Seventeen Sixty-three

Large jar containing smallpox vaccine — Unknown Photographer

 

Seventeen Sixty-three


Lies are hidden
Within the wide berth
Of the El and the Eyes.
Night’s naïve rhapsody:
Echoes, a distant beating drum,
Lub-dud, lub-dub.
Quieted by the deceptive mirth:
Of ill-rest and diseased conscience;
Allowing the plague —
Hatred, to set-in.
Infecting souls:
Baptizing with burlap and wool;
Burns — a brackish rite pool.

 

“I have never made but one prayer to God, a very short one: Oh Lord, make my enemies ridiculous. And God granted it.”
― Voltaire (Letter to Étienne Noël Damilaville, May 16, 1767)           
Punishment

Nirvana cover of the Meat Puppets’, “Lake of Fire                               Sanctuary

83 thoughts on “Seventeen Sixty-three

  1. Mia,

    1763 poem is a gem. It has so much history packed within few lines and the distasteful act of biological warfare is beautifully hinted within each accompanying artifact.

    I happened to read a lot about the injustice against the Native Americans while preparing a few years ago to teach a novel called “The Absolute True Diary of a Part-Time Indian”. How cruel can we, humans, be during a time of war.

    Please enjoy a beautiful week!
    Love, Dajena ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dearest Dajena,

      Agreed, it’s so distasteful that I decided not to include the communication between Amherst and Bouquet, although excellent documentation of a planned act of genocide (as are empty canisters of Zyklon B). I find this act is absolutely unthinkable, it took place long before the Geneva Conventions and The Hague Conventions. Although now days, none of these conventions seem to matter anymore.

      I’m glad that you were able to teach to, “The Absolute True Diary of a Part-Time Indian”, it’s my understanding that it had been banned from some schools. Mankind can surely be the greatest beast on the planet. Thank you for sharing your words and thoughts. I’m going to repeat this again, I love how you always know the direction that I take my writing.

      Thank you, wishing you a beautiful week as well and a cooler one too! Have fun, enjoy!

      Love,

      Mia ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Mia,
        I completely agree with your choice of not including that conversation, it does leave a bitter taste in the mouth after thinking carefully about it.

        It is so sad that even our own conventions we refuse to follow. The need to follow greed takes over the desire for goodwill towards all.

        The PTI novel, is one of the novels my students love the most. Myself and other teachers have worked hard to keep it available for them. It is hard to go against double standards that our
        education offers but that is why I want to keep teaching. So I can fight for my students’ rights even when I know the end will not be that happy.

        we are having ocean breeze over here through Black Mountain Canion. Love it!!

        Wishing you a happy day!
        ❤ Love, Dajena

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Dajena, I don’t like to censor myself, yet in order to avoid capitalizing on the dialogue, I felt it was best not shared. A very valid point that you’ve addressed, often I feel like I’m the only one watching the slow boat sink, what happened, and where is the goodwill towards all?

          Your students are very lucky to have you as an advocate. Those that fight the fight do so without hesitation, they step up, while the whispered chant of the crowd is heard, “let someone else will do it”.

          “It is dangerous to be right in matters on which the established authorities are wrong.”
          ― Voltaire

          You are probably very familiar with this quote, your words brought it to mind.

          I’m envious that you have a breeze, it’s completely still here, the air should start moving by this afternoon. A happy day to you too!

          Much love,

          Mia ❤

          Like

  2. An extremely thought provoking piece Mia. The quote is fantastic and Kurt’s raw and powerful voice is always something special to witness. I hope you have not been effected by the wildfires. Have an amazing day! – Lola

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lola, thank you so much for your gracious words. Voltaire never lets me down, and Kurt, what can I say? I think he did a fantastic job with “Lake of Fire”. I’m good, thank you for asking. Wishing you an amazing day too! Please take good care and enjoy your week.
      ~ Mia

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Nothing strikes me but the word Beautiful for 1763

    ‘…Quieted by the deceptive mirth:
    Of ill-rest and diseased conscience;
    Allowing the plague —
    Hatred, to set-in.
    Infecting souls..’ ….applause 😀

    Hate is a plague …so true, but I think its not gonna die, at least the history don’t suggest. Though we should keep trying with love in our heart and perhaps a little strumming of Guitar, like Cobain.

    And Voltaire is the most pleasant to be heard always.
    Mia. u r a wonderful- wonderful poetess ..I have high regards for ur work…keep rocking ..take care 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Saaransh for sharing such wonderful words, I’m honored and humbled by them.

      It does seem to be a plague, and history has given no indication that this sickness is going to be cured in the near future, so true. We do keep moving forward, holding on to hope, love, and of course music, which sooths the soul. Cobain seems to pop up when I need him.

      I’m a big fan of Voltaire, his words are so profound. I’m really pleased that you enjoyed this effort.

