Corporeal

Untitled (Self-Portraits) 2006-2012 — Photographer Sally Mann

 

Corporeal
3 Day Quote Challenge — No. 1


“I like to make people a little uncomfortable. It encourages them to examine who they are and why they think the way they do.”
— Sally Mann


Thank you Staci at A God Colored Girl in a Grey World for the invitation to participle in the 3 Day Quote Challenge.  Staci is a generous and gracious blogger, her posts are always inspiring, heartfelt and thought-provoking.  Please have a visit.  You’ll find the rules for the challenge below the video. I encourage you to have a look at some of Sally Mann’s amazing photography.

Video — “Sally Mann”


3 Day Quote Challenge Rules

1. Thank the person that nominated you.
2. Post 1 to 3 quotes each day for 3 consecutive days.
3. Nominate 3 bloggers each day to participate in the challenge.

I won’t be posting 3 consecutive days, I will be posting the quotes over the next several weeks.  Do you have any favorite quotes?  My invitation is open to everyone, so if this sounds appealing to you, please jump in and give it a go.   Most importantly have fun with the challenge.   Perfection

66 thoughts on “Corporeal

  1. Naked and raw this photographic message by Sally Mann It seems that pierces the reality with her shots.

    Always original and unusual your posts.

    I wish you heart a good start to the week with much love ❤
    Kiss from Rome.

    Soul

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Soul for your lovely thoughts and words. Sally Mann’s work is incredible. There’s much controversy over much of her images, she is most definitely a favorite of mine. Her photos are real and as you say, “Naked and raw”, most definitely. I’m really pleased that you enjoyed this. If you’re not familiar with her body of work, I hope you will check it out, it’s stunning. I think you will be pleasantly surprised how very moving and unsettling her images are, as I believe good art should be.

      Thank you for the kind wishes, likewise, wishing you a good start to the week. Much love, Mia ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Mia, I knew your quote(s) would be well thought out. The quote is so ‘You’. Hahaha. I also like to keep things real.
    Thank you for sharing some of her photography. I hadn’t seen much of her stuff before, so it was good to see a bit more of her work. I read up a bit on her and found out that her son just passed away in the beginning of the month. That must have been heart-wrenching for the family. Do you know what happened to him? He was so young.
    Hope you’ve had a great start to your week Mia, and that the rest of it goes well.
    🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Staci for sharing your lovely words, thoughts and of course the challenge with me. When I read my name, I was really excited, because it’s just that, a creative challenge. I know that “real” is very important to you, that’s what I love about you and your blog.

      Sally Mann’s photography is wonderful, she captures such powerful images, so many emotions on so many different levels. Thank you for taking the time to watch the video that I included.

      The thing I like most about this challenge is that if you take it seriously, the quote you select says a lot about who you are, your thought process and what your truths are. All this to say, I have a third quote selected, it’s so powerful but equally offensive, and at the same time so thought-provoking when you realize who all the players are. Still debating…

      Thank you again Staci for your kindness, it has been a delight to participate in this ongoing challenge. Thank you for the well wishes, so far it’s been a great start to the week. Wishing you a marvelous and creative week! ~ Mia 🙂 ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Mia, thank you for such a lovely response.
        “The thing I like most about this challenge is that if you take it seriously, the quote you select says a lot about who you are, your thought process and what your truths are.”
        –Exactly. Like I said in my comment, your quote is sooooo ‘You’. It has Mia written all over it.
        I look forward to your third quote. Hey wait, did you already post the second? I will have to hop on over and see. 😉
        Hahahaaha @equally offensive. Love it. Just keeping it real, right?
        I’m so glad you have been enjoying this challenge. I actually still have to do my third quote. Thinking I’ll do it along with my next post.
        Thanks for the well wishes Mia.
        🙂 ❤

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Staci, you’re so welcome, really thank you!

          Ha-ha! You are so right about me. Sounds like you’re giving me the green light on number three. 😉 No I haven’t done my second one yet. I like that idea, to do quote number three along with your post, looking forward to that.

          I will see you later and reply to your other comments. I am so bad at time management, I will have to return this evening, please accept my apologies. Have a wonderful day! 🙂 ❤

          Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi Mia.

    Some truly amazing photographs.
    I must admit, I haven’t seen her work until now.
    I shall be looking for more.

    Thank you.

    Alan. 😎

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Mia,

    The quote you selected has such a provocative tone and so does the video that you included. I remember Sally Mann from some of your earlier pieces, together with her message to the world.

    I wonder what kind of thoughts and emotions run through her when she looks at the negatives of pictures in the dark room. What words and feelings does she bite in her mouth, but frees them through her photographs.

