. You always put things together that make me consider and want more. Mia, girl of pharoes ♡

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dearest Candice, thank you for the smile the wonderful comment. It is a permanent state of being and for me constant state of re-evaluation, sometimes I hear the cry, “Out, damned spot”. On the other hand I couldn’t help but think of the following quote and realize how temporary we all really are.

      “All of us have in our veins the exact same percentage of salt in our blood that exists in the ocean, and, therefore, we have salt in our blood, in our sweat, in our tears. We are tied to the ocean. And when we go back to the sea – whether it is to sail or to watch it – we are going back from whence we came.”
      — John F. Kennedy

      Please enjoy the rest of your Wednesday. ~ Mia xo

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I love the photo, Mia. A wonderful composition of edges, letters and fibers filling the frame with pleasantly abstract elements both trace and traced. I read this post and watched the video while waiting for customer support to transfer me to the right team on a chat session with Adobe. The fictional “wait time of ‘0’ minutes” turned into 20 real minutes and then Piyush was impossible to deal with. Any benevolence I might have had toward Adobe vanished forth with, and the ghosts of loathing customer support showed themselves darkly reflected in my monitors. Your wonderful post was perfect timing.

    We don’t get “June Gloom” out here. Sunshine and blue skies is the norm with the exception of smoke from forest fires that can fill the air this time of year.

    I love the piano in the video. Have you gone to the website for Les Sablons? We stayed in smaller campgrounds that were similar in Spain and Italy. One “camping”, as they call them, in Ravenna, Italy was quite large, and similar in many ways to Les Sablons, with a real carnival atmosphere. We camped all over norther Spain and central Italy in July and August of 1999. Camping is a very different experience in Europe than what I grew up with out here in the southwest.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Tim, thank you! I think my thing is photographing debris. I’m not really sure why, there seem to be so many stories captured within the image. Laughing, any one person can look at my work and say, “garbage” and they would be right! Haha, a fictional wait time, the vortex of hold, only to be rewarded with the ghosts of loathing, maybe looking too long into the reflection of the monitor is not such a good thing, and definitely not benevolent. For once my timing was right on, oh no!

      June gloom can start as early as mid-May. I’m not crazy about it, but it does help to keep things cool. This year it seems as if it’s been a very light June gloom and there have been a couple of heat waves already, one just broke today thankfully. We experience the forest fires too, when they’re really bad, it gets very gray and snows ash.

      I’m really glad that you like the music, composer Oskar Schuster, I really enjoy his music. I just visited the website, can this really be considered camping? I’ve never camped like this, more like sleeping bags on the ground and the hobo coffee type of camping. I’m thrilled that you had the opportunity to camp in style, it seems like it would be a lot of fun.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m not sure the type of camping we do out here in the wild west exists in Europe. I guess that’s the difference between thousands of years of European civilization and a few hundred years for the US. I really don’t like carnival camping, but it’s a bargain compared to hostals, hotels and brick and mortar resorts. The most remote and wild camping we stayed at was in the Pyrenees in northern Spain. It was in a caldera at the end of a goat trail (one way in and out). The little town didn’t have a store, bar or anything (food trucks came in daily with various goods), but the camping had a little store, bar, restaurant and hot showers. There were no street lights, it was high in the mountains, and the stars were unbelievable at night.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. I was thinking about this type of camping last night and it seems very much like a summer camp for children, bungalows, actives, those kind of things. It would be much more appealing to me if we camped that way here in the US. I bet you were able to get some terrific photos when you were in the Pyrenees. Speaking of photos I had a look at J. Scott Altenbach’s bat photographs, they’re amazing. Thank you for pointing me in that direction, I really enjoyed looking at them, there are so many different type of bats.

          Liked by 1 person

          1. I did very little photography the whole time we lived in Spain. We were on a tight budget, and film and processing was expensive. Although I did sneak some photos in the Sistine Chapel. I got some okay photos of mosaics in Ravenna and I got photos of the Gates of Paradise doors (east doors) of the Florence Baptistry, by Lorenzo Ghiberti without anyone standing in front of them. I think I stood there for an hour or longer while Laurie and Tristan did other things to get those doors. That’s great you looked up Altenbach’s bat photos they are fantastic.

