Half Nelson

Call Of Duty  — Artist Mitch Griffiths

 

Half Nelson


He was the unknowable
He was the ever shallow pool of liquid amber
He was the clink of ice, the red booths
He was the motels, the Murphy beds, the naps
He was the driver, never the talker
He was the ageless, the timeless
He was the smoothness of face, for it never moved
He was the invisible, yet he was the visible
He was the walking wounded
He was the wakeful dead

 

“The true soldier fights not because he hates what is in front of him, but because he loves what is behind him.”
― G.K. Chesterton                                                                                                        
Drive

Video — “Mitch Griffiths, The Promised Land                                                      Frail
Original Post July 18, 2016

109 thoughts on “Half Nelson

  1. This is a fantastic and moving piece Mia. I was speaking with a friend this morning about the coincidence that both of the police assassins in Dallas and Baton Rouge were former military men. So much more needs to be done for these brave men and women after they return home from service. I would gladly pay more taxes to see that they had free medical and mental health care for life. The Chesterton quote is so honest and heartfelt as is the Mitch Griffiths video. Brava! Lola

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Shall I stop wondering Mia, how every post of urs captivates me and hurls me……’Half Nelson’ is no different …stunning- excellent ….’ the wakeful dead’, beautiful.

    ‘The Promised Land’ is so gripping and powerful that it is felt under the skin, and the quote …wow, didn’t know about Mitch Griffiths…..wanna see more.

    Keep posting Mia, ur work is a gem for sure honestly….Stay blessed, have a wonderful week 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Saaransh, for the wonderful words, your comments always bring a smile to my face. I’m pleased to read that you enjoyed this effort. The work of Mitch Griffiths is phenomenal, I love the emotion and story/commentary that’s captured in each one of his paintings. “The Promised Land” is a remarkable bit of film, so much captured in a little more than a minute.

      http://www.mitchgriffiths.com/ Enjoy exploring his site! Please be well, stay blessed and have a wonderful week too! ~ Mia 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Mia,

    “Half Nelson” is a very emotive piece that builds bridges between the feelings inside the video and the ones that already swim within the universe of our soul.

    In my hometown, in Albania, we have a statue called: the Unknown Soldier, raised in the center in honor of all the ones that have sacrificed more than just their body to defend those that they had left behind.

    I wish you a gorgeous weekend. Stay cool! 🙂
    ❤ Love
    Dajena

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I want to thank you Dajena for the beautiful words. You’re exceptionally intuitive, always knowing my direction. I agree, this is an emotional piece. I love the connection you made by sharing with me Albania’s statue of the Unknown Soldier, “all of the ones that have sacrificed more than just their body to defend those that they had left behind”. Thank you again for a lovely comment. Wishing you a cool evening and a fun weekend. Love, Mia ❤

      Like

      1. no, i wasn’t really interested in having a bunch of sweaty dudes hug me intensely. i don’t know why i liked it so much, but i suppose that’s part of the charm. i really wasn’t expecting it i guess lol. yea, i thought they fit well together, i just don’t try to “understand” pieces that much, which is probably some faux pas somewhere, i prefer to just let them sink in the way i want.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. So are you saying there’s something wrong with a sweaty hug? It’s going to be a long hot summer! An opportunity for a lot of sweaty hugs!

          You weren’t expecting it. Yay! Everything is subjective, let it sink it the way you want. But I am pleased that you liked the term. Yellow happy face!

          Like

          1. Yeah, definitely could live there. Wish I had that kind of budget, for all the stuff. Hey, that might by reason to make cash, so I can deplete my account on lighting, models, all of dat.

            Liked by 1 person

  4. The Union Flag draped over the neglected one resonates more than you could know. Here, in Dover where I live we are the place immigrants come to first of all thinking they have found paradise. Yet, so many people in the UK treat them like, well not a word I would say in front of a lady. As ever a remarkable collage of wonderful words of insight and more. I don’t think I’ve ever sat down and composed a comment before – that’s how good this is.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you George, you’re far too kind. It’s more than sad, to see how one man treats another. I’m starting to wonder if “paradise” within the complexities of our own lives actually exists, or is just an idea to keep the clamoring masses quite. I can’t help but think of Milton. My hope is that this repost represents a thoughtful message as we head into 2017. Hope at least is eternal, even though at times I feel as though we’re sitting on a ticking time bomb. Honesty George, after the words were written I knew that Mitch Griffiths was the one, not only his art work but also his short video, it’s quite emotional. I find his artwork to be extremely powerful and the commentaries are always brilliant. Thank you again. I hope you’ve had a wonderful and productive day so far. ~ Mia

