Fawn’s Nightingale

Ellen Rogers Photography

 

Fawn’s Nightingale
100 Words Only

Each new dawn brings forth beauty’s naïve doe-eyed uncertainty, with slightly parted lips, shallow breath exhales to the clock’s tick. Her moon does its duty, arching across the sky, far behind the good sun. Frustration follows temptation towards the cobblestones of twilight, before reaching the pause of midnight. There’s a certain ripeness and longing contained within the dark, where anything and everything is possible. While all is lulled by sleep’s stagnation, beauty’s uncertainty grows restless. No longer a keepsake, she envisions the once unattainable in the distance, across a field of thorns, her brave heart dares to barefoot the crossing.

 

“I’m lost. And it’s my own fault. It’s about time I figured out that I can’t ask people to keep me found.”
― Anne Sexton

Groove Armada – “
Think Twice”                                                                         Liminal

117 thoughts on “Fawn’s Nightingale

          1. She puts the thorn in an old but beautiful empty tea tin that once housed Peppermint tea. Also her dress is cotton, a gingham and everything is set in sepia tones. It’s very pretty. You should see it!

            Liked by 1 person

  1. Wonderful 100 words, Mia. It makes me think about how it’s always dawn when the activities of darkness finally settle down and we step over corpses, sometimes real, mostly imaginary, as we assess the carnage wrought by the often dark forces of our desires. But then we can also wake to the beauty that dawn brings after we find love, followed by peaceful rest that releases us, if only temporarily, from our “dark night of the soul”.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Tim. Oh, I like that! We do at times have to step over the metaphorical corpse (sometimes real, I try to weed those out), even give them a good kick to get them to let go. Thank goodness for new days. My mother was famous for her motherisms, “things always look worse in the dark, and much better in the light”, I doubt she coined that. 😉 But I think there is a lot of truth to the idea of a new day and a new dawn, and the things we find in the new light help us to make it through the “dark night of the soul”. Beautiful thoughts Tim, thank you again. ~ Mia

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Beauty should never be diminished by being held as a keepsake and the pain of thorns is the price to be paid for her freedom. I am always enamored with the dark artistry of your evocative metaphors

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for a lovely comment. True, there’s always a price for freedom, nothing is without cost. That thought has now hijacked my mind. Do we need to compromise the “self” in order to get as close to freedom as possible, still being mindful of the price? Oh gosh, I realize the questions are endless and perhaps start to lean towards the esoteric. Oh well, another day, another post. 😉 Thank you again, take good care.
      ~ Mia

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I am hoping that it is exactly the opposite. We must remain true to self in order to get close to freedom for isn’t freedom about the same as living as one’s true self?

        Like

        1. I want to preface this, by saying, I hope that I understood your words correctly.

          No doubt everyone will have their own spin on this. Here’s my short answer, I don’t find freedom and true self to be interchangeable. The closer we come to self-realization the more selfless we should be, in theory at least. Once selfless, the chains that bind us don’t matter anymore, they become unimportant. It’s a different type of freedom than was mentioned earlier in the above comment, this is a detachment from everything that is material.

          Like

          1. I love this and believe you have answered at a much higher level. My tangible translation of this is that my art then would become selfless, at least in its generosity if not in its execution. Perhaps I have modeled this in a small way recently when I painted the yellow rose for the family that lost their daughter to cancer?

            Liked by 1 person

  3. Lovely, Mia! The hope of dawn, the uncertainty of twilight and the bravery of walking through the thorns sure to tear at her feet. Perhaps the new dawn will light a clearer path to the goal… Marvelous imagery. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Meg, you’re always so kind. I think we’ve all been there and have collected our share of thorns, maybe there are a few that have escaped some of the things that life tosses our way, those grenades and landmines, half-joking and half-serious, it’s just part of the process. And yes, the light always helps! Wishing you a wonderful evening filled with inspiration and creativity as you continue with your projects, it’s very impressive. I don’t know how you do it all, I have great admiration for you Meg. ~ Mia

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Hector, I always love to see you here! Thank you, I like that part too. After I wrote it I thought of the Sylvia Plath, and the figs, from “The Bell Jar”. I would have included the quote, but it’s long and I didn’t think anyone would spend the time to read it. If my memory is correct you like Sylvia. It’s just might be my all-time favorite quote of hers. If you’re not familiar with it, let me know and I will happily share it with you. Ha-ha, only if you want, *laughing* I feel kind of pushy. 😉 I hope you’re enjoying your evening. Take care. ~ Mia