            Liked by 1 person

          2. Those doors are spectacular, worth the wait to get them without anyone standing in front of them. Altenbach’s bats are really impressive, how he captured the bats and the bats themselves are so interesting, the wings and ears are incredible.

            Liked by 1 person

  3. All those little effects that we have that are not even discernible. I call them George Bailey moments. I think they are more common with age. And you hope that the traces you leave behind have some positive influence. I try to take comfort in thinking that my atoms all return to the universe, never created nor destroyed.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I like that Meghan, “George Bailey moments”, so true. We can’t help but leave a memory or two of who we were behind, hopefully they’re good ones. I’m with you and Albert on the last bit, once energy, always energy. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. You’ve outdone T S Eliot, Mia. I don’t know much but I know this one, “We shall not cease from exploration, and the end of all our exploring will be to arrive where we started and know the place for the first time” – your ‘ghost meets ‘ghost somewhere inside, may even be outside a mirror is a metaphor supreme. The music is pretty haunting also. Juste George.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Juste George, how could you possibly know how much I like Eliot? That’s such a marvelous quote, the entire idea of discovery whether inside or out, brings us full circle from the beginning and then home again. Exactly, ghosts meeting ghosts, maybe that’s why Château de Fontainebleau is so huge, all those ghostly Kings need plenty of room and rooms to go bump in the night. Thank you so much for your wonderful comment.
      ~ Mia, Rexie & Erniefunkle

      Liked by 1 person

  5. An interesting quote Mia, particularly about our memories, is what we are left with b/c of benevolence? Good memories from God? But what about those left with bad memories, or who have created their memories in a way that they never actually were and not in a good way. It makes me think of a poor Alzheimer’s patient remembering her days of youth but never knowing the here and now. Or the people who are her family and take care of her. To me that’s tragic.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Amanda, thank you. I’m glad that you found it an interesting quote. I think we remember both the good and the not so good memories, it would be impossible not to, they have equal weight and serve some consideration.

      That’s a challenging thought, is a false memory a real memory? If we use the Alzheimer’s patient for example who attempts to fill in the gaps with memories, whether they’re true or false, their truth is still the foundation for their reality, so I don’t consider these memories the same type of false memories as someone just fabricating the truth for some benefit. We know that patients with dementia have much better long term memory recall than short term, as in what happened yesterday. Trying to educate this type of patient with the real truths can be confusing and frustrating for both the patient and the caregiver. It’s truly heartbreaking and tragic as you mentioned for the families as well as the patient especially when there are moments of lucidity.

      So much to think about. We all have our ghost, hoping that most of them are benevolent. Thank you for sharing your thoughts, it always wonderful to see your beautiful photo, I love the new look. Please have a terrific evening. ~ Mia

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks so much Mia. You bring up some wonderful points. Maybe an Alzheimer’s patient with these made up or changed memories is better off if these memories are good ones or real memories from long ago. Hard on the family for sure,

        Thank you for the compliment on my photo. My on BFF got married this weekend so I did try to look nice lol. Nice to see you on here again 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Hi Amanda, you look lovely, I imagine it was a festive and magical weekend.

          Thank you for the nice wishes. I’m giving it a go, slow and not able to be here that much. I left a comment for you, perhaps buried, I want you to know how much I enjoyed the tribute you wrote for your great godmother Evelyn, it’s beautiful. A heartwarming poem.

          Please enjoy the rest of your Friday and have a terrific weekend. 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

  6. Dear Miss Cranes or should I say Miss Pharaoh I find the quote from ‘June Gloom’, the photograph and the video to be quite terrifying. As we live our ghostly existences and converse with other ghosts that then haunt us in the mirror we wonder about the benevolence or belligerence of others but of course everyone knows about the malice that the dead hold for the living. Pure existential terror, not sure I should thank you but very well done.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dear Mr. Cake, it seems very much to be a perpetual state, a type of mutual haunting between the living and the dead. While the dead remain dead (or so we’re taught) the living move closer to dead. So far the dead pool is winning. Thank you for reading and leaving a truly wonderful and thought-provoking comment. ~ Miss Cranes

      Liked by 1 person

  7. A deep reflective look into what humans are and what lost within themselves have we traded or giving up – all in the name of ignorance. Benevolence is hard to master, but it only takes peace and love to bring it all together and face their cruelties within ourselves.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Charlie. A little kindness goes a long way. It would be ideal if human beings could grasp that concept, I think we might always be working towards that goal. Please have a terrific Friday and a wonderful weekend. ~ Mia

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You welcome Mia.