      Liked by 1 person

      1. This is the cesspit about 6,000 (even on a winters day in a car you could smell the place a mile away) migrants ‘lived’ in in Calais until a couple of months ago when they (the British paid for it, the French to did it) bulldozed down The Jungle. The Jungle was where the – main part – refugees lived. They wanted to get to England but England didn’t want them. I think Mitch did it so well. https://www.google.co.uk/search?q=calais+jungle&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwjJ2riBsqTRAhUoL8AKHfubB1sQ_AUICigD&biw=1920&bih=950#imgrc=mt2lfNMtR9GqXM%3A
        I went there two years ago. My parents had a shopping trip in France on the go so I thought I’d tag along. I didn’t know at the time, but my parents had a massive bag in winter clothing to give away there. Heartbreaking the lack of human compassion. And people wonder why I prefer animals.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. George, the images are heartbreaking, exactly, “the lack of human compassion” is really unsettling. I can’t even imagine what it would be like see this first hand. I spent some time this evening reading more about The Jungle, and its history, absolutely deplorable conditions and such disregard for human lives. It’s no wonder that you prefer animals, I certainly get it.

          Liked by 1 person

  5. No matter what battle you are fighting, there are times you have to accept the fact that you are dead in order to enter the fray, fight and win the battle; otherwise, you may never set foot on the battle field and end up losing the fight. I love the poem and the quote.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Tim, so much for your words, you have no idea how much they mean to me. I wrote this with my father in mind, I know he would never change a thing, he would do it all again, and he would live with his memories just as he did. ~ Mia

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Haunting words, Mia and the chosen quote is perfect. I do feel your words evoke thoughts of drafted soldiers rather than the more modern “professional” army if I may call it that. There is a world of difference between conscription soldiers and those who have chosen to enter the army…even if they all obviously fight for their country. But that’s just my thoughts, how I read it 🙂
    I hope you’re having a great week and started the year in style. Happy new year 🙂 💜
    Nathalie

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Nathalie, for your kind words. I agree, there is a huge difference between someone that is chosen to serve and someone that chooses to serve. I don’t know the status of my father’s service, when ever I ask about him the answers always come back as silent glances. This piece is about a man I know, only from my childhood memories.

      Thank you, I hope you’ve started the first week of the New Year with great style as well. Wishing you a wonderful 2017, filled with everything you desire. ~ Mia 🙂 💕

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Mia, you have me wondering about my grandfather who had a mysterious aura. He served in three wars and had some dark places that he wrestled with. He was “unknowable” in many ways, but a good dude too. Super work and have a great weekend. -Chris

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Chris, what a service record, three wars, I have the greatest admiration for your grandfather. I have to believe that any exposure to war can’t help but change and alter a person, especially having to live with the, “dark places”, this can certainly make someone unknowable in so many ways. Thank you for a lovely comment and your kind words. Please have a great weekend too. ~ Mia

      Liked by 1 person

        1. Dear Aruna! 😉 I’m a conceptual artist, I work with fire. I plan to visit you very soon, life has caused me to stray, and I quite far behind with my visits. I hope you’re well my friend. Please take good care. ~ Mia 💜

          Like

  8. Sad we never witnessed to Full Nelson. The wakeful dead are far too many among us and they too are worth fighting for. Hope you had a wonderful New Year’s and weren’t too well behaved ☺️😘

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Mia, I missed this one. Dulce et decorum est; it is sweet and honorable… I featured the Wilfred Owen poem in one of my WWI posts. It breaks my heart every time I read it. What a fine reminder to enter the new year. We have only so many years and so many lives we may touch. Don’t pass up the chance to serve others when it presents itself. Even in small ways.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ryan, thank you for such kindness and lovely words. Sadly, I think at times we’re far too quick to pass judgement on others, when we’ve never walked in their shoes. The flip side, a child’s memories are colored with unconditional love. It’s often many years later that the memories themselves reveal the truth, that’s when the understanding arrives, the love never wavers even when it bites. Maybe there is a Phoenix in the ashes. Wishing you the very best. ~ Mia

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

