The Eleventh Station

Unknown Photographer

 

The Eleventh Station
100 Words Only

The Art of Distraction is mischievous by design, some elements are known, some unknown, some — subconscious. I look away, and back again, mute, questioning the arrival of white noise, riding a train of moonlit thoughts through the pane glass, disguised as subliminal dust, coating everything with a pretense of sparkling bright. It breaks all barriers, talking over the primitive language of silence, with its frequency and static: sharp as the rip of a chainsaw chewing through tin cans loaded with coin. Distraction comes from a place where time is void, illusions are kind, no boundaries exist, nor any other voice.


“I create situations that do not exist. I seek the truth from fiction.”
— Sarah Moon


Video
LCF Presentation Sarah Moon

Music, “Comptine d’un autre été – L’après midi”, by Yann Tiersen.                   *

121 thoughts on “The Eleventh Station

  1. I couldn’t get over how reserving one channel entirely to the voice, and with the help of the unique voice made it feel as if a ghost, or a voice inside my head was speaking. Odd, in a great way. In fact the whole post is art, art, art. Loved it.

    Liked by 2 people

      1. The simplicity of how it was recorded proves that things, all things needn’t be complicated in order to be brilliant art. This assortment of your words, video stills, music and spoken word is as close as a blog post can be to going to the theatre.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Hi George, I don’t know if you’ve ever watched this stop motion animated film, “THE GOD & THE FLY”. It’s just motion and sound. Please let Cedric know to avoid the spiders, they’re not all like Charlotte. Hope you’re having a good Friday. ~ Mia & Rexie the T-Rex

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Got there in the end. Truly amazing piece of art (video, of course but sound art also). Loved the way it charted a day in the life of a fly (even though it ended up a bad day) through the lens; the artwork (reminded me of a place I stayed in in Normandy – almost identical inside and out); the way the colours work (I’m not good with colours as I think I mentioned but could work out this was black, white and chestnut blend). All in all, brilliant. Something interesting on a day when I’ve been working out the maths for extra promotional things for the business when all I want to do is make music. Cedric hasn’t turned up today and it’s after dark now. I find myself hoping he’s OK. Thank you, Mia & Rexie the T-Rex

            Liked by 1 person

          2. You’re welcome George. I wasn’t too excited about the ending, *gasp* yet it was well played. I’m quite sensitive to that sort of thing, I’m the one taking the insects that get in the house back outside to the garden. Oddly the intended clip has a better ending for the fly. Still, this is a wonderful short and the colors are terrific, a very muted palette, I love the chestnut (browns are my favorite colors). It must have been quite some place in Normandy that you stayed in, very lovely. I hope all the maths worked out well and in your favor, and now you can spend some time making music. Sad to read that Cedric was a no-show, maybe he let himself out the same way he came in. We’re hopeful that he’s okay, too. Hope you’ve had an enjoyable Saturday so far, enjoy the rest of it. ~ Mia & Rexie the T-Rex

            Liked by 1 person

          3. I agree, even the dreaded wasp is a creature I’d get rid of rather than kill (often get others to get rid of wasps for me if there’s anyone about). I’ve shown the video to a few others already, all are truly impressed. Basically, it’s a brilliant piece of storytelling.
            Virtually everywhere in France it’s cheap to rent massive old houses in the middle of nowhere because all the houses seem to be massive. One day I’d like to think I would move there although Brexit makes that much harder to achieve.
            Cedric is still on the missing list. A plus is the website boring stuff is done, it’s evolving just as planned. My marketing advisor tells me a YouTube tutorial video ought to be my priority now rather than straight back to music. We’ll see.
            Have a great weekend, Mia & T Rex the Wonder Cat

            Liked by 1 person

          4. I use a cup and a piece of cardboard. Not long ago a lizard got in the house, it was a crazy race to see who would get the lizard first, me or the cat, I won. The lizard lived to see another day.

            I’m really pleased that the video has been well received.

            Wow, I would have never thought it would be affordable to rent something like that. How splendid, I would imagine you can feel all the history and the patina of the past right there with you. What a wonderfully eerie quality, those types mysterious and magical things, can provide great inspiration. Move to Normandy and ramble around in a massive old house in the middle of nowhere, rather ideal. I wonder what the sound quality would be like in one of those huge rooms.

