Contrition

Image from the movie poster, Brando

 

Contrition
3 Day Quote Challenge — No. 2 


“Regret is useless in life. It’s in the past. All we have is now.”
— Marlon Brando


“Contrition” is my second post of the 3 Day Quote Challenge.  My invitation came from Staci at A God Colored Girl in a Grey World.  Please giver her a visit, her thought-provoking posts will not disappoint.  Thank you Staci, I’m really enjoying this!  Please find the rules for the challenge below the video.

For me there has always been something very sad and unsettling about this quote. I think it’s because it’s attributed to Marlon Brando. Undeniably his life was full of much turmoil and many regrets. We see this so clearly in his portrayal of Paul in the movie, The Last Tango in Paris.  It’s my belief this is the greatest movie of his career, because it’s not role for him, Brando is Paul. This is not a film purely about sexual brutality, it’s a gut-wrenching film about emotional vulnerability, self-loathing, despair, mistakes and regrets.

An excerpt from Brando’s memoir, “When Last Tango in Paris was finished, I decided that I wasn’t ever again going to destroy myself emotionally to make a movie. I felt I had violated my innermost self and didn’t want to suffer like that anymore…”     Deprive

Video — “Last Tango in Paris — Paul’s Past”


3 Day Quote Challenge Rules

1. Thank the person that nominated you.
2. Post 1 to 3 quotes each day for 3 consecutive days.
3. Nominate 3 bloggers each day to participate in the challenge.

Do you have any favorite quotes?  My invitation is open to everyone, so if this sounds appealing to you, please give it a go and have fun with the challenge.

3 Day Quote Challenge No. 1 —  Corporeal
3 Day Quote Challenge No. 2 — “Contrition”

38 thoughts on “Contrition

  1. Great Brando, one of the actors from my favorites me.

    Hello Mia, I hope you have spent a nice weekend.
    The time now is starting another week and I wish you a nice start and good Monday.

    Love always and serenity for you a kiss ❤
    Soul.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Soul for sharing your wonderful thoughts and words this morning. Brando is still definitively larger than life. In many ways he’s a contradiction, an obvious one was the thing that catapulted him to great fame and success, Hollywood, is one of the thing he despised the most, a love hate relationship.

      Thank you for the wonderful wishes for a nice week, likewise, wishing you the same. Please enjoy your Monday evening.

      Much love,
      Mia ❤

      Like

  2. Mia, great quote. I agree with Marlon Brando. Not only regret, but also worry. Both are best left untouched. They don’t accomplish any good really.
    I had seen this clip before, but I did not realize that Brandon’s role in this movie was as if it wasn’t a role, but reality. I can see why you find this quote unsettling and sad, because it’s as if even though he knows that regret is useless, he can’t escape it. Like a cancer eating away at him inside. I guess there are many people like that. In fact, that makes me think about some of your recent posts, and the ‘escape’. People run to their ‘escapes’ and ‘vices’ to try and forget or run away from the regrets. I think my dad did that. He was an extreme alcoholic, but I think a lot of it came from regrets in his past. The only problem is that his escape caused other regrets. Ugh! Like a dark, vicious circle.
    Wonderful and thought-provoking post.
    I know I’ve said it already, but I will wish you again a wonderful week ahead.
    🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I completely agree with you Staci, “Both are best left untouched. They don’t accomplish any good really.” I hope to think we learn a lesson from the experience that produces these emotions and should do our best to avoid repeating them.

      There is something about Brando that’s so captivating for me, perhaps it’s the tragic nature of his life style. It is a vicious cycle of escapes, just pick your poison. We’ve all known people like this to various degrees, some have even left their mark on us, leaving us to deal with the mess.

      Brando seemed to live all of these emotions out loud. I believe he realized the futility of trying to set his regrets to rest and continued to wade through a pool of them.

      Thank you Staci for a lovely comment, I love reading your thoughts and words. I’m pleased that you liked this quote. Wishing you a wonderful week again too! ~ Mia 🙂 ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Mia, I really want to reply to this response, but my lovely internet connection is down. Ugh. I’m using the 4G on my phone (which I don’t like. Hahaha). I’ll respond to this when my connection is back up ok. Until then, please have a lovely weekend.
        🙂 ❤

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Dear Staci, you’re so kind, thank you for your reply. I hope for your sake the connection is up soon, we so depend on it for so many things. Please have a lovely weekend too. Enjoy! 🙂 ❤

          Like

  3. Mia, this is a perfect quote.

    Having spent my first 26 years outside of the USA, I did not get to enjoy icons like Brando, Monroe, or Dean. Yet, in that bit of self-search I have come to discover stories and convictions behind the scenes. Thank you for the clip. I had never seen it before. It helps build the backdrop of the quote.

