The Hanged Man

Photographer Kristamas Klousch

 

The Hanged Man


There are no maps
To get you from here to there.
Don’t waste your time
Chasing fortunes
Found in ghosts.
The story’s penned
In Tea Leaves
And sidewalk cracks.
Freedom hides in the corners
Of dark closets;
Fearful,
Of what’s under the bed.

 

“Freedom is the only worthy goal in life. It is won by disregarding things that lie beyond our control.”  
― Epictetus                                                                                                               Witness

The Raconteurs — “Old Enough”                                                                            Expert

The Hanged Man, considered to be the most mysterious of the Tarot cards.

88 thoughts on “The Hanged Man

    1. Thank you Michael, for your kind words. I think that line gives rise to the question, do we hold ourselves back? Briefly, The Hanged Man card explores control and surrender when at crossroads, hopefully resulting in a better understanding of self. Wishing you a lovely day. ~ Mia

      Liked by 1 person

  1. In fact the paper of the Tarot cards symbolizes a sacrifice, an unfavorable condition to endure, to achieve a goal.
    You are fantastic and magical reminds me of the movie The Ninth door with J.Depp directed by Roman Polanski.
    Love to you ❤

    Soul

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, and in the sacrifice the victor is born. I love that movie, and all the symbolism. Also, I like the darkness and the creative visions of Roman Polanski, one can certainly understand where a lot of that comes from. The first Polanski movie I watched was his, “Macbeth”.

      Wishing you a magical day. Much love to you, Mia ❤

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Kurtis, for a cool comment. The guy in the top hat is Jack White, one of my favorite musicians. Yes, he does look like Johnny Depp in the movie “Dead Man”. Jack’s brilliant, so I’m quite sure it was planned, especially because the movie is called “Dead Man” and you can interpret the song and video to be about the Tarot card, The Hanged Man, which is depicted on the corset.

      Wishing you a wonderful and creative week. Take care. ~ Mia

      Liked by 1 person

          1. Oh, nice. Yeah, you can do a lot with the ukulele. I’m still working my best to try to get better so I can focus on putting more soul into my playing. I usually play with standard GCEA tuning. I have a baritone too and sometimes I will switch the tuning on that from DGBE to EEBE and play Delta Style walking bass blues with a slide. Corey Harris got me into that style.

            Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Chris, thank you for sharing your wonderful insight, spot on. There are many ways to Philadelphia, I like that. The journey is diverse and ongoing. Hopefully we don’t become complacent and lazy along the way. We should continue to question and evaluate the path we’re on, and not let fear hold us back from making a change in our course. Wishing you a wonderful day, take care. ~ Mia

      Liked by 1 person

        1. Good for you, truly I mean it. Mine, hmm… it’s coming along, all the things I didn’t take into consideration are now an afterthought, which means being so flexible and changing things as I need to in order to accommodate for the bigger picture. I’m having a great time doing it, which makes me think of a song by The Kills, “Doing it to Death”, ha-ha!

          This may not be for you, but it certainly is for me. Have a great afternoon Rob!

          Like

  2. Love this. About the ‘other world’ the after life. Perhaps, something we shouldn’t seek until it’s our time. I like how you write about it being difficult to get there for those living who try. I enjoyed the line about ‘tea leaves’ and ‘side walk cracks’ that perhaps it’s only lore, only silly superstitions there and we don’t know what’s next. Great job Mia.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Mandi, thank you so much, I love your thoughts. That’s so true, we never really know what’s coming next, it’s all part of the journey. I often wonder how much truth there is to folklore, sometimes I think a lot, sometimes I think only a little. Wishing you a wonderful day. ~ Mia

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You as well Mia. I think sometimes all that folklore and after life stuff is meant for us to ponder. For me christianity gives me hope (I grew up Luthern) but even then, I believe we are always meant to ask questions and wonder. To think not merely accept.

        Have a lovely week to Mia 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Thank you Mandi, for a lovely reply. Like you, I find it interesting to give thought and consideration to ideas and traditions that may be different from my own. At times thinking about these things can be a springboard to creativity. I agree with you 100%, we are meant to ask and wonder.

