Contained

Ellen Rogers Photography

 

Contained
100 Words Only

My mind is an abstract masterpiece of the devious and dubious, a traitorous trickster, jealous jester, and callous handed croupier, chasing lethal fumes of ammonia and bleach: afterthoughts, into a man-made match lit tunnel known as, Disaster, meeting tomorrow’s runaway bullet train, The Lullaby, head on, knocking me into the questionably sane side of today, while yesterday’s memories shake violently, their cries foreshadow the harvest of my very presence and yet to be future: grinding out of control on slippery tracks, there’s no escape from this dimness, confined, caged against my will, I’m at the mercy of my captor: myself.

 

“What fresh hell is this?”
― Dorothy Parker, The Portable Dorothy Parker


Yaël Naïm – “
Toxic

                                                                                             Scorched

79 thoughts on “Contained

    1. I hope you are well Mia. I sort of disappeared for a month for reasons of which you are already aware. I always appreciate the depths of your mind and your rich, dark artistry. Always know this even if I am somewhat absent due to my own personal life issues.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Memories foreshadowing the harvest of your present of future…spectacular! Yourself, the merciless captor of you. My goodness, this rich! There is great wisdom in this state and, if we can learn from it, the chance to fight the seemingly magnetic pull to the toxic and dark. Such a great composition Mia ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Michael, for your magnetic words. 😉 I think we can all be vulnerable at times, there’s no immunity offered, it can be so easy to allow our minds to be a runaway train, zooming into a dark tunnel. (Laughing, I don’t ever use the word “zoom”.) Oh, such a pretty thought! Ha-ha, best not to board that train! I hope you’re having a wonderful day. ~ Mia ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Both captive and captivated by ourselves, we like Loki, are doers of good and doers of evil. Our dividends between good and bad often cash out more on the dark sides of our souls, blurring lines and mixing up our sanities.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. They said our mind is an intricate map of neurons. I can only imagine what yours would look like 🙂 Mine would look like one of those “can you find Waldo” posters. 😉 Always looking for your slightly “scattered” posts. Happy Monday Mia!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Waldo, you’ve made me laugh, thank you!

      Hector, thank you for a wonderful comment. I fear my mind may look like a long corridor with hundreds of doors on each side, and the last door at the very end of the corridor has sign on it reading, “The Pit”. That’s me, slightly scattered. 😉 Happy Monday to you too, I hope it’s been a great day. ~ Mia 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Meg! Thank you, I’m glad that you liked the alliteration. I wasn’t sure if I could actually get away with this effort as one long run-on sentence, impersonating a runaway train gaining speed, then I figured what the heck. I love the photography of Ellen Rogers, I’ve had this image for ages, so I was delighted that I remembered it, I think it works well too. Thanks again Meg, and please have a great rest of the day too. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh it works perfectly. I must check out Ellen Rogers… I watched the Woodmans, forgot to tell you! What an odd family dynamic. Both the mother and brother seemed rather nonchalant (at a minimum) and subtly envious as well. Only her father tried to honor her memory with his own work. And yet there was something sort of disturbing about him too. Such a tragedy – her work is in a class by itself… So thank you for the recommendation. 💙

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Thank you. I hope you like the work of Ellen Rogers.

          Meg, you did watch it, wasn’t that something? Just another day in paradise. The family had to have known that she was a genius, come on. I think there was so much competition in the household that perhaps things went unnoticed, how?! I agree the mother and brother were far too flat and matter of fact for me, odd indeed. Thank goodness Francesca’s work has survived and we can enjoy her brilliance. You’re so welcome for the recommendation. 😉

          Liked by 1 person

  4. Excellent Miss Cranes. Love the stream of consciousness flow and the alliteration.Has a very beat feel yet there is nothing typewriterese (as someone said about Kerouac) about your artistry. I love the callous handed croupier (obviously) and as to the underlying theme of being trapped by oneself, well i think we are both on the same page on that theme.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Mr. Cake. I had started writing this several weeks ago, it had such a dark nature to it that I hesitated working on it. We must finish what we start, so… I was able to jump right back in where I left off without missing a beat. Hmm… I may be more familiar with the concoction of ammonia and bleach then I thought, ha-ha! Thank you again for a lovely comment. ~ Miss Cranes

