An Extempore Romance

Alice Liddell (1852-1934) dressed up as a beggar-maid. Photograph by Lewis Carroll (1858).

 

An Extempore Romance
10 Words Only


“Alice, even a broken heart still beats”, said the Queen.

 

“Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality.”
― Lewis Carroll, Alice in Wonderland
                                                            Dramatic

Jefferson Airplane – “White Rabbit”

The video clip is from the 1903 British silent film, Alice in Wonderland, directed by Cecil Hepworth and Percy Stow.  It’s the first cinematic adaptation of Lewis Carroll‘s children’s book, Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland.

115 thoughts on “An Extempore Romance

  1. I’m always amazed by the early film makers and how they conveyed the fantastic. I think that the first fantasy/sci-fi silent film I had seen was Georges Méliès Trip to the Moon. It was like reading a storybook. Thanks for sharing the video!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Rob, I agree, silent films are amazing. I find they often have such a strange and surreal feel to them. I’m pleased that you liked the video, it was so damaged, I think that’s part of the charm of this one in particular. Thank you for sharing your kind words. Please take care, enjoy your week. ~ Mia

      Liked by 1 person

      1. They truly are, and to a similar extent, black and white films in general. When I watch a film, I want to be taken away from reality to a strange and wonderful place. The Petrified Forest, although not silent, brings me to a similar place.

        Liked by 1 person

          1. Rob, strange that you should say that I was thinking, “Glasgow smile” when the gesture was made. In the beginning the young man is sent to the Iron Lady, it looks like some kind of torture device, not a fun one. Like a coffin. Am I watching the correct film? Ha-ha!!!

            Liked by 1 person

          2. Yes, I was mistaken and thought that you were watching the film Iron Lady, about Maggie Thatcher! My bad. Yes, in The Man Who Laughs the lead character – Gwynplaine – is the son of a man who is sent to the iron lady. The cruelty is in what happens to Gwynplaine. I hope that you like it!

            Liked by 1 person

  2. Imagination is everything …

    What is now proved was once only imagined.
    by William Blake.

    I hope your weekend was cool and pleasant, now I wish you a good start to the week with love, friendship and sympathy to you my best regards ❤

    Soul.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Soul, thank you for a wonderful comment. What would we do without imagination? Perfect quote by Blake. I find there is so much truth to it, if you can imagine it or think it up, you can work to bring it into existence.

      Yes, thank you, the weekend was pleasant, no, it’s still hot. I hope that you enjoyed your weekend and are off to a good week as well. Always wishing you the very best. Much love, Mia ❤

      Liked by 1 person

          1. I have actually moved the time ahead in several clocks in the house, I’m really that bad. Not kidding at all! I stopped wearing a watch completely, I found it useless, it just caused a lot more stress.

            Liked by 1 person

    1. Gosh Mr. Cake, I would hope to think I could. Ah, so you would indeed be familiar with the story of Alice Liddell and Carroll’s marvelous migraines, just to mention a few interesting items. Hope all is well with you. ~ Mia (Whoops, Copper)

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I am familiar and I am sure you can guess correctly…everything about the Alice books haunts me, an amazing example of a hugely popular children’s book that reaches subconscious depths that others have tried and failed to plumb.

        Liked by 1 person

          1. Agreed a baffling and complex character, who was surrounded by controversy. Does that make the real and fictional Alice all the more endearing, quite possibly so, definitely most interesting.

            Have you ever written anything solely based on Alice?

            Liked by 1 person

  3. So fun and clever Mia!! The video is mesmerizing , and Grace Slicks voice adds to the adventure in a most charming and esoteric way. I hope you have an amazing week! – Lola

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Lola, for your lovely thoughts. The video is mesmerizing, it almost has a hypnotic quality to it. I have no idea what the film looked like before it was damaged, but it’s still fun to watch. I can’t think about Alice or the White Rabbit for that matter, without thinking about Grace Slick, impossible. Thank you again, wishing you an amazing week too. Take good care. ~ Mia

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Chris. I know what got you, it got me too. If you get a chance to look at images of Carroll’s photography, I think you might be surprised, it almost makes me wonder if his work influenced her in any way. That could be a huge leap, and not all the photos look like Mann’s work, but…I’m kind of curious what you think, now that I’ve looked closely at his work again, the style and settings are very similar, and what’s more there are some Sally Mann photos mixed in with his photos.

