Sisters’ Endgame

Unknown Artist

 

Sisters’ Endgame
100 Words Only


What of fate and faith? While they embrace, hold hands, which rules the other? This perpetual thought is a silent cancer that creeps within, like rust that never sleeps. Should they drift off into slumber, the dark-grey melancholy wakes them. Before their cries reach a fevered pitch of malignancy, they dance the last tango, what if and if only. Loyal duty and service to this thought wavers, to what purpose does it serve, and to what end? Lost days pass, the finish line inches ever closer, what of the final moment? Grace reserved, wishes fate and faith to be kind.

 

“Life is grace. Sleep is forgiveness. The night absolves. Darkness wipes the slate clean, not spotless to be sure, but clean enough for another day’s chalking.”
― Frederick Buechner, The Alphabet of Grace

Staind – “It’s Been Awhile”                                      Flattery       Careful       Graceful

103 thoughts on “Sisters’ Endgame

  1. Such a heavy question: fate and faith. And what of free will? Is it even compatible with either one? Faith in one’s self perhaps. But in a higher being or purpose, if fate is set, then we spin out our days at the mercy of the one who set our destiny ahead of time. Thus faith and fate seem hopelessly entangled. I fear I suffer the effects of the rust you mentioned. Slowly, inevitably corroding my thinking. Maturity which is supposed to bring wisdom only has me asking more questions. Brilliant writing, Mia. Sorry to be a bummer. Feeling rather low, these days.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Meg, truly a wonderful way to describe fate and faith, “hopelessly entangled”. Another great question, “And what of free will?” I fear I too suffer the same fate, and the answers are not as forthcoming as I would like them to be, cruelly they only offer up more questions. Please don’t apologize, I posted this with much hesitation, not know how it would be read or be perceived. I want to desperately believe that the mind asks these types of questions, otherwise it becomes stagnant, unchallenged, at least this is how I rationalize and console myself, giving permission to engage in these types of “happy” thoughts.

      Meg I can’t thank you enough for your tremendous comment, I appreciate it so much, and thank you for making me realize that I’m not alone in the pursuit of these types of answers, especially to the most impossible questions. Please enjoy your Columbus Day, and avoid the pumpkin coffee. ~ Mia 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Perhaps this is the lot of the human race: to ask questions, to either trust that our big thinkers or our holy books have the answers or to rely on an approach of our own. I suppose that to live well is to seek truth, whether it is to be found or not. Certainly not at the bottom of a pumpkin spice latte. 😉 Thank you, Mia for opening the door to this conversation. And hoping you are enjoying your day, although I think Columbus is a destroyer of worlds! Oh my god, I’ll stop now!

        Liked by 3 people

        1. Agreed, *laughing* not found at the bottom of a pumpkin spice latte. Maybe just being a “thinker” is reward in itself, although at times a struggle, as Vic mentioned. Thank you Meg, for sharing your thoughts, a gift of conversation is always a pleasure. Oh yes, Columbus, indeed one of many. I can’t help but think of “universal man” as being the “universal destroyer” if left unchecked. Please, never stop, your words are always a delight. 🙂

          Liked by 2 people

  2. I’ve been thinking these questions for a few years now and I waver between thinking that I absolutely need the answers to thinking that it doesn’t much matter. Lovely post, Mia. I think a lot of people struggle here.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Vic, thank you for your kindness and wonderful words. I don’t feel so alone having these thoughts now. 🙂 I do the same thing, struggle with sorting out an answer, and when none is to be found I put them to rest, *shrugging* it doesn’t matter. Darn, these questions come back again! 🙂 Wishing you a very happy Columbus Day! ~ Mia

      Like

    2. Hi Vic, my comment on your poem, “That Ass Though!” went into your spam. Can you please approve and release it. This has been going on for a couple of days now. I remember that you had the same issue, how were you able to correct this? I’ve contacted both WP and Akismet, hopefully it will be resolved relatively soon. Thank you for your help. Have a great Tuesday. ~ Mia

      Like

          1. It did and I didn’t really do anything besides plead with everyone to let me out of their spam. When I e-mailed WP, they were less than helpful but it just sort of stopped happening. It’s so frustrating though!

            Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Mr. Cake. No, I haven’t read it, fearful it would put me into a deeper spin! Have you read it, and if so what did you come away with? Please share, did you find the answers to predestination and free will? ~ Miss Cranes

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes I have read it (in translation of course). It is a beautiful book that introduced the idea of the wheel of fortune. Boethius wrote it in prison after a brilliant career when he had fallen out with the Visigoth Emperor Theodoric ( I think).and was awaiting execution. It has a lot to say on free will and predestination, from a classical Christian perspective but Boethius is a particularly compassionate and urbane Christian.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Mr. Cake, how is your Latin? If I’m correct Boethius stepped away from Christianity to address these questions/ideas taking on of a more philosophical approach. (Because of the avid book collectors of the past, I may have the book here, I will give a look.) Thank you for sharing this bit of information, now very appealing.

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Miss Cranes you are of course completely correct, it is The Consolation of Philosophy.
            It was one of the most important books for over a thousand years, the Wheel of Fortune is a beautiful image, however its stoic acceptance in the face of death, it eruditions, it in un self pitying tone are a million miles away from today’s culture. I have no Latin Miss Cranes, I am quite ignorant.

            Liked by 1 person

          1. I may be one of the few and I find it incredibly offensive, the quaint affirmation. This is a belief I hold dear and true, if you have to tell me how wonderful everything is, obviously it’s not. One of the reasons I love the poem, “The Genius Of The Crowd”.

            Liked by 1 person

          2. Thank you for checking the poem out. It reminds me in many ways of your reference about writing “white”. I’m reading your post now along with the links, it may be tomorrow that you see my comment.

            Liked by 1 person

  3. Faith and fate a nice puzzle.
    I think they are very broad concepts that everyone has their own opinion about.

    When something happens we do not know where to give us an answer we say that it was fate.

    When we succeed in something that is impossible to say have faith.

    I think that life is a mystery.

    *** (I hope my English is sufficient enough for me to understand since the depth of the article)

    You are an artist your articles are interesting and deep I love you and I wish you well.

    Kiss from Rome ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Soul, your English is beautiful. Thank you for your lovely comment. I think you’re right, everyone has an opinion on these broad concepts. You’ve broken it down wonderfully, “…it was fate” and “…have faith”. At times I find them closely related, and other times miles apart. Life most definitely is a mystery, which make it exciting. Although it’s already Monday evening for you, I want to wish you a terrific week. I love you and wish you well too. ~ Mia ❤ xo

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you dear, for the kind words I love what you write and comments.

        Here the night around me, but I take the side with my imagination.

        Good start to the week and let us dream and think again with your articles.
        LOVE to YOU ❤

        Soul.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Soul, I love your comment, thank you. Indeed our dreams wait for us, taking us places not possible in the waking world, they are full of magic. The evening’s darkness has just taken over here, yet still many hours before dreams captivate my mind. Wishing you a fantastic Tuesday! Always much love for you. ~ Mia ❤

          Liked by 1 person

  4. Hi Mia! I have the same questions apparently as a lot of your readers, so it’s great not to be alone. 😉 For my part I tend to slog ahead seeking to make my destiny, no doubt fulfilling my fate. Thank you for a great read. Daniel

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Daniel, I always enjoy seeing your words and reading the thoughts that you share, thank you. It’s encouraging for me also, to see that I’m not alone with these ideas. This is beautiful, “I tend to slog ahead seeking to make my destiny, no doubt fulfilling my fate.” Please enjoy your week ahead. Take care ~ Mia

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Hi Daniel, may I ask you to please check your spam. I believe my comments are going there. Curious, the comments completely disappear when I hit “post comment”. Please approve them if you find them in there, thank you.