            Do you have to wait 72 hours before you can report Cedric missing? That’s the standard here, hard to believe.

            Congratulations on putting the boring behind you for now, I’m happy to read it’s going as planned. A YouTube tutorial video, please excuse my ignorance, what would that be about?

            Thank you, have a great weekend too, George.

            Liked by 1 person

          5. I guess the experts are correct in saying my marketplace shouldn’t just be for existing electronic musicians, sound artists and people like video game designers. I should be expanding the market to people who want to get into manipulating music samples to create their own compositions. In other words, help create new customers rather than just rely on those ones already out there. A YouTube tutorial would show them the basic steps as to the way to do it and the software they’ll need. It’s a really good idea if I’m honest.
            I met a lizard in The Loire one time. Good looking creature but, a bit like wasps, induced more fear in me than pleasure. Luckily it had only popped out of its hole in the wall to catch a bit of sun, then it went back inside. As a family we once – he died when I was 7 – had a Briard dog who ate wasps as the flew around him. I remember watching him at work. Amazing thinking about it. The cup and cardboard idea is one I use as well.
            I fear Cedric is ‘no more’. The temperature has been on or about freezing all week. I’ll check again today. If only he buzzed like the one in the video. I could record him and make a sample pack out of the buzzing.
            History abounds in France. We’ve quite a lot here as well. The massive Dover Castle is just a stones throw (well a bit more than that but not much) away. Given a little luck and the right of residency it’s still France for me one day.
            Have a great Sunday, Mia & T-Rex.

            Liked by 1 person

          6. Thank you for the explanation George. I would agree, it really does sound like a good idea. There are undoubtedly a lot of people that would be very enthusiastic about creating their own compositions. I imagine it’s all about the “new customers”.

            The lizard is a good looking creature, fascinating to watch, and they love the sun. Maybe that’s why the garden has a few. LA generally has a lot of that, sun, yet lately we have had days of rain, don’t laugh, people in So. Cal. don’t really even know how to drive in the rain!

            A wasp eating dog, that is truly amazing. I bet the wasps are a lot like figs, a bit of a crunch, personally I don’t like figs at all, so I’m sure I wouldn’t like wasps.

            Oh no, poor Cedric. Perhaps you could write an elegy in his honor. I bet in the future you will stumble across one of his doppelgangers. The buzzing would make an interesting sample, I like that idea, The Cedric Sample.

            I’m jealous, you do have a lot of history all around you. Of course our history of the West has been sanitized, we have some old missions running along the coast, but nothing in terms of worthy dates. I recently watched a documentary on Dover Castle, it was fascinating. I have no doubt, if you wish to live in France you will.

            Thank you, hoping your Sunday has been great so far and will continue to be just that. ~ M & R

            Liked by 1 person

          7. I thought the old song said, ‘It never rains in California’ (or was it ‘Southern California?). I don’t think I know how to drive when it’s not raining. The lizard that confronted me in The Loire was quite large and green, maybe yellow I think. 0-60 in zero seconds. A bit of a worry at the time.
            My parents decided to rent a place last summer on a stud farm in France. I tagged along as a freeloader, just me, a guitar and a laptop. They did their thing all day, I sat in the garden alone having the time of my life. It’s all recorded, but not yet mixed and mastered. Best times, I will somehow get there even if Brexit stands in my way. They suggested/made me join Linkedin as it was thought it would help the business profile. The social media search brought up your name but I thought it intrusive to follow (or whatever Linkedin has for that word) so I didn’t. Is there any point to Linkedin? Best wishes to Mia & T-Rex the cat of cats, George.

            Liked by 1 person

          8. *Laughing* I think about that every time it rains here, “It never rains in Southern California”. Tuesday I should see the sun again. Oh, a big lizard in The Loire, mine are small brown garden lizards, maybe six to eight inches. Fortunately, the lizard didn’t bother with you, I think they tend to keep to themselves, yet I’m certainly no expert. Your summer sounds wonderful, there’s something to be said about being by yourself and creating, the brain seems to get into a unique euphoric state, like a runner’s high. Now I’m curious to hear and or see what you and the garden produced. You’ll find a way to get there.