        It’s been a long while. Humans have a long way to understand simple basic concepts. Humans are still children but as we get older we become more wiser.

        P.S I posted something yesterday.

        Do me a favor once you’ve read it, pay close attention to the cryptic message. If it would help you fully understand what the whole poem and the last lines mean…read the comment section and I have revealed it.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Thank you for letting me know. I’ve been sort of hit and miss here. I will be over later on, and thanks for the heads up on how to reading it with the greatest understanding, will check out the comments too. Stay cool my friend.

          Liked by 1 person

  8. Hi Mia, Ghost have been on my mind lately as well, you know great minds and all of that. 😉 Seriously I have been on this reincarnation kick, maybe just my Hebrew roots, maybe something else, anyway your post and accompanying photo, and tune, took me back to my Jung studies, and footprints in the psyche, those fleeting glimpses into what we think we could have been. Maybe what we might should be I don’t know. Anyway, thanks again for making me think, as always Shalom, Daniel

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Daniel, so good to see you. I’m looking forward to paying you a visit, and being immersed in some wonderful words.

      Ghost! Reincarnation! Hebrew roots! So much magic and mysticism there, we could talk for hours. I think those whispers of what we could have been or should have been are caught in all mirrors, at times they even catch us off guard when we see them in the rear view mirror while driving, that’s a good kind of spooky.

      I’m so happy, anything I can do to rekindle the past is always a plus. It helps us to remember, you’d be amazed how far back you can go. 😉

      Daniel, have a terrific Friday afternoon, and a wonderful weekend. Shalom, Mia 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hi Mia, what a wonderful reply. I’m sitting here with a few goosebumps, it has to do with your reference to walking past a mirror. Here goes: I was thinking about a friend of mine many years ago that lived near my grandparents in Missouri. We would visit in the summers, from New Mexico, and she and I would run through the forest, tell each other our darkest and lightest secrets, and swear we had known each other from times before. During the long winters, we would write page after page, manuscript type letters to each other, telling stories about how we met in places before, and sat before kings, and laid under the stars when they were much closer than they are now. I thought I made my stories up, for indeed I do have a vivid imagination, but then again, who knows, there is truth in every story. The one story that says, I have known you just like my childhood friend forever, is no doubt true. Thank you for reminding me about the mirror, my childhood friend told me almost the same thing many years ago., on a hot summer night, as we counted red stars. We will talk for hours someday. 🙂 Have a great evening, your friend, Daniel

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Thank you Daniel, for a beautiful and gracious reply. I often have similar feelings, mine are completely unfounded and based on some unknown faith that they’re true. Something I can’t shake, I feel it in my bones. Your post, “2 Ghost” is wonderful and reinforces these feelings, thank you. Please enjoy your weekend my friend. ~ Mia

          Liked by 2 people

          1. Hi Mia, I love that, ” I often have similar feelings, mine are completely unfounded and based on some unknown faith that they’re true.”, you my friend are so like me. Wishing you a wonderful week ahead. I could write volumes of letters to you but would rather sit next to you at the table, and speak it all. 😉 Shavua Tov, Daniel

            Liked by 1 person

          2. Hi Daniel, I’m so glad that you can relate to my words. We are very much alike, perhaps cut from the same cloth. We have much to talk about, yet some of it is just known. 😉 Shavua Tov, Mia

            Liked by 1 person

  9. I think that it all started with benevolence. But due to material needs and desires it is lost. Now we can only see some part of that lost self. And there is no going back, because we have to deal with what we have started by trading and ignoring our benevolence or one may say our true nature and purest self.
    Shreyans

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Not until we clear our previous dues. And in that process we create new dues, and hence it never ends. It may end though if the saturation level keeps on decreasing everytime. But not possible in one life time.
        Shreyans

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Chris, yes they are important, mine do their best to keep me in line. Thank you, I’m glad that you like the photo. Likewise if you celebrate, please enjoy the 4th tomorrow. Have a terrific evening. ~ Mia

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