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I loved Sylvia even when I couldn’t speak English well enough -still cant 😉 Mia I look forward to your posts. There is a certain flavor to your words that I enjoy, a subtle sophistication. Yes, share the entire quote with me. I can look it up but it probable “taste” better coming from you ❤

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Hector, I would have never know that English is not your first language, your poems are so lovely and flow beautifully. Thank you for your very kind words about my writing efforts. ❤

          I think Sylvia Plath is amazing and her words capture the essence of so many of the emotions that I experience. I hope you enjoy the following quote:

          “I saw my life branching out before me like the green fig tree in the story. From the tip of every branch, like a fat purple fig, a wonderful future beckoned and winked. One fig was a husband and a happy home and children, and another fig was a famous poet and another fig was a brilliant professor, and another fig was Ee Gee, the amazing editor, and another fig was Europe and Africa and South America, and another fig was Constantin and Socrates and Attila and a pack of other lovers with queer names and offbeat professions, and another fig was an Olympic lady crew champion, and beyond and above these figs were many more figs I couldn't quite make out. I saw myself sitting in the crotch of this fig tree, starving to death, just because I couldn't make up my mind which of the figs I would choose. I wanted each and every one of them, but choosing one meant losing all the rest, and, as I sat there, unable to decide, the figs began to wrinkle and go black, and, one by one, they plopped to the ground at my feet.”

          ― Sylvia Plath, The Bell Jar

          Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Mr. Cake, for your lovely words. I will state the obvious, all the best artist, shined the brightest and burned out far too soon, truly tragic, it’s an exclusive club. You would be surprise what I groove to, well maybe not. I just checked and I see you’ve posted, I’ll be over shortly. ~ Miss Cranes

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Charlie, how did you know that I adore Poe? Thank you for a lovely comment and including such a wonderful quote, you’ve made me smile! I see you have something new up, I will be by later this evening or in the morning. Thank you again, take good care. ~ Mia 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

        1. Hi Charlie, good guess!

          I did visit and “like” your new poem. I thought it was very clever and contained a strong commentary, which is wonderful, your work always does. 🙂 I hope you will forgive me for not commenting publicly, I may be incorrect, but my interpretation led me to believe the words had a political slant, and I have elected not to offer comments in that arena. I know you understand, thank you Charlie. Please have a great day. ~ Mia 🙂

          Like

  4. I love this Mia!! Your vision here is so beautifully expressed and the Ellen Rogers photo is a perfect fit. When I read your poetry I’m reminded of one of my favorite Hemingway quotes,“Live the full life of the mind, exhilarated by new ideas, intoxicated by the romance of the unusual.” Have a wonderful evening! – Lola 🌺

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Lola, thank you for a lovely comment and including the Hemingway quote. I’ve been hanging on to the photo, I knew one day I would be able to use it. I’ve been on an Ellen Rogers kick lately. 😉 I’ve always admired Hemingway for both his wisdom and his writing. This is such a stunning quote, no wonder it’s a favorite, the mind deserves a full life too. Have a wonderful evening too, take care. ~ Mia

      Liked by 1 person

  5. This is beautiful, Mia. I like that it’s sort of defiant. Like, she’s a bit fierce and very determined- walking barefoot across thorns. We should all be so willing to go boldly for what we want.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Vic, I’m pleased that came across. She has become restless, and yes determined. I think we all experience the stress of the daily grind, and maybe a little change or a big change is just what we need now and then, hopefully we are able to “go boldly for what we want”. Thank you Vic, for your always wonderful comments. Have a great evening. ~ Mia

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Dear mia.wonderful poem. we all has suffered on dt stage as d fawn and as d barefoot .really early youthness’s frustration follows tamptation towards cobbelstones of twilight.
    Ur fawn is as symbol of dawn (youthness of life) n inspires for raising up ,not for fall down.m i right ,mia.?

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Welcome dear mia.plz donn’t mind if i tell u a tragic thing who is related my student.after reading ur poem,suddenly she was standing towards me as unsolved question.then i have write something on her.if u donn’t like dt poem ,then i will delete dt.plz reply mia very soon.poem’s title is the hope

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Dear Aruna, I offer my condolences for your loss.

          If I can clarify, I know this is indelicate, her death happened before I posted my poem, after reading my poem you had a vision of her after her death? Is this correct? If not please correct me.