            Nothing like a gentle arm twist to get a person to do something fun, huh? Yes, you do have to be social because of the business profile, unlike me; I can afford to be an antisocial non-conformist! Some may even consider me a fatalist, I prefer REALIST, ha-ha. George, it would not have been intrusive at all, it would have been great to have a follower on LinkedIn. I recommend not following, it’s not me, I don’t have an account with LinkedIn. I thought it was like an online CV, but what do I know, or why you would need it. Can you use it as a second form of ID? I’ll let you know if I set up an account for the fun of it, then will you please follow me?

            George, thank you for the wishes. I hope you had a quiet evening and have a terrific Monday morning. ~ Mia & Rexie the cat of cats (I like that!)

            Liked by 1 person

          9. Well, it took me 90 minutes to write up what you rightly say is just an online CV in LinkedIn. Pretty sure that’s 90 minutes wasted given it’s there to read only by someone wanting to check my credentials as an artist. I can’t imagine anyone will ever visit the page.
            More importantly, last night we had freezing fog. You couldn’t see the end of your nose the fog was so thick. Out in the English Channel all I could hear were the muffled, still quite loud sounds of the foghorns on the ships passing through these waters. Some close to shore, others in the distance – stay with me on this it gets less of a glaze over moment as I go on. Anyway, I couldn’t sleep and part of me wanted to get out and record the sounds. The thing is, I got an idea for a lyric from this. Then I had the thought that cats are a bit like it on the nocturnal front and that if I mixed Rexie the cat of cats with the mood and sounds of the night, I might just end up with the lyric I promised a few weeks back.
            I don’t always write a lyric before a melody but out of necessity I had to – I was awake with no chance of sleeping again. Do remember that a lyric read dry can never be the same as a poem (lyrics always come over badly without the music), and that lyrics do get adapted in the making of a song, but I have now got the words to play with for Rexie, my greatest fan, song. I’ve played around, singing it to a basic dum-dee-dum tune inside my head and I think it might just work as an ambient song, might just make the new album. I likened Rexie to a bloke out alone in the night yet, knowing the love relationship you have with him I got him coming back after his night out wanting to be back indoors with you again. I’ve still got to muck about with a chorus, and work on the repetitions so it will take a while to fledge as a song but obviously, I need your approval before I go ahead, so here is the embryonic lyric. It doesn’t matter if you think it’s rubbish, by the way.

            REXIE BELIEVES IN MAGIC
            A dark sea, cloaked in dull mist
            Can’t see the horizon, the moon, the stars
            All there is, in this unholy place
            Are the ocean’s danger signal scars

            The echoes, don’t cause alarm
            There’s no rhythm, there’s no beat
            Just a random stifled ghostly cry
            Of floating palaces in retreat

            Rexie believes in magic
            He has done, all along
            The street-wise fox, believes in love and fate
            The wise owl’s still searching for his song

            Later, in neon Badlands
            The wild things come out to play
            Eagle-eyed, he watches from safe distance
            Waiting for night to turn to day

            Rexie sits in a back-street diner
            He’s not sure about the food
            It’s time to go back to the girl he loves
            There’s a dreamer’s bond to be renewed

            Life is but a game of chance
            Any cool cat knows this well
            Independence treasures freedom
            Yet can’t compare to truelove’s carousel

            I’m not sure if you’ve heard my song Busking in Berlin, but this is the sort of style I have in mind, maybe a little understated orchestration as well.

            Liked by 1 person

          10. George, I tried to visit your LinkedIn page, but it’s only available to view if you’re a member, I imagine it can be set to public. So as a kick, I thought I would create an account so you can see I have a twisted sense of humor, as well as see what I do. I’m VERY impressed that you only spent 90 minutes. I’ve been tangled up with this “@&*%” all morning. I chose to create a new email account first, so as LinkedIn didn’t pull all my email contacts. I was successful, and have a LinkedIn account now, although it’s totally blank presently, how appropriate. I clicked the “home”, it reminded me of Facebook feeds. Oh, god! Anyway that’s as far as I got with it this morning. Yes, it’s good that you created a serious profile, now you can network with all of your friends and customers. Oh, yay!