      Please have a wonderful week and take good care. ~ Mia 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m presuming you like Hemingway, a generous thank you is in order, “THANK YOU”. I truly appreciate your words, you’re always so gracious. Wishing you well, please enjoy the rest of your day. ~ Mia

      Like

  4. You always make such quality pieces, always well worth the wait, splitting my mind in half deciphering all the meanings. Also, haven’t heard this song in ages. The meat puppets were a historically messed up band.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ted, thank you! You’re so wonderful. You know I love the lyrics to the song, “Lake of Fire”, and sadly I never cared for the Meat Puppets original. I thing Nirvana did a fantastic acoustic job of it, with the Meat Puppets right there, the best the song has ever sounded. ~ Mia

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I tend to agree with you about the Meat Puppets. Though a friend of mine swears by them. Kurt’s voice had the melodic sound he truly had, the prettiness his voice had, yet you hear him tear at it. Made consider trying to do a version, but Sound like Me, not Kurt.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Fascinating piece of poetry with extremely interesting descriptions and references. I don’t think I get them all but reading the comments was an extremely interesting part of understanding your poem as well. 💕

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Mandi, thank you for your wonderful comment. When I was writing this, I was playing with the idea of hate being a sort of plague. I think I could have used any injustice against humanity, but in rereading the poem, I couldn’t help but think about smallpox infected blankets that were intentionally given to Native Americans in 1763. Wishing you a wonderful evening, please enjoy! ~ Mia ❤

      Liked by 1 person

        1. Mandi you’re so welcome. Really the fun part for me, is finding the images, quotes and videos. I should probably just concentrate on my writing, ha-ha. When it cools off a bit here, I’m head over to visit you and see what you’ve been up to! 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

    1. Mr. Cake, thank you for your very kind words. Really and truly it’s quite an accident I assure you! Some odd twist of fate, who knows what I did in a previous life, it couldn’t have been good to be blessed with a quirky mind! Ha-ha!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I am serious, we will talk about past lives shortly. I usually prefer poets to have passed so it’s a big compliment (I know that sounds morbid but it’s just because I am really not sure about post post modern culture and society).

        Liked by 1 person

        1. So you want to talk with me when I dead? I’m sure we can arrange that, it may be a few decades though, at least I hope. How shortly? I find it fascinating! Oh, I have so many secrets, but don’t tell! I seriously thought this was my last go round, found out one more to go!

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Let me be direct, do you participate in non-traditional practices? I only ask so I can gear my comment appropriately. I know, I know it’s rude, but I desperately want to avoid the generic, “WOW”. It’s such an interesting bit of writing and so revealing.

            Liked by 1 person

          2. No but I have a very lively interest in the matter and I have an excellent collection of books on the history of magic, alchemy, paganism etc. The piece on the car crash is fact, I had a very serious car crash in which I experienced a revelation, I know that sounds completely cliched but its what I felt. I can read the tarot cards pretty well and I occasionally have prophetic dreams (though why they never correctly predict the 3:30 at Kempton I never know) and I have an obsession with numbers. You are in the right track Mia

            Liked by 1 person

          3. Thank you for sharing that information, very much on track with my thoughts. Nothing you’ve shared surprises me. Revelations are interesting, almost like an epiphany, you’ll see. I’ve started writing a bit about each part and hesitated continuing. It’s quite personal. The following is brief, have fun reading it, please let me know if I should continue. Some will make sense to you only and not me.Okay Sir Cake, I’m a little hesitant to share my thoughts, so I will introduce some humor along the way, also I would ask you not to change this, if indeed it is an automatic writing, you should also know that part of it is a reading too. Do you know what you tapped into?
            Elsewhere — Sounds like you’re describing an Epiphany; they’re fleeting and just out of reach. There is but a moment of clarity, only a moment.

            I. The Dreamer — Something has shaken you. Here I believe you talk about yourself and your insecurities. You know what the ramifications of true anarchy would be, it’s ideal in theory in practice completely impractical, when a vacuum exists it’s always filled, and not with the lesser of two evils.

            Liked by 1 person

          4. Spot on, I like the way that you spotted the reference to anarchism…the Melancholy lieutenant is indeed myself, someone once said that I reminded them of that character who appears in the cafe in The Discrete Charm of the bourgeoisie. And yes I do realise that automatic writing taps into something. I think this is why I am so proud of the piece. Somebody suggested that I flesh out the stories but each one is a different reality that is interconnected yet separate. I know that sounds really grandiose but I really love the whole piece.

            Liked by 1 person

          5. I like the piece as a whole as well. You could develop each further, but to what end? As it stands, it’s already a rather special body of work. No one will read it as you do, perhaps only a few. Enjoy the magic when it happens.