          Mandi, please enjoy your week too. 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Andrew, for such kind words. Agreed, challenges always exist and they can be very frightening, as change often is. I think for those that realize this, the fear doesn’t paralyze, but instead motivates. As they say, if the journey was easy, what would be the point?

      I hope you’re doing well, and taking it easy. Always wishing you and Allie the very best. ~ Mia

      Liked by 1 person

      1. The evening is lovely thus far and as peaceful as it can be, all things considering. I will read more of your blog as time goes on and allows. I just wanted you to know I very much enjoy the blog and what I have read thus far.

        Have an amazing evening.

        Cheers! ^_^

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Thank you, how nice of you to let me know. I was just reading, “Nova Daniels #3: Silent Suffering”. I think I need to start at #1, looking for it presently. Please continue to enjoy, and thank you for the amazing evening wishes.

          Liked by 1 person

  3. This is one of my favorites of yours Mia!! I threw away the “maps” a long time ago. My life has not been easy, but it has definitely been more interesting and rewarding. On a side note , I lived in Detroit for many years and was a part of the local music scene. Jack White is one of my absolute favorites and I love that you adore his music too! Have an amazing week!! – Lola 🌺

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Lola for a lovely comment and your kind words. I’m with you on the “maps”, they have proven to be most useless, because nothing stays the same. 😉 I’m laughing, but honestly, I thought Jack could walk on water. All kidding aside, he is beyond talented and I’m pleased to know that you adore him too. Wishing you an amazing week as well.
      ~ Mia

      Like

  4. Mia you are such an easy poetess….you create magic of reality so easily in ur words that it compels me to say …Impeccable. Its always a treat to read ur blog…always intriguing always captivating 🙂
    ‘The Hanged man’ is an apt title to it. It kinda reminded me of Woody Allen’s ‘If you want to make God laugh, tell him about your plans.’

    “The story’s penned
    In Tea Leaves
    And sidewalk cracks”….beautiful!

    Loved that Klousch’s piece and Epictetus’s quote is divine, the utmost meaningful thing ‘Freedom’

    Keep posting Mia….Your work is always a treat :)….Have a good time

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you Saaransh, you’re so generous and gracious with your words, I’m truly humbled. Woody Allen, so true. 🙂 I would definitely cause a storm of laughter if I shared my plans. 😉 I can’t seem to stay away from the photographs of Klousch, they really speak to me. “Freedom” is such and interesting concept and ultimately most desirable. Thank you again, please enjoy the rest of your week, and have a good time as well. Take care. ~ Mia

      Liked by 1 person

        1. Saaransh, I literally laugh at myself daily. I can’t take myself too seriously, I’ve got to have some wiggle room, otherwise what would be the point to the vast mystery that surrounds me?

          Yes, I’m a huge fan of photography, some capture events that can stand the test of time. I think this is remarkable, being in the right place at the right time, “click”. 🙂

          It’s so good to hear from you. I hope you are doing well also. Please enjoy the rest of your weekend, take good care. 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

  5. Freedom ~ such a noble quest to undertake, and as you seem to so perfect say with your words, freedom is never easy to find and perhaps even more difficult to hold. There are too many challenges and fears in life, so for us as individuals have to work/earn the freedom. There will be those who fail and to give into the fear and in essence, give up. I love pondering your words Mia ~ wish you a great day ahead.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Randall, thank you for sharing some marvelous insights and very kind words. I want to believe that freedom is both a state of mind and a state of being, both are subject to change, and as you stated, “difficult to hold”. I don’t believe the desire for freedom should be taken off the table just because it’s hard to reach. Agreed, there are those that will take on the fears and challenges pushing forward, and some sadly will give up and settle for the status quo.

      Bluntly, and I hope not to offend, I think the journey towards for some form of freedom maybe found in self-realizations and weeding out the nonsense.