            What is it about “fog” that is so intriguing? If I close my eyes I can picture and smell the fog, everything about it is cold and wet with a scent of damp soil, it’s like the clouds come down to kiss the ground. Wow, foghorns, I hope you were able to make a recording of them. George, I rarely glaze over, I’m the Queen of Detail. Your thought progression is wonderful, thank you for sharing it with me, such a spark of inspiration! Cats are on the nocturnal front, and they have sassiness about it too.

            George, you most definitely have my approval. Your lyrics read beautifully, you’re quite intuitive, “REXIE BELIEVES IN MAGIC”, especially being a black cat and all. This is fantastic, and the story is true to life, it’s not necessarily even a need to know that Rexie is a cat. I’ve read through the lyrics several times, I’m really moved, it’s quite an emotional song for me, making Rexie even more endearing. Each line stirs so many memories and thoughts, brilliant. I can already hear it in a similar style to “Bushing in Berlin”. I know which ever direction you decide to go in, it will be terrific!

            I read the lyrics to The Cat of Cats. He puffed up at,

            “Later, in neon Badlands
            The wild things come out to play”

            George, we’re overwhelmed with how magical and special this is. Our only request, please don’t put off anything of importance; we’re very interested in the success of Zoolon Audio. I hope the rest of the day finds you well, and that you’re not too exhausted from the loss of sleep. ~ Mia & Rexie, the cat of cats!

            Liked by 1 person

          11. What a lovely thing to say. Please forgive me if I don’t respond today. I shall reply properly in the morning. The website upgrade (it is looking really good) has a number of my dyslexic spelling mistakes I’ve just been told. I have to correct them or die of shame. I’ll get back, no mistake. Great day/evening to Mia & Rexie the feline hero.

            Liked by 1 person

          12. Other than to say ‘We thank you’ is what The Queen says regularly, I shall return upon first light, providing the poltergeist doesn’t set off the smoke alarms at exactly 5am (three days in a row now). I am so glad you liked the lyric. Do have a great evening, Mia & Rexie the wonder cat.

            Liked by 1 person

          13. I had no idea that The Queen says that, how funny. The poltergeist is getting more creative. Here’s to hoping that three was the magic number, and that your night was a quiet one. I’m thrilled with, “REXIE BELIEVES IN MAGIC” and very honored. Have a great morning George, as well as a productive and creative day! ~ Mia & Rexie the wonder cat

            Liked by 1 person

          14. Yesterday was a blur. 22 hours of high pressure boredom. All done now. My website is now a department store for any/all artistic downloads. Right near the end of the day I got an email from the people I am paying saying their virtual employee could have done a lot of it for me and ‘given me more time’. The gift of time? The virtual employee didn’t sign the email so I don’t know if it’s male or female.
            I’ll look into that LinkedIn thing. The private setting must have been a default setting. More importantly, even though yesterday has drained me of creativity I did get one last thing clear in my head and that was the chorus line for the Rexie song. It occurred to me the cats hunt alone and that hunting alone fits being out in the dark. The words might change a little in the final product,
            Rexie, he hunts alone
            Doesn’t need the world upon his back
            Tomorrow is just another day
            He’s not part of the pack
            I’ll play around some more with the last line when my brain is functioning again, but it sings well.
            The foghorns are still playing in my head even though I’ve asked them to leave.
            Have a great day, Mia & Rexie the legendary cat.
            George

            Liked by 1 person

          15. George, what an amazingly long day, and the virtual employee offering a gift of time, literally priceless! I just pulled up your site, WOW! It looks incredible and impressive, the design elements are terrific, and I could listen to your samples. I like that you’ve include your blog feed and media. I would imagine that you feel really good about having the department store all put together, it seems like it would be a monumental feat, at least for me.