    Living with regrets to me means that there is no room for grace. In Albanian there are two forms of the word grace. The one earned and the one that is free. I am talking about the free one. The one we do not have to struggle to attain. That is the antidote of regrets for me and that is what I try to apply in my life, when mistakes cloud my vision.

    And I cannot help but sing the stanza from the famous Edith Piaf:

    “Non je ne regrette rien
    Ni le bien, qu’on m’a fait
    Ni le mal, tout ça m’est bien égale”

    (No! I don’t regret anything
    Not the good things people have done to me
    Not the bad things, it’s all the same to me.)

    Please enjoy a wonderful week!
    Love,
    Dajena ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dajena, I want to thank you for a marvelous comment. I’m delighted to read that you liked the quote and watched the film clip. Knowing about Brando’s childhood makes the clip all the more relevant. I find that even today he’s still a fascinating individual.

      That’s interesting about the two forms of grace. I like your antidote. I think if mistakes are dwelled on for too long they can become regrets, instead I like to think that mistakes are best used to create a foundation, so better choices can be made in the future.

      I love that you’ve included the stanza from Edith Piaf, regrets summed up nicely.

      Thank you, wishing you an enjoyable week as well. Please take good care.

      Much love,

      Mia ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Dear Mia,
        It was a great pleasure to learn. I love learning new things and your posts always inspire me to read more and explore more.
        Excellent view of mistakes. Stepping stones to a better future 🙂
        I am enjoying my time so much. Perpetually smiling and taking advantage of our pool every other day.
        Sending you a big hug and lots of love!
        ❤ ❤ your friend,
        Dajena 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Thank you lovely Dajena, that’s so neat to read that you’re inspired to learn more. Oh yes, I make a ton of mistakes, ha-ha, I have an extra wide stepping stone path. 🙂 Nice to enjoy the water during the summer, have fun. Thank you for the big hug and lots love, back at you, big, big hugs and lots of love. ~ Mia ❤

          Liked by 1 person

          1. 🙂 Hehehe, that makes two of us then.. 🙂
            But again, the stones that we cannot through anywhere, can only add to the path 😀 😀 right?
            Love to you in soft breeze!! ❤ D.

            Liked by 1 person

          2. 🙂 Thank you dearest one, you have made me smile, ah that’s so true! ABSOLUTELY!!! 🙂 Waiting for the love to arrive on the breeze, I feel it on the way! I’m so pleased that you get me. Love to you Dajena. ~ Mia ❤

            Liked by 1 person

  4. Excellent quote and the perfect Brando film clip to match. I enjoyed it. You’d be fun to watch movies with as your film knowledge is impressive. Really good posting. I also love the painted Mia too. 🙂 Have a wonderful evening. xo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Maverick. I’m glad that that you liked the quote and clip. I adore film, good films. I don’t know how fun I would be to watch with because I would probably be offering commentary throughout the movie, ha-ha. 🙂 I love the painting too, Ted is a very talented artist. I hope you’re having a wonderful Tuesday! ~ Mia

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You’re welcome Mia. You talking during a movie… I could see that or hear that, lol. Easy solution, just keep you stuffed with popcorn during the movie and get your commentary afterwards. 🙂 I had a pretty good twos-day, hope you did “too”. xo

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Andrew for a wonderful comment. I’m so glad that you liked this quote and my brief write up on Brando and the film, which I think is still powerful today. Please have a wonderful evening too. ~ Mia

      Like

  5. Mia u nailed it with the mention of Marlon Brando itself……..I got my first taste of him way back in ‘The Godfather’ and then through various movies of his…rite from ‘On the water front’ to ‘The last tango in Paris’….I loved him even more.
    Contrition is a great post where we get Brando’s touch of acuity……and I loved that Brando’s memoir.

    May u have a wonderful week my friend …..enjoy 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Saaransh for sharing your kindness. If I remember correctly, the first Brando film I saw was, “A Streetcar Named Desire”. I have always been captivated by his ability to portray the human condition with all of its flaws. I definitely agree, “loved him even more” after watching, “Last Tango in Paris”, where he completely mesmerizes the audience with his raw and powerful performance.

      Thank you, likewise, have a wonderful week and please enjoy the upcoming weekend. Take care. ~ Mia 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