          Like

          1. Oh dear mia.u r very kind.dt event had happend before reading u .u r absolutely correct.dis time,i open d blog only for enjoying because i m more busy in my official n domestic works.thanks for ur kind word.

            Liked by 1 person

          2. Dear mia.u r absolutly correct.i m very much budy in my official n domestic problems,so i have thought for enjoying on d blog.here is not ur any fault.ur poem is most beautiful.i have disturb u-plz sorry.

            Liked by 1 person

  7. I would venture to make a dreamlike journey with these your suggestive and imaginary hundred words told by the nightingale as I kept reading I was doing my dream journey. 🙂
    Thank you so much for this fantastic article you’re brilliant 🙂

    Love to you. xo

    ** p. s.
    I hope that my English is sufficiently understood, 🙂

    Soul.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dearest Soul, thank your for a beautifully written words, they are perfect. Yes, told by the lovely nightingale 😉 I’m pleased that you went on a dream journey. Much love and great affection for you. ~ Mia xo

      P.S. Your English is always wonderful.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you so much dear for my english at times I suspect that I do not explain well and misunderstandings can arise 🙂
        Have been traveling with this your article you know I travel a lot with your imagination at times I have not even down to earth 🙂
        All nice and well even made the quote and picture.
        Pluto next destination 🙂
        Wishing you well, dearest.

        Kiss from Rome, with affection ❤

        Liked by 1 person

        1. I’m pleased that you are able to travel along with my imagination, that’s lovely. You haven’t touched down yet. Are you traveling by way of the Stargate? Looking forward to sharing a Corona with you when we reach Pluto. Always wishing you the very best. 😉 Much love to you. ❤ xo

          Liked by 1 person

          1. … 🙂 Yes dear, are still traveling
            I think I missed 🙂
            I’ll wait to pluto bar, second star on the right to drink an ice cold Corona with you 🙂
            Love to you ❤

            Liked by 1 person

  8. I usually go down through the comments, interested in what so many other of your wonderful fans have to say. This time however I quickend my pace, as quick to the comment box as I could, likening myself to Rilke ro strengthen the young poet, but I give myself too much credit. You have outpaced me with this piece, as if it were a competition. and made me want to write the better still.. Wonderful memorable entrenching writing Mia! Best wishes, Daniel.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Daniel, for a lovely comment, you’re far too kind. I adore your writing and it inspires me to do my best to write a better narrative. Often, I feel a bit selfish, my words may only have meaning to me, I always hope that they will offer something to the reader. This leaves me wondering do we write for ourselves or for others? Have a wonderful Friday, and best wishes to you too. Take good care Daniel. ~ Mia

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hi Mia, Great points. The thrill for me is finding the easter egg in your work, even if I’m off target, I’m really not, I’m standing at my part of the octagon , looking in , creating my share of your story. Thanks for your wonderful compliments. Shabbat Shalom, Daniel.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Daniel, thank you for a wonderful reply, I really like,”I’m standing at my part of the octagon, looking in, creating my share of your story.” 🙂 You’re very welcome, I’m looking forward to reading your next post. Shavua tov Daniel. ~ Mia

          Liked by 1 person

  9. This, as all your work, is an interesting read. I often think of darkness as evoking fear due to some sensory loss. On the other hand, I interpret a different perspective in your writing. If what we experience in the light of day causes trepidation the darkness can be liberating. We can be mindful of the end without worrying so much about the missteps along the way. I was a little late for this one, I’m sure you have another great posts cooking right now! 🙂 Hope you are having a wonderful weekend, Mia ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Michael, my perspective about the darkness is probably a little different than most. True it is liberating, I thing the things that bind us are invisible in the dark. 🙂 Are you familiar with the song, “Darkness, Darkness”, by Robert Plant? I’m pretty sure you are. 😉 Thank you for a wonderful comment, you’re always so kind. I hope you’re having a wonderful weekend. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Am I familiar with it? I probably listened to it about 300,000 times, lol! Dreamland is one of his better solo albums. So, you’re a Plant fan? That is awesome😃Not many folks seem to recognize or mention his solo work. Love your perspective on darkness and it came through in your writing…I just like double checking now and then to make sure I got it. Thank you Mia 💖

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Robert Plant’s voice is still fantastic. 😉 What do other folks know? We can’t educate everyone. 🙂 Michael, you’re always on track. I’m delighted to read that my intent came across, it can be so subjective, I really never know how someone is going to interpret my words. Everything has meaning to me, but to others, often a question mark. Thank you as always, I hope your enjoying your Sunday. ~ Mia ❤