      I hope that you are enjoying your day. Thank you. ~ Mia

      Like

    1. Hi Charlie, thank you, glad you like the question. Discussions about the ideas surrounding time are always intriguing, and ones that I love. In theory time exists, in reality it’s unstable. So truly we can say our tomorrow is really is our yesterday. Think loop. If we think loop, we can justify the idea of time travel, yet the word “time” in time travel is completely inaccurate! 😉 Speaking of travel, I will be over to visit you tomorrow. Please have a wonderful evening Charlie. ~ Mia

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I trust you’re having a marvelous day, Mia, full of wonder and awe. I’ve no idea what the question means but, as Chekhov nearly said, the task is the ask the question not provide the answers. Also, a man’s character is his fate, as Augie March quotes from Heraclitus at the outset of his adventures, and I do believe this may also apply to women, although both (probably) Heraclitus and (certainly) Saul Bellow had some issues with gender. I do hope this assists. I hope your time continues to pass swimmingly. Nick

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Nick! Thank you for a wonderful comment. I am still having a marvelous day, oh yes, full of wonder and awe. How was your Monday? I hope it was marvelous too! Gosh, I think we should never stop asking questions, it is the roll of the artist. Don’t you think Heraclitus had it right? Gender issue, that way we can place all the blame on… 😉 Nick, have a terrific Tuesday, I suspect your day will be half over as I arrive on the scene. Please take good care. ~ Mia 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Heraclitus had a point, given he was a man. Tuesday was terrific, full of terror and weirdness. I will indeed take good care. You, likewise, take very great care – it’s dog eat dog out there.

        Liked by 1 person

  6. wow. beautiful hundred words. i feel though that neither fate nor faith can rule each other because they are two independent concepts like gods that rule their territories in different behaviors and styles, and in opposite worlds. just my two cents. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. bingskee, thank you for a wonderful comment. It’s an interesting relationship, fate and faith, some feel that they are connected and some feel they are completely separate. I like your idea here, “gods that rule their territories in different behaviors and styles, and in opposite worlds”.

      Please enjoy the rest of your week, take good care. ~ Mia 🙂

      Like

  7. Fate ..as it answers to a past faith and thus faith promising a fate some time away!
    They aren’t entangled..but what I believe they are too complimentary but much less synchronized ..and hence an apparent puzzle!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Mridul bedi, thank you for sharing your thoughts. Fate and faith are very much a puzzle. Perhaps in this instance they are more abstract, transcending the past, present and future. I think at times they truly compliment each other and at times can be quite at odds with each other. My hope is that they coexist in harmony, for me that would be ideal. Please have a wonderful rest of the week, take good care. ~ Mia

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Here you go again, Mia, making my brain wrestle with thought, but this time I feel like I might be in the spin cycle also. I was mapping today and have three “conclusions”: Is this all there is? What is the meaning of all this? It is what we make of it. Part of the map is influenced by a TED talk about the structure of brains and how they are more “jello” than solid. All that banging in the cell I read about up the thread would have a brain moving like a jelly fish getting hit with a hammer. I think faith and fate might be a little like that in that we kind of move between the two depending on the way we feel after being struck by the life hammer. It is what we make of it… Then again, I have no idea. That’s why I sleep so well. Rest up and ponder again tomorrow… Be well. -Chris

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Chris. Great, “brain wrestle with thought”, glad I could help. I like your mapping, all three are excellent questions, answerable, I don’t know. The brain analogy is wonderful, especially the visual with the jelly fish and the hammer! I like the idea of moving between the two, life’s influences certainly plays a role on how we view fate and faith at any give moment, and of course subject to change with our moods. Wishing you a wonderful Wednesday, take care. ~ Mia

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Mia, my first thought is faith is beyond fate. We maybe fated to be in a certain place at certain times. Or to die at a certain time. But faith is a gift, and when we have faith in God, in his son, it is a gift of grace given to us. No matter what we did in life, for faith in Christ we are forgiven and go to heaven when we’re called home to God to heaven. Ultimately God is the keeper of our fate and so I think with faith in Him, we need not worry. But that is my opinion. Have a great week Mia.

    Amanda

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Amanda, thank you for sharing a lovely comment. I find a lot of comfort in what you’ve expressed, when we hold on to faith it really doesn’t matter what direction or path fate takes us. Wishing you a wonderful week too. Take good care. ~ Mia 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

