Crossing Lines

Photographer — William Albert Allard

 

Crossing Lines
100 Words Only

There it is, I feel it again, something extraordinary, otherworldly caught within the movement of air, a silent hullabaloo. Sometimes it arrives riding the scented tide of sandalwood and musk, other times it arrives drenched in that of sweet ambrosia, this is life. During these moments, I’m at the mercy of the unknown, an invisible breeze that’s magical and mystical, much like the rush of my lover’s breath against my skin. The flutter, beauty in motion, sheets to the wind, the ebb and flow of the here and now. When the spirit’s gone, the music stops, until you’re home again.

 

“Ever has it been that love knows not its own depth until the hour of separation.”
― Kahlil Gibran


Mazzy Star – “
Fade Into You”                                                                       *     *     *     *

103 thoughts on “Crossing Lines

  1. A favorite theme of mine. From L.A. Story – “Why is it that we don’t always recognize the moment when love begins, but we always know when it ends?” I love Mazzy Star. I hope that you are well, Mia.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Rob! That couldn’t be more true, why is that? Maybe it’s just part of being human. 😉 I really like Mazzy Star too (love Hope Sandoval’s voice). They’re originally from my home town, Santa Monica, CA. Doing okay Rob, I hope you’re well. ~ Mia

      Liked by 1 person

  2. So in this we get the combination of William Albert Allard, the famous photographer from National Geographic, your always beautiful and mysterious poetry, the great philosopher artist poet Gibran and Mazzy Star. It really doesn’t get much better than this…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, a lovely comment. I’m usually draw to vintage black and white photos, but I love this photo! If I remember correctly, but don’t quote me on this, Allard’s entire body of work consists of only color photos. I thought that was interesting. Enjoy your evening and the rest of the week, take care. ~ Mia

      Liked by 1 person

          1. Yes, I saw you in the reader. Thank you for the link. I’ve been far behind with my visits to everyone. I’m glad that you mentioned this, you obviously were reading my mind. I think this is an excellent idea for many reasons, all good.

            Liked by 1 person

  3. Something “extraordinary and otherworldly” catches my attention right away. I feel intrigued by this and excited. I love that this excitement arrives in your beautiful image of the “tides” with “sandalwood and musk” and “the sweet ambrosia of life.” Your excitement is palpable and you enjoy this sponitanity of the “unknown,” “magical and mystical” as a “lovers breath” — back to your reference of sandalwood and musk. I think you or your speaker is happy in the moment, in the sheets, the “ebb and flow” of lovers. But a good he end, I think she’s a bit disappointed, things have cooled, the music played to seduce and create the moment has stopped. So you simply go home. I don’t know if this is bad. Simpy the end of one night, one if many or nights. Or the end of the night which will only be one. Generally a joyful piece I think Mia. Have a lovely week.
    Amanda

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, I love this Amanda! I’m so pleased that you were able to see and feel the excitement, all things are good as long as the music is playing. She never knows when her lover will arrive, making it unknown, magical and mystical. When she finds he’s left again, she is very disappointed… yet she patiently waits for his return.

      Thank you for a wonderful and most generous comment Amanda. Wishing you a lovely week too!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. The picture reminds me of Naples, when I walked in the Spanish quarters the old part of Naples. A magical and mystical city.
    I wish you a happy start to the week.
    Best wishes.
    Kisses and hugs.

    Soul

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Soul, the information that I could find about the location of the photo all point to Italy, where exactly I don’t know, you would definitely know best. I love the photo, it feels like the magic of an old memory. Thank you for the wonderful wishes, I hope that your week has started out well. Have a terrific Tuesday. Much love to you. ~ Mia xo

      Liked by 1 person

      1. In fact, for me it’s just an old memory 🙂
        Here the week began with very cold and sunless days are gray.
        Enjoy your Tuesday and much love for you.
        Cheers, xo

        Liked by 1 person

      1. Right,dear mia.yeah,all is well besides my heart n mind.they both r naughty n disturb my soul .hope u r well ,tc my friend.ur poems always satisfy my disturbed heart’s feeling like a flowing river.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Thats odd, I’m told the video is not available in my country, yet we are both in the same one UK I think?

    I saw Mazzy Star a few yrs ago at the Field day fest in London, and I just wanted to let you know she was astonishing and spellbinding! She mumbled something about it being hard for her, (performing perhaps a certain song, or more likely the whole live thing) and it just got her all the more approval and respect from the crowd there, it was really one of those gigs which becomes an hour out of time 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Ogden! I’m in the US, sad you couldn’t watch the video. Well, you saw the real thing, thank you for sharing that. 😉 I’m so glad that you enjoyed it, it sounds like it was magical. Wishing you well, enjoy the rest of your week. ~ Mia

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Daniel, you know I think it’s amazing when the scent of sandalwood arrives on its own. Thank you for you’re kind words, and I’m happy that you liked the music. Wishing you a wonderful Tuesday, take care. ~ Mia

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Khlil Zibran qoute is absolutly right.i like his qoutes very much.really.beloved is more far away then by soul,we can know d depth of love n too d heart’s emotions of our love.dt is real love.dear mia.i have felt all these in reality.have a.happy day n take care.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Nathalie, thank you for sharing such kind words. I adore the word, “hullabaloo”, it’s not often you get to use it. And the Allard photo stops me in my tracks, it captures some sort of strange magic and emotions that I can’t quite put my finger on. Enjoy the rest of your week. ~ Mia ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hullabaloo is a wonderful word, very much like “poppycock” which is another favourite of mine. As for the photograph, for me it evokes similar feelings to the Thomas Newman “plastic bag” video – there is a haunting quality to it.
        Enjoy the rest of your week also 🙂 Nathalie

        Liked by 1 person

  7. As I read this, I am drawn to your expressions of feeling the spirit on the breeze, mystical and flowing…otherworldly and unknown…like a magical presence in a perfect song that captures the yearning of your soul. Mia, I think we have some significant overlap in our favorite playlist. Fade Into You has steady rotation on mine. “You live your life, you go in shadows…I want to hold the hand inside you”😘

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Michael, you leave me the most wonderful comments, thank you. Sometimes the spirit of memories does capture the yearning of my soul. 😉 I think you may be right about the playlist. You quoted some of the best lines in the song. “I want to hold the hand inside you” is my very favorite. I hope your week has been great, wishing you a terrific Friday.
      ~ Mia ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Reads like a dream like listening to Hope’s melting voice. In high school I learned to sing and play guitar to that whole ‘Among My Swan.’ You are a painter with your words and I’m looking forward to exploring your prose poems. Oh, have you seen Roger Allers’ film based on Gibran’s ‘The Prophet’?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your very kind comment. I’m pleased you found a dreamlike quality within the words. Hope’s voice is amazing, love your description, “melting”, perfect. Fabulous, *smiling* the whole album! I haven’t seen, “The Prophet”, will check it out though. Wishing you a lovely weekend filled with inspiration and creativity. Take good care. ~ Mia

      Like

      1. Do check out the animated film. What a fantastic surprising find at our little local library. Having been inspired by that poem probably about ten years ago, simply was a gift to watch it in beautiful animation form with perfect accompanying music. My 2yr old daughter enjoyed it with me. You have a poetry-making weekend too and thank you for the follow, Mia:) ~ Amaya

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Christy, it is a fabulous word! I always think of Sylvia Plath when I use it. I had to look it up… Cranium Hullabaloo? I had never heard of it until now. 🙂 Have a great weekend, take good care and stay warm. ~ Mia

      Like

Leave a Reply