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Wow, beautiful and dark. Makes me think about the things (lies) we tell ourselves and how no matter if they were true at the start, if we keep saying it, it will come to be. I love the quote too. 🙂 I hope you’re having a wonderful day.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Vic, for such kind words. I think the mind is such a powerful thing, it will protect us in all sorts of ways, healthy and unhealthy, even allowing and sometimes encouraging us to believe things that aren’t true. I love Dorothy Parker, she’s fantastic! I hope you’re having a wonderful day too, thanks again. ~ Mia 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Disaster and Lullaby…kind of reminds me of when my son was just born and cried for hours… Mia, this was fun to read. It made me a bit breathless, kind of like the feeling of stress when I spend too much time gearing up for whatever. Take care. -Chris

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Chris, they do that, did you every try the top of a running dryer?

      Thank you, I’m glad that you found this fun to read. I was hoping that would be the case, especially if it was one long sentence, causing the reader to go faster and faster. Stress is a perfect way to describe this feeling, maybe even the onset of sudden panic, like when you slam on the car brakes. Whew, take a deep breath and relax.

      Thanks again Chris, for your always insightful and spot on comments. Enjoy the rest of your evening and have a terrific day tomorrow. Take care. ~ Mia

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Dear.mia !! Wonderful description of emotional human’s mentality.yeah!! We all r as caged into dt web weaved by us n depend on d mercy of ourselves captor.deeping lines-“the lullaby head on…..while yesterday’s memory…..”.wonderfull using d lines as mourning-“…grinding out of control on sleepry tracks..”marvellous mia.i m whispering ur lines-“my mind is an abstract masterpiece……

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dear Aruna, thank you. I’m so happy that you liked this effort. It’s true our minds are a marvelous mystery. I hope that you’re well, and enjoying your week. Please take good care. ~ Mia 🙂

      Like

  8. Hey Mia. Hope you slept well. It’s the best to go to bed early and wake up refreshed. I’m going to give a go of your delightful piece.

    You speaker describes their mind as careless, scheming and “devious” like a gambler chasing his money, the high he/she gets from betting, but he’s inhaling “lethal fumes” instead. Dangerous because your speaker gives an image of a tunnel where these noxious fumes could cause an explosion and even if they don’t, there’s always the bullet train. “Disaster” has struck this gambler and they can’t escape. “The Lullaby head on” I’m not sure about this. Maybe childhood memories of songs of warnings in fairytales keep her sane for the day, but yesterday’s memories are painful. These memories effect your speaker today and will affect her in her future. She feels trapped, this gambler, she’s stuck and she herself is the one who is her jailer. Maybe her own body or her mind are not working exactly the way she would like them to. Something is affecting her to make her feel “caged.” Fascinating prose poetry Mia. You’re very talented at this.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Amanda, thank you, your comment is GREAT as always on target 😉 and it was wonderful to sleep.

      I can only speak for myself (but I think this may apply to everyone), in those moments when the mind spins out of control and gets stuck on something, repeating and repeating. When this happens I feel betrayed, like I’m running head on into an explosion. I think of lullabies as something that puts babies/small children to sleep or quiets them, so getting hit head-on is quieting. Sometimes I think I’m my own worst enemy, especially when times are difficult, resulting in feeling caged and trapped.

      Thank you, you’re far too kind. I’m enjoying these pieces, and the 100 words only, makes it challenging.

      I hope you’re having a wonderful Friday, and have a super weekend. ~ Mia 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Daniel, thank you for a lovely comment. I’m always pleased to read your thoughts, you’re always so gracious. My mind has a curfew now, it can’t be out after dark anymore. 😉 Wishing you a great weekend as well. ~ Mia

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Oh, how simply gorgeous! There is darkness in your writing-I do love the darkness-but a streak of precious hope as well. Again, this resonates: the line “while yesterday’s memories shake violently” is just perfectly accurate. Such beautiful, wonderful word skills at work here! I must be off to bed now even though I just had to take another peak.
    Do enjoy the rest of your evening!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Nathalie, thank goodness for hope. I can’t help but think I’m largely made up of my memories, and those memories can surely be tricky. I hope you’ve had a wonderful day so far, enjoy the rest of it. ~ Mia

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