      I’m glad that you enjoyed the video, it is fun and surreal. Have a great week too, take care. ~ Mia

      Here is the link I used, long as it is:
      https://www.google.com/search?hl=en&site=imghp&tbm=isch&source=hp&biw=1551&bih=843&q=lewis+carroll%27s+photography&oq=lewis+carroll%27s+photography&gs_l=img.3

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you for the link, Mia. I’m thinking that their equipment is very similar which contributes greatly to the mood of their work, but seeing the Mann photo of her daughter and the one you posted from Carroll, the girls have the same gaze…it’s an eerie look. Anyway, thank you for the link, here’s one for you about Carroll that brings up issues he and Mann both dealt with.
        http://www.smithsonianmag.com/arts-culture/lewis-carrolls-shifting-reputation-9432378/

        Liked by 1 person

        1. You’re welcome Chris, and thank you, a very interesting article. I think it has been very difficult for Mann at times, while she has been true to her vision, I watched an interview video that reduced her to tears. Take care Chris. ~ Mia

          Liked by 1 person

    1. Cake, you should really consider writing a post. There are so many directions to go in, I think it would be marvelous. Are the stars in alignment? What do the cards say? What would Freud say? Even better what would Alice Liddell say? I often wonder how much she missed Uncle Charles, or if she even missed him at all.

      Liked by 1 person

        1. Oh, all the broken hearts! Please find your Cake Angle. (How many sides to a Cake Angle?) I’m looking forward to reading, “Mirror Mirror”. You should just post me a link, *wink*. It will be in a little while, holding back the river presently. ~ Mia

          Liked by 1 person

          1. No broken hearts, the world can probably wait for my interpretation of Alice. Please tell me how to easily send a link, I have done it but it always takes me about an hour to do. I am not great at social media

            Liked by 1 person

  4. Mia. I have to say I really enjoyed that music video. I’ve never listened closely that that song, I guess just assumed it was about drugs. Very interesting though, as is the line you share. Hearts break but still beat. From the Red Queen this is a funny line to hear. But in life, and I suppose in Wonderland, the line has truth 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Mandi for a wonderful comment and for sharing your thoughts. “White Rabbit” is a fantastic song, I think Grace Slick was so very clever, she was able to write a song seemingly about drugs, yet it speaks to many other things too. 😉 I’ve always wondered if there was any heartache or heartbreak experienced by Alice Liddell after her relationship with Lewis Carroll was terminated. Yes, would you ever expect the Red Queen to be so kind? I think it is true, the heart continues to beat regardless of what life offers up. Wishing you a terrific Wednesday. Take good care. ~ Mia

      Liked by 1 person

  5. This is haunting in the best way, and this story . . . has such a deep place in my heart. When I was little I thought it was “Allison Wonderland.” 🙂

    Thank you for this enchantment, Mia. Wishing you a most inspired day.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Hey Mia,
    U even know how contagious ur posts always are ?….full of everything one cud long for or love.
    I admire the choice of creative pieces u pull together…wonderful 🙂

    1903 flick is so captivating. I have always wondered how they did it 😮

    ‘An Extempore Romance’ is profound heart soluble piece…. majestic

    Keep posting Mia…have a great day ahead 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Saaransh, you are always so kind. I enjoy putting the posts together, my hope is that they are cohesive and my ideas are fluid. I agree, the film is captivating, old silent movies are amazing, they have such a different feel, most surreal.

      Saaransh, I’m looking forward to your next post, along with more of your beautiful artwork. Please enjoy the rest of your week. Take good care. ~ Mia 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes ‘Cohesive’, my unsaid word for your work …I love it..keep them coming 🙂
        Agree, those silent movies r dearly lovable, they carry essence of art with them.
        I hope u like my next post and it can receive ur gracious words, as always…and it shall happen soon 😀
        Take care Mia…enjoy ur day 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  7. I really love silent films, and was fortunate in a lifetime away to know the ultimate connoisseur of them all. He gave me some rare gems, that I have to this day. Thank you for taking me to that appreciation level of people I have known and gems I possess. If you ever want to read the about silents from the greatest, let me know, i own it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Daniel, thank you for a marvelous comment. The silent films are magical. Not sure exactly who is the “ultimate connoisseur”, there are a couple that come to mind. Do you by chance have any gems (copies) from the MGM vault fire? Wishing you a wonderful week. ~ Mia

      Like

      1. I have copies of many of the works that Bobby talks about in his last book. He would bring me a copy almost weekly at our meetings. He was an incredible person. Thanks again for reminding me in a wonderful way about him, and his silent films, with your piece.

        Liked by 1 person

  8. Oh how I love a good Alice/White Rabbit reference. I too have ventured into Wonderland at JMC813. My tale was a shattered sequel as Alice fids herself many years later down that same damned hole. Take a look if and when you like. It’s titled “Rabbit Hole”. Be well Mia. So glad to have made your acquaintance for our mutual love of words.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Delighted to read that, thank you John. Poor, poor Alice to be in the same place many years later! Definitely headed over to read, “Rabbit Hole” now. My pleasure to have made your acquaintance as well, and share our love of words. Take care. ~ Mia

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