            Liked by 1 person

          6. Mr. Cake, are you worrying needlessly? Please don’t. I found you clever, that’s all. Please know that your comments on this post have been restored, I elected to edit some of my own words. I hope you have enjoyed your day, many it continue into the evening. I do hope you have two decks, one solely for The Cake, and one for others *wink*. Be well. ~ Mia

            Liked by 1 person

  6. Mia, first of all, how are ya? It’s been a long time. I thought I’d drop by and see what you’ve been up to.
    Wonderful and poignant piece, my friend. Also, very sobering, I might add. You always have a way of producing art based on the raw reality of human-kind.
    Hate is humanity’s oldest plague. Actually, I would even say it’s the first ever that came about. This piece makes me think of the attempt of genocide toward the Native Americans from the European settlers (because of the photo you chose). Was this what you had in mind when writing this?
    Hope all is well on your end. Are you enjoying the summer?
    Please have a wonderful weekend and a lovely Friday evening.
    🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Staci! I’m fine, thank you, how are you? It has been a long time, I was just thinking abut you the other day, how are all of your projects going?

      Thank you for your lovely comment. It’s quite sad and sobering, yet mankind keeps repeating the same mistakes of the past. Perhaps that’s the disease of being human. “Hate is humanity’s oldest plague.” So true, worded perfectly.

      You’re spot on, I did tie it back to the Native Americans. After I wrote this and reread it, the first thing that came to mind where the smallpox infected blankets. If I remember correctly, you’re Canadian, so you would be familiar with the story. I think the blankets were given to the Ottawa Indians, hoping that the smallpox would spread to all the different tribes.

      All is well, thank you. The summer has been wonderful so far. I hope that everything is going well with and for you, and that you’ve been able to do all the things that you have wanted to. I’m so glad to hear form you. Please enjoy your weekend, wishing you the very best, looking forward to your return. Enjoy your time with your family, take good care. ~ Mia 🙂 ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Mia, please forgive me for taking so long to respond. I’m soooooo out of the loop. What a lovely response. You know, I used to live in Ottawa. I lived there for 6 1/2 years actually. I have a friend that is first nations. She is a musician and has a number of CDs. She wrote this one song about a boy that was taken by the ‘white’ men to a residential boarding school. He was taken from his family, and when he returned, his mother was an alcoholic. You know, whenever I hear the song, I just cry. It’s so sad. The injustice and cruelty.
        Anyhow, here’s the link to the song if you’d like to hear it:

        Take care Mia and have a lovely evening.
        🙂 ❤

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Staci, thank you for your wonderful reply, please never any pressure to respond, I hope you know that. 🙂 I had no idea that you lived in Ottawa. I can only imagine the history of this event is a very big deal there. Your friend is very talented. Thank you for including the song, it’s so sad. The things that were done, truly inhumane. Yet another example of history’s poster child, “man on man”.

          On a much brighter note, please have a wonderfully creative day! Take good care. ~ Mia 🙂 ❤

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Hi Mia.
            Yes, I lived in Ottawa for 6 1/2 years, although I’m originally from the west coast, Vancouver.
            Yea, my friend has a couple of CDs. She does a lot of work reaching out to the First Nations people all across North America. I remember when I was doing a music course in Perth, Australia – one of the teacher came over from the US and she brought a First Nation’s couple along with her. Through our conversations, I found out that they know my friend quite well. Small world eh.
            You have a wonderfully creative day too Mia, and take care.
            🙂 ❤

            Liked by 1 person

          2. Yes, it definitely is. I was on my way back from Afghanistan in 2006, and we stopped off in Germany to meet up with a group of people that had come for the World Cup. We grabbed the metro to the station close to where we would be staying, and when we got off, we saw this guy who I thought looked very much like a friend of ours. I even said to my hubby, “Wow, that guy sure looks like Marcus.” And then I said, “Oh my gosh, that is Marcus.” we were shocked. Hahaha.
            Yes, I’ve been around. A lot more when I was younger and no kids, but I’m sure that will change again as they grow. I’m ecstatic about them experiencing Peru. My son probably doesn’t remember anything about when we were in Perth or India. He’s even ridden an elephant, but most definitely doesn’t remember. This trip I’m sure he’ll remember.
            🙂 ❤

            Liked by 1 person

          3. I remember before I started my ‘traveling life.’ This woman at my church (that has 10 or 11 kids – whoa) is perfectly happy with her life and has no desire what so ever for travel. Yea, I’m not like that. Haha.
            Thanks Mia. Please enjoy the rest of your weekend and take care.
            🙂 ❤

            Liked by 1 person

    1. Charlie, thank you for such a wonderful comment. I love your stated solution, wouldn’t that be grand before it’s too late. Wise words, and a whole lot of healing needed. Wishing you well, please enjoy the week ahead. Take good care. ~ Mia 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