            I just shared the chorus with Rexie, he said you’re spot on. It’s wonderful. Hopefully you’re a bit recharged from yesterday and creativity will be restored as well. Thank you for your very kind reply, please enjoy the rest of your Tuesday. ~ Mia & Rexie the presently sleeping cat

            Liked by 1 person

          16. A long day, that’s for sure. But it hasn’t eaten into the marketing budget as I did the job myself and saved a lot of money. It just means I’m a few days behind with new products. I forgot what day is was this morning. Thought it was Thursday. Glad Rexie liked it. That LinkedIn thing is so weird, scary almost. Tomorrow is for music and plug-ins and collecting a plastic fish pond for frogs. Have a great rest of the day, Mia & Rexie the philosopher feline.

            Liked by 1 person

          17. So you’re not only a talented musician, but also a savvy business man too! George, you amaze me with your creative nature and abilities, such great qualities. Are we ever really behind? I think that everything that was, has been in some sort of service to us. Well, I see you received your gift of time, looks like about 48 hours as it’s only Tuesday.

            Honestly, we both liked it. He really has been something lately, it’s like he actually knows what’s going on. Oh, that LinkedIn, every time I logged out and tried to log back in, it said the account didn’t exist or had been moved. I had to setup a new pw three times. I thought if I added something to the profile it might help it stick, as of this moment that seemed to have done the trick. It feels (LinkedIn) oddly uncomfortable, maybe because it’s new, like when you move. You know it’s home, but it feels unworthy of being called home for a while, it’s just ill-fitting for a bit.

            Tomorrow sounds like a fun day, music, plug-ins and a frog pond! Will there be lily pads for the frogs? You as well, enjoy the remained of today, and have a great start to your Wednesday. ~ Mia & Rexie Descartes

            Liked by 1 person

          18. Thanks. I’m trying/learning how to be savvy. I think I’m getting there and the business is doing better than planned so far. At least I’m aware today is Wednesday so I can play catch-up on the new products front. That LinkedIn is the strangest place. The vibes it gives out over the ether feel so weird. Cold and dark, with Darth Vader lurking in the shadows. I spotted that my dad is on there. The idiot (in a good way) claims to be an ‘earwig baiter’ by profession having studied at the University of Cabbage. Nutter. Right, a banana for breakfast, new strings for the mandolin and a new home for frogs. Have a great day Mia & Rexie the Bard.

            Liked by 1 person

          19. You’re welcome. Great news, it’s wonderful to read, “the business is doing better than planned so far”. I hope it’s been a productive new product day so far. Oh yes, it is strange, but at the moment I’m determined to see what it can do. I do feel quite isolated there and staying away from the dark corners. I found you can actually write a post, embed videos and such, creating a sort of feed. I tried to do what I believe is called a “long post” last night and embed a video (not just link to it); however, I kept getting an “Oops, try again later” message. I finally ended up with a thumbnail that takes you to YouTube, not my first intention. You’ve got me laughing, “earwig baiter” and “University of Cabbage”, hilarious! Originally I posted studied at, The School of Hard Knocks, then thought better of it, as this is serious stuff! Please assure me you are not getting a notification every time I make a change, I think I set it properly so that you don’t. Hope it’s been a great day so far, banana, strings, frogs, and new product. Enjoy the rest of it. ~ Mia & Rexie the picky eater this morning!

            Liked by 1 person

          20. You mentioned LinkedIn. I see what you mean. I managed to post there from YouTube, Soundcloud & WordPress, then forgot to sign out. While still signed in someone I know checked my page/profile and basically could have updated anything he wanted! That can’t be right. I checked your page but it wouldn’t let me in. Weird or what? No ponds in stock until spring. The frogs will have to wait. New product turned into marketing meeting, so I’m bored again but some of the ideas were OK. Enjoy your day, Mia & Rexie the Cordon Bleu Chef

            Liked by 1 person

          21. Good, I’m glad that you posted to the “share” or “feed”. I did get a notification of “one” of your shares, also got a message notification, but nothing there, weird. I just viewed several of your shares, will be back in a bit to view the others. I just was there and looked around my page, I can’t figure out why you were unable to view it, the setting it says, “open to the public”. The platform seems a bit hinkey, and why is it someone else can get into your page and edit, no good! Every time I login it seems like all has been moved about, in fact there are times it tells me I can’t login, yet at that very moment I’m in, strange.

