Turn Of The Screw

Lose Screws  — Photograph by Mia Pharaoh

 

Turn Of The Screw
100 Words Only
Blogger on Blogger Bashing

“Come on let’s kick it up a notch. Tighter, is that good? We’ve had plenty of pleasure, now how about a little pain between friends; it’s all about balance. Remember what they say about pain, no pain, no gain. While we wait for the onset of discomfort and bad feelings to take hold, we can guzzle plenty of water, scoring big time on Hydrogen, making like the perfect fractal finding our way to infinity and back, let’s do the math. If you’re not up for that, we can always put on our foil hats, meditate and hope to reach Nirvana.”
— June Gloom, The Gray Zone


Nirvana – “Heart Shaped Box”                        
   .     .

50 thoughts on “Turn Of The Screw

  1. Is that your photo Mia? I love it. I also like June Glooms 100 words. “…making like the perfect fractal finding our way to infinity and back…” seems to sum up a lot of life’s happenings.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. A social media satire second to none, Mia.
    “In the clearing stands a boxer
    And a fighter by his trade
    And he carries the reminders
    Of every glove that laid him down
    And cut him till he cried out
    In his anger and his shame
    ‘I am leaving, I am leaving’
    But the fighter still remains”
    Probably I like the Mumford version best. That doesn’t matter though, you nailed it! Brilliant.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Candice, I’ve missed you too. I’m trying to get my foot back in the door. Very disillusioned by some of the things I’ve read. I’m pleased you liked this, is there no going back? Wishing you a beautiful Monday. ~ Mia xo

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Charlie, it’s lovely to be missed. I don’t do well with mean spiritedness, it can be paralyzing. I love your kind and hopeful words, too bad there isn’t a pill for balance that’s mandatory. Enjoy the rest of your Monday. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. An unfortunate byproduct of a digital age, Mia – weak minded, mean spirited people are given a voice to say things they would never have the cojones to say in person…

    In the same way we can’t let terrorists allow terror to cripple us, so to must you continue to write without fear. As the often misquoted and misattributed quote of Goethe or King or both or neither goes ~ Be bold and mighty forces will come to your aid.

    A powerful post, stunning photo and perfect link to one of the best songs from one of my favorite bands. Thank you.

    Never forget, you are among friends. Have a wonderful week, Mia 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Ryan, for a wonderful comment, you’re truly a friend. There must be something about plastic that acts as a shield for these types of individuals, and you’re absolutely right, the voices would be silent in person.

      I will long remember these powerful words, “Be bold and mighty forces will come to your aid.” Thank you.

      I’m very happy that you liked the photo, a first, sharing my photography. If by magic I was granted one wish to travel back in time it would be to MTV’s Unplugged in New York to watch Nirvana perform live.

      Ryan, wishing you a wonderful week too. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. After our after school meeting was canceled, I did not think the day could get any better. I was wrong. Glad to see you’re back, Mia, and I love the photo. Great in b&w and the focus is right on (plenty of detail and blur…). Hang in there. -Chris

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Chris, what a nice thing to say,thank you. It’s good to be back, a bit rusty and that’s okay. I’m happy to be able to share some of my photos, a wonderful compliment coming from a talented photographer. Please enjoy the rest of your week. ~ Mia

      Liked by 1 person

  5. There is no June gloom when you are present on WP Mia!! i love your presentation! The world seems to be addicted to chaos lately, and it is freely expressed here, but there is still so much beauty and creativity present to soothe and enlighten the weary soul. I’m so glad you’re back! Have a wonderful week! – Lola 💜

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lola, thank you. You’re so right about addiction and chaos, thankfully your words triggered a memory of a dialogue from the movie, “American Beauty”, I think of them often.

      “Do you want to see the most beautiful thing I ever filmed? It was one of those days when it’s a minute away from snowing. And there’s this electricity in the air, you can almost hear it, right? And this bag was just… dancing with me … like a little kid begging me to play with it. For fifteen minutes. That’s the day I realized that there was this entire life behind things, and this incredibly benevolent force that wanted me to know there was no reason to be afraid. Ever. Video is a poor excuse, I know. But it helps me remember … I need to remember…

      Sometimes there’s so much beauty in the world … I feel like I can’t take it… and my heart is just going to cave in.”

      =>https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qssvnjj5Moo

      Thank you for the welcome back, please have a wonderful week too! ~ Mia 🙂 💜

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Mia! I hope you will remember me – I am the Meg you already know but with a new blog and a pen name for more privacy from the real world. Sorry for the “cloak and dagger”… It is good to see you blogging again. Hope all is well?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Meghan, of course I remember you, I like you’re new Gravatar, do you really wear glasses? 😉 More privacy is good, I will agree with that. Thank you, I’m slowly getting back into the groove. See you on the other side, that sounded morbid, on your site. I hope all is going well with you too. ~ Mia

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you! Yes, I need glasses for reading and working on the computer. The new blog is off to a good start. I am feeling better with that extra layer between me and the world outside. Thanks for coming along. ❤

        Liked by 1 person

  7. Hi Mia, I just kept thinking of one of my favorite books, better than Stephen King, Mr. James scared me as a child, and still does today, and that emotion is good. Reminds me I’m alive, as does Nirvana! 🙂 Have a great day! As I have said before, so good to have you back. Shalom, Daniel

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Daniel, why is it wildly exciting to be scared by the unknown, that intense feeling/emotion which engulf us when it suddenly springs out of nowhere? It’s good, it’s powerful and it does remind us that we’re alive, it certainly gets the blood pumping. If you can get to Nirvana, at least you can listen to them. Thank you Daniel, it’s good to be back. Have a great day too. Shalom, Mia

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