      Thank you for the nice wishes. Likewise, wishing you well, I hope that you enjoy the rest of your week. Take good care. ~ Mia

      Like

      1. Mia, I think what you say about the desire for freedom not being taken off the table just because it is hard to reach is so important to understand. Too many people, even myself at times, can succumb to the status quo and kid themselves all is fine. Tragic when it happens, but this is when self-realization steps in and onwards with the battle for freedom. 🙂 There is a lot out there in the world that can bog us down, and it’s part of the nonsense, part of the game I suppose. Enjoy the rest of the week and take care. ~

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Soul, for the lovely wishes. Wishing you a brilliant weekend too, may it be filled with much magic and creative inspiration.

      Always great admiration and friendship, much love to you,

      Mia ❤ xo

      Like

  6. This poem is eerie, spooky, dark,but true. I feel like this all the time. I pay the price for being a unbridled free spirit. I lose friends, money and hair, just because I dont want people to tread on me, or control me.

    Bravo.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Vinny, thank you for your kind words and insightful comment. True, not being controlled by others requires the strength and ability to say “NO”. I applaud you for being an unbridled free spirit. Please enjoy the rest of your week. ~ Mia

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Heyyyyy Mia, another great piece. You really have a way of bringing it all together with the images, poems and music videos. This one’s no different.
    It made me think of a couple of different things. First of all, the idea of freedom. I think that many would define freedom as having no boundaries, when really, true freedom is found within the constraints of boundaries. Imagine if humans has no boundaries. OMG! That would be total chaos, wouldn’t it? Hahaha. And I guess that freedom can be broken down into different sub-divisions. Like emotional freedom, moral freedom, physical freedom, material freedom, etc. At any rate, there is no real true freedom, without there being boundaries, don’t you think? And what a great quote by Epictetus. So hard to let go of control, but so necessary.
    Also, it made me think of the phases and stages we go through in life. I say this because I have a friend here that is at the beginning of her adult life journey, and there are things that she is struggling with and trying to figure out. We are close, and she shares a lot with me, being that her first language is English, and she didn’t grow up in Brazil. It’s interesting to see how I can really speak into her life, just because of my own life experiences. I mention this because of the whole ‘crossroads’ thing. I’ve gone through a few myself, and I think everybody does. You know, the stages and phases of our lives. Am I making any sense? Hahaha.
    At any rate, BRAVO Mia. Hope you are having a great start to your week, and that the rest of it is wonderful.
    Take care.
    🙂 ❤

    Like

    1. Staci, thank you, you’re always so kind, and understand what’s going through my mind. 🙂 I agree, is there absolute freedom in our existence, I don’t think so. It’s within boundaries that we are able to enjoy these freedoms, and at times we need to fight to protect them. In my mind no boundaries equals anarchy. I also agree there are many different types of freedom. Ha-ha, control! I think the older we get, and hopefully wiser we become, we realize that there is actually little that we can truly control. It is hard to let go, and of being in charge of everything, or as I like to say, being CEO of the world. Letting go offers a lot of freedom in many ways.

      You are making sense, we do go though many stages and come upon a lot of crossroads. Your friend is very blessed to have you and your wisdom in her life. We all travel the same path, some say no, but I wonder if their eyes are open. I think the ultimate intention is for us to experience difficulties at times in order to build a foundation that allows us to make smart and better decisions in the future. I’m hopeful that this makes sense.

      Thank you again Staci. I hope you’re having a wonderful week too, enjoy. Take good care. ~ Mia 🙂 ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hi Mia, anarchy is the perfect word for that. Couldn’t agree with you more.
        You are so right in saying that the older we get, the more we realize that there is very little we control. What a great expression @being CEO of the world. That’s hilarious actually. Being that I am homeschooling my Aspie son, we have been focusing largely on the solar system and space for the past couple of weeks. It has really been a humbling experience to realize once again, and even more so, just how tiny we little humans are. Scientist figure that there are billions of galaxies out there, and even in light of our place in the Milky Way, we are just so incredibly tiny. And we think we’re so smart. Hahaha. ‘CEO of the world’. I certainly wouldn’t want that job.
        ‘We all travel the same path, some say no, but I wonder if their eyes are open.”
        –Me too. We place such great importance on being individual and unique (and we are), but we really are all the same too. We all travel the same path, even though our clothes may be different. My last post touches on that actually. The bigger questions in life have always been and will always be the same.
        Take care Mia, and please enjoy the rest of your Friday.
        🙂 ❤