            More importantly, how do the frogs survive until spring? The climate seems inhospitable for them! Ah exciting, a marketing meeting, were you able to daydream between okay ideas? Hope so! George, it’s terrible, Rexie has me so well trained. He will not eat unless I shake some treats on top of the wet food, he eats the treats, leaves, then returns later for more treats. He’s a junk food junkie, my fault! Have a wonderful evening. ~ Mia & Rexie King of the Friskies’ Party Mix

            Liked by 1 person

          22. I am generally a bit of a wizard with all things online but LinkedIn is odd. It doesn’t seem to have a defined purpose. I still can’t access anything but my own page. Odd again, I been asked if I want to connect with Mia Pharaoh, Absinthe & Ether. Made me laugh. Then there was the notification that a music producer has privately looked at my profile, yet I’m not allowed to find out who it was or why he/she was having a look. The frogs will be OK there’s lots of watery places round here and the toads seem to have gone below ground level for winter. I’ve decided to leave the marketing to the experts as I just glaze over and pay them to go away and not talk about it. They seem to have got the message that I just want to create things. If I didn’t, I just go and get a normal, regular job. Rexie seems to have found paradise. Have a great day, Mia & Rexie the discerning scoffer, George

            Liked by 1 person

          23. LinkedIn is unstable. You log out, you can’t log back in, the page is missing or lost. I’m telling you nothing is the same twice, a bit frustrating for me as I am not any sort of a wizard. I’m so glad that you laughed. What a combo! I wonder if Degas or Lautrec enjoyed that concoction. The music producer was probably having a look because your music is terrific. Nice to read the frogs will be okay, now that would have been something to keep me awake at night, worrying about the frogs. I think today was a day to create for you, testing the soundproofing; at least I hope it was. Please stay away from that normal stuff. Rexie has it so good George, though I wish he would eat better. Mia & Rexie the King of Cats

            Liked by 1 person

          24. I think I will ignore LinkedIn. Don’t need it. In fact I’ll ignore the lot of them. We’re growing organically, now everyone wants a piece of me. Don’t need that either. You’re right, frogs are much more important. Up the road they cut all the hedges down and not a thought for where the sparrows nest. That’ll stay with me. Don’t know what time it is there but enjoy the rest of the day, Mia & Rexie le roi des chats

            Liked by 1 person

          25. Wonderful, “growing organically”. I can only imagine the wants of others must be challenging.

            Heartbreaking, I’m beyond sensitive when it comes to animals, it just wrecks me. Like I said, I think I’m an accidental tourist in a world gone mad.

            Have a terrific Friday morning. ~ Mia & Rexie Royal

            Liked by 1 person

  2. Beautiful, Mia. That video with the music and her thoughts worked so well with your words. I really enjoy the way your posts make me think and see things. I’m now thinking about the birth of stories and art and how they start as static in one’s mind…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Vic for a lovely comment. I’m really pleased that you found that this worked well. I love the way you phrased the following, “the birth of stories and art and how they start as static in one’s mind…” It’s such a wonderful happening. Wishing you a terrific Tuesday. ~ Mia

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Simply lovely Miss Cranes. The music is gorgeous, the photos are wonderful (I have never heard of Sarah Moon, I really need to get up to date) and your writing is sublime. The Eleventh Station made me think of last minute decisions, forgetfulness, rushing to make an important date, the focus and yet distraction when you are trying to get somewhere only to arrive at the station where the trains never stop. Sorry I realise that wasn’t your intention, but you took me on that journey.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Mr. Cake, for sharing your wonderful thoughts and words. I think you will really like Sarah Moon’s photography, when you have a chance to look at more of her work. My intention is unimportant, it’s all in how you perceive it and where it takes you. I’m delighted to read “the trains never stop.” ~ Miss Cranes

      Liked by 1 person

        1. You’re welcome. Of course there is that entire world of objective v. subjective. We may have discussed this before, so forgive me it that’s the case. I think that any artist would be lying if they said, they create their art to be viewed objectively. A display of creativity is the artist’s effort to have the world, “get them”.