          Liked by 1 person

  10. Hello, Mia!
    Your posts do not ever appear in the Reader. I was absent from WP for a long time and when I came back you had just disappeared. I was thinking about you the other day and wondering what had happened to you. It took me I don’t know how many Google search attempts to end up on here – I’d forgotten the name of your blog! *hangs my head in shame*
    Well, enough of my ramblings and let me say how glad I am to have found you again. Your writing is as good as I remember it to be. Better, even! There is such beauty here and it resonates with me because there’s been a lot of change in my life recently…none of it has been easy (thorns indeed) but I’m trying to be brave…I’m *determined* to be brave and cross to the other side.
    This is simply gorgeous. Now I am going to slowly catch up on your musings. At a more reasonable hour lol
    Take care – Nathalie
    PS: SO glad to have found you again, I’m bookmarking this site!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Nathalie, I’m delighted to read that my words resonated with you. There’s a certain magic and strength that we can find in change, hopefully it’s a calling that’s not ignored. True, it’s not easy, and not everyone is willing or determined to brave the crossing. I’m pleased to read that you have the heart and the calling to make change happen. Thank you for a wonderful comment, it’s very kind of you, and it’s great that you found your way back. Wishing you a terrific week ahead filled with much creativity and inspiration. ~ Mia

      Like

  11. Mia, How are you doing? Started Christmas shopping or preparing?. Beautiful and evocative prose poetry. Dawn brings forth her beauty and she only has so much time. It’s a hesitant beauty, unexperienced, “doe-eyed” always knowing time limits her. The moon brings the night and here she feels, possibility. But twilight is still frustrating despite the nights “ripeness,” it’s confusing, she is awake while all sleep at night. But her beauty is fading, “no longer a keep sake” as night stretches back into Morning. But her beauty fading brings with it wisdom and a fearefulness to cross the thorns, handle what makes her afraid. In the end her “heart is brave.” Perhaps more important than the stages of life we go though in life, chasing after beauty and empty things are less important than the things hat touch our hearts, teach us, and make us brav.

    Beautiful! I love how your pieces include the poem/quote/song, it’s an interesting nitre experience.

    Amanda

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Amanda, pretty good this morning, thank you, and how are you? No shopping yet, I haven’t even begun to think about it! 🙂

      I find that I’m continually surprised by things, so maybe we hold on to the vulnerability of being naïve, or at least I have, it should wear-off with age. 🙂 Beauty does fade, and fear hold us back. Hopefully we all brave enough to chase our dreams, enjoy the journey and not fixate on things that will fade and are unimportant.

      Thank you so much for your kind words, I’m glad that you liked all the pieces. Wishing you a wonderful Tuesday, please take good care. ~ Mia 🙂 ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You as well Mia, thank you, I’m a bit scared it’s our first -20 degrees Celsius weather in Edmonton, and I’m going out in today. We’ve been spoiled, had gorgeous weather until this weekend. Enjoy your week and I hope your weather is nicer 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        1. You’re welcome Amanda. I hope your outing goes well today. I can’t imagine that type of cold, I’m spoiled here, my cold would only be chilly to you. 🙂 Have fun, stay warm! Thank you, enjoy your week too! 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

  12. Such a simple piano. Such chosen words. So good. I read this when I first kicked off on social media. Didn’t really take it in – how good your writing is, back then, I mean. Your skills with words leave me feeling a thicko. We have a 70 mph storm ‘they forgot to name’ (how weird) blowing tonight. The internet keeps getting knocked out. Tomorrow is another day.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for commenting on this, you’re far too kind. George, you have a brilliant mind. That words remind me of “Donnie Darko”, how funny my connections are, I think I’m going to watch it tonight. I’m still playing around with LinkedIn, seeing what’s a share, what’s a post, and where things shows up. That is some “no name” storm, I can’t even imagine winds of 70 mph, I hope it blows through quickly, and tomorrow will be less windy. Wishing you and the frogs a Happy Saturday. ~ R & M

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That LinkedIn thing is worrying. I saw your comment last night but was too tired to do any research. Wide awake now, so I’m off to have a look. ‘The storm they forgot to name’ is a line I’ve got to find a way of using. Have a great day, R & M – George

        Liked by 1 person

        1. It could potentially be a problem for some, especially if there is a malicious individual out there. It is a great line, I’m quite sure you will make wonderful use of it. Here’s to hoping your day has been good so far, may it continue in that direction. ~ R & M

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