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Staci, glad you like that one. It is funny, but we do the CEO thing, until it becomes so uncomfortable, and letting becomes a better fit. Studying the solar system and space is most definitely a humbling experience. I wonder all the time how significant we are as a race, and I’ve come to the conclusion, not really. We are important and significant in our own circles, but the big picture like the Universe, definitely not. What has the human race been able to contribute? Nothing, please enlighten me if I’m missing something. Oh wait, I know, space junk and debris, yes that’s it! 😦 But truly anything monumental? Part of me has this idea that we are so careless with and about our existence, result: we wipe ourselves out over and over, never learning our mistakes or our lessons, hmm…

          Staci, you post is right up my alley. So many questions, some of us spend our lives in faithful pursuit of the purest answers. Maybe it’s not in this realm that we truly understand what those answers are. So here’s one for you, if we find the answers on the other side, why are so many afraid of the trip that waits for us? It’s sort of a win-win, my point being whether you look at your departure from a religious or scientific stand, the soul is our essence, our energy.

          “Energy cannot be created or destroyed, it can only be changed from one form to another.”
          — Albert Einstein

          What that tells me, we continue to exist in another form while we depart on another journey. Well, I certainly rambled on, please feel free to debunk or enlighten my views.

          Please have a fabulous weekend Staci, take good care of yourself and your family. 🙂 ❤

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Mia, thank you so much for such a great response. So much here.
            “Oh wait, I know, space junk and debris, yes that’s it! ”
            –Love it. Yes, it’s true. You know, I remember Culture Monk posting once about cars. He was being sarcastic about it; people riding around in big metal boxes and all. hahaha.
            “So many questions, some of us spend our lives in faithful pursuit of the purest answers. Maybe it’s not in this realm that we truly understand what those answers are.”
            –This really hits home for me Mia. I say that because of my own personal experience with my faith, questions and struggles. A couple years back I started to doubt a lot, and it was really bothering me. I remember praying and getting all anxious about it. One day, I just started crying. Not tears of sadness, but tears of peace. It was as if God was assuring me that everything was going to be ok. Like he was saying, “I know how you’re feeling, and it’s ok. Just know that you will never understand it all, and that’s ok. I’m in control.
            It’s as if I needed to get to that place of accepting that there are just some things that are beyond human comprehension. Like existing outside of the parameters of time and space. Infinity and eternity. That boggles my mind. So hard to comprehend.
            Anyhow, I ‘ve just gone on and on here. Hahaha.
            Take good care Mia and enjoy the rest of your week.
            🙂 ❤

            Liked by 1 person

          2. You’re most welcome Staci, always my pleasure, truly! The cycle of struggle. I think the healthy mind asks questions, re-evaluates, moves forward and in time repeats this process. If we don’t, we become stagnant, we don’t absorb any new information or fine-tune our beliefs. Letting go is very difficult and even when we think we have, sometimes the need to control feelings creep back in. I was so happy to read, “tears of peace”. Isn’t that what we all long for?

            It is mind-boggling and “beyond human comprehension”. After we lose our footing here, will we be privileged to know and understand it all?

            Thank you, please enjoy the rest of your week too, take good care Staci. 🙂 ❤

            Liked by 1 person

          3. Oh yes, it is a cycle, isn’t it? I think there are also a lot of people that just try and snuff out the big questions because of fear. I remember when I was a child, and when I would think of death, it scared the heck out of me. I would just snuff those thoughts out and try not to think of them. Obviously I don’t do that anymore, but I would imagine that there are a ton of people that do.
            I hope you’re having a lovely Friday Mia, and please have a great weekend.
            🙂 ❤

            Liked by 1 person

          4. Staci, I think you’ve stated this so perfectly, “a lot of people that just try and snuff out the big questions because of fear”. Truly do they do themselves any favors? Such opportunities for growth and understanding of the big picture are missed. This is my way of thinking, what does that say, ha-ha?

            Thank you, wishing you a lovely Friday as well, and a great weekend too! 🙂 ❤

            Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