          Like

  4. Dear mia ! U have discribed d emotional situation by many imagery.i think-i too feel dt as u explained by using words-white noise,sharp as d rip of chainsaw……
    Illusion is kind….wonderful way of destration for mental peace.dear mia !!m i right.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Aruna, I hope to believe that we’re all distracted by an inner voice on occasion, perhaps making us restless or motivates and inspires us to take action. Yes, you’re right. Wishing you a wonderful day, take good care. ~ Mia

      Like

  5. I love your presentation Mia! There is so much power in silence and in the use of light and perspective like Sarah Moon shows us in her gorgeous photographs. Sometimes the smallest detail is the the most important, wouldn’t you agree? I hope you have a wonderful evening and a very Happy New Year!! Here’s to a creative and amazing 2017!! – Lola 🍾🎉💜

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Lola, I’m really pleased to read that you enjoyed this. I agree, it’s all about the details all the time. I think that Sarah Moon definitely has been able to give voice to work, each photo tells its own unique story. Wishing you a wonderful Friday and a Happy New Year as well. Ditto, let’s have a creative and amazing 2017! ~ Mia 💜

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Mia, hope you’re enjoying your holiday. As usual I must think about your pieces and unravel them when my mind is clear. I loved the video of Sarah Moon and her photographs, her explanation of how her mind works when she takes a picture, that she plays with it many ways and it’s not reality, its art. Her photographs are prey to the creative process.

    And this helped me when looking at your 100 word piece about the Art of Distraction. That distraction is playingful and sometimes problematic in a fond way. That we are aware of some of what distracts us and other aspects we don’t know or at least pereceive. The white noise on a train caught my attention with your description of “moonlit” thoughts, perhaps a revealing light, but only in the dark. Then picturing these thoughts going through the glass pane on the train an unperceived “dust coating everything” with “sparkle.” This amazing brightness beyond “barriers” languages and radio waves, beyond soundand the sharp “chainsaw” image just emphasizes this brightness. This distraction with such clarity that exists beyond everything and is “kind” in its pretence of illusion and the starkness of silence.

    You create such a powerful image here being lost in thought and that creative process and unaffected by the real world, caught up in the distraction of art and imaginative thought.

    Happy New Year Mia. May 2017 bring you blessings and happiness.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Amanda, thank you for sharing your wonderful words and thoughts. Distraction can be such a magical thing, I think perhaps that’s where inspiration comes from, especially when we let our minds wander. I love the following, “This distraction with such clarity that exists beyond everything and is ‘kind’ in its pretense of illusion and the starkness of silence.” Thank you Amanda, that’s lovely.

      Sarah Moon is fantastic in my opinion, the video captures her process along with some of her stunning photography. I love when she says, “It’s such a present when it’s not expected”.

      Inspiration is around us all the time, sometimes it’s easy to tap into it, other times I find it can be really difficult. Have you ever watched Elizabeth Gilbert’s TedTalks, “Your elusive creative genius”?

      Thank you again Amanda, likewise wishing you a Happy New Year, full of blessings and much happiness, please enjoy your evening. ~ Mia 💜

      Liked by 1 person

          1. Yes it was great. You got their 8 am for breakfast and networking, then there was talks for three-hours, then lunch, then talks for another three hours. There was also a Gala at night, if you desired to go, but I didn’t know about that.

            There were three or four speakers in each speaking time and I’m trying to remember the theme. Something to do with learning and growth. I just remember writer Todd Baback, also a journalist, spoke about his decision to write fiction books, a 16-year-old science genius spoke, and if you’ve ever watched the Canadian children’s entertainer Fred Penner, he spoke and sang, he was amazing. There was also a speaker from Cirque to Soleil who had a show in the city at the time. This performer did this balancing act, with all these wooden pieces, it was crazy how she balanced them such long wooden pieces out far from her body as she moved so fluidly in a kind of dance.

            I will definitely look your artist up after New Years 🙂

            Enjoy the night!

            Liked by 1 person

          2. Amanda, that sounds amazing. I’m so glad that you had the opportunity to attend such a entertaining and motivational day. I’m not familiar with Fred Penner, I trust it was terrific along with the performer from Cirque du Soleil.

            I hope that you had a wonderful evening. Please enjoy the first day of 2017!
            ~ Mia 🙂

            Liked by 1 person

  7. Hi Mia, I am a bit behind with my reading these days, with the Holiday and all, but I did read “The Eleventh Station” right after you published, and was amazed at how it spoke to me. Having a long ago bout with Catholisim, I picked up the stations of the cross, but for me, this went well beyond that. Something much deeper, in speaking of “noise and distractions, truth from fiction” I hesitate to say it reveals the image that is really me, but perhaps it does. As my son would say i’m sounding nonsensical now, so forgive me. Anyway, wonderful writing, and Happy New year. Daniel.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Daniel, thank you for your always wonderful comments. I’m glad that you found the reference to the stations. One of the things this effort makes me think about, is commitments and distractions, what our truths are, created or otherwise, how often they can change, and what influences these changes. Please be assured, you do not sound nonsensical, I believe I understand. I find that everything we create holds a big piece of who we are. How do you separate the creative from their creation? Are they not one in the same? I hope to think so. Wishing you a wonderful and prosperous 2017, Happy New Year Daniel. ~ Mia

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hi Mia, I couldn’t agree more. Growing up in Navajo land my parent’s who were wonderful people were always out to save the Navajo’s soul. There was always an emphasis on being truthful with G_D. One time an Indian kid asked my Dad, if your being truthful to yourself Isn’t that the same thing? My dad never forgot that, and obviously neither have I. Thanks again Mia for your great conversation. Daniel

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Good morning Daniel, your reply made me smile. I believe the “kid” was on to something. It’s always a delight to exchange ideas and thoughts, thank you for our ongoing conversation. Please have a wonderful Tuesday. ~ Mia

          Like

  8. Mia, this is just wonderful. Oh, so very well done. You have such talent as a writer (I should say artist) to express the “inexpressible” or at least the “not easily expressed”. I am right now on my way to bed (late, oh so late) and I’m taking your thoughts with me. Thank you for them. Enjoy the rest of your evening and take care – Nathalie

    Like

    1. Nathalie, thank you, you’re far too kind. You’ve made me smile, the “inexpressible” thank you, often I find myself wondering if my writings are more nonsensical. If so, that’s okay, there’s great pleasure in writing the nonsensical too. I hope that you had a peaceful rest and are enjoying your Tuesday. Take good care. ~ Mia 🙂 💜

      Liked by 1 person

  9. I love this post, Mia ~ with it comes some of the perfect things I love about life. How it is that distraction runs our subconscious, and allows creativity to bloom within in. With patience, it then shows itself to the world. Your writing carries both poetry and wisdom ~ take care Mia and wishing you a wonderful 2017 ahead.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much Randall. I think distractions are fabulous things, I like your words, “allows creativity to bloom”, so true. I’m grateful for my many distractions, they offer up some wonderful surprises if they are allowed to bloom. Likewise, wishing you a wonderful 2017 Randall. Take good care, enjoy! ~ Mia

      Like

  10. “…moonlit thoughts through the pane glass, disguised as subliminal dust, coating everything with a pretense of sparkling bright.” This is brilliant, Mia…wow! What a fascinating passage. It is so true how something can be perceived in very different ways. We have messaged about a similar thought before around how our personal lens often determines the meaning of an event. What is subliminal dust to one can be the backdrop to sparkling lights to another. We decide which is the illusion.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Michael, for your kind words. Perception is an ongoing theme, pleasantly manipulated. It can be what ever we want it to be, beautiful or not. Maybe we should ask ourselves which side of the lens we’re looking through. Have a wonderful week. ~ Mia 💕

      Liked by 1 person

        1. Hi Michael, I think there’s such a big hang-up in today’s world, with a not so subliminal suggestion that everyone should be this some sort of artificial happy, a Stepford Happy. Personally I think it’s all rubbish, why dilute emotional experiences? It’s the people that don’t struggle, that make me wonder if they’ve had a lobotomy. The struggle shapes us, makes us and at time breaks us, I wouldn’t have it any other way. Some of the best creative minds were on the so called wrong side of lens.

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Love this!💖There is a lot of creativity that comes to us from the edges. I’m with you, the comfortable center doesn’t seem a place of great inspiration or feeling the power of life. I’m a bit behind but will be catching up with your writing over the weekend☺️

            Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