    I hope your Monday was a delightful day, and so will be your Tuesday!
    Love,
    Dajena ❤

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Dear Dajena, thank you for such thoughtful and wonderful words. True, I have used Sally Mann’s images to help convey my intent. I’ve always been in awe of her work and the emotions that she’s able to capture with her photography. For me there is a strong sense of resiliency found in her images, I can’t exactly explain why that is.

      Thank you for the wishes, I hope that you enjoyed your Monday, wishing you a lovely Tuesday. ~ Much love, Mia ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You are welcome dear Mia.
        I love that word: resiliency. She does indeed seem to convey that ability of holding on to the shape no matter what happens. We all wish to bounce back, and through the tough and weary times, it is what we have come to understand as the means of returning back to our first state (even through sometimes with scratches, yet not completely broken.)

        You too enjoy the Tuesday dear Mia.
        Lots of love for you! ❤ ❤
        Dajena

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Dajena, thank you for a lovely reply. I love how you’ve defined resiliency, yes we do bounce back scratches and all. Thank you, I’m starting to enjoy it, the overcast thankfully is starting to roll in, finally the heat is breaking! Enjoy the rest of your day. Lots of love for you too! ~ Mia ❤

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Thank you! The portrait that Ted did? Isn’t it wonderful, he’s so cool and talented. I wish I could figure out how to create a link so that when it’s clicked on it takes the “clicker” to his site.

            Liked by 1 person

          2. Ohh, did Ted do that?? Love it!! Yes, very talented indeed. That would be a great idea.. maybe gavatar has a function like that?

            Liked by 1 person

          3. He did, it was such a surprise. I absolutely love it! I’m working on the link, I was able to do the hover thing, with his website address for now. Just need to do a little homework. I’m so glad that you like it. Yay! 🙂

            Liked by 1 person

  5. From the first time I saw a Sally Mann photo I was transfixed. I keep hoping to finds words that present a poem with that same sense of mystery and intensity that her photos have, haunting and beautiful. Super quote and cool video. Be well, Mia.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Chris, thank you, I really appreciate your comment. I agree, her photography is absolutely captivating, it’s truly wonderful how she views and defines the world around her, a perfect description, “haunting and beautiful”. Please be well too. ~ Mia

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Hey, small world! I was the one who nominated Staci for the challenge. 🙂
    So I guess that makes you my grandbaby, Mia. Kinda.
    Hope you’re having a great day – Robert.
    Oh, and not to be too much of a sour cherry but I find Sally’s photographs to be rather distoibin – sorry and all that, I’m sure she means well.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Saaransh for your always kind words. I’m captivated by this quote, Sally Mann’s words match my sentiment on what art can and should be. I think a lot of people just like to look at the “pretty” and consciously decide to look past the provoking.

      Wishing a wonderful day, please be well. ~ Mia 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m captivated too….thank u for bringing me across Sally Mann.
        O from inception I never doubted ur acuity and sentiments and @ “I think a lot of people just like to look at the “pretty” and consciously decide to look past the provoking.”….its absolute.
        U 2 have a wonderful day ahead Mia 🙂

        Like

        1. You’re welcome, Saaransh. I’m delighted that you understand my mindset and thought process, thank you, it’s very meaningful to me. Also, thank you for the well wishes, I will have a wonderful day. ~ Mia 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

  7. Love the photos and the quote Mia! I think it is amazing when art evokes emotion and these photos surely do. Very eerie yet lovely at the same time. I hope you are having a wonderful day! – Lola

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Lola for the lovely and kind words. I live for that, “when art evokes emotion”, a beautiful phrase! I find Sally Mann’s work incredible, true, “Very eerie yet lovely at the same time”. Likewise, I hope you’re having a wonderful day too. ~ Mia

      Like

    1. Hi Aruna, you will find the directions below the video, copy and pate the directions into your post. If you follow the link back to Staci’s blog you can see how she set up her post, she invited 3 bloggers to participate. You can pingback to my site if you wish, anyone reading the comments will see that you took up the challenge. I hope you will give it a go, it was great fun and I enjoyed it. I hope I explained this well, if I haven’t, please don’t hesitate to ask for clarification.

      Thank you for your kind words, enjoy your weekend. Take care. ~ Mia

      Like

    1. Hi Aruna, Sally Mann is a terrific photographer here in the US. The images used are a special technique, that’s why they have an eerie feel to they. A lot of her work is controversial, which for the sake of art is great, because you remember her photos. If you get a chance to Google, “Sally Mann” images, you will be able to see some amazing and beautiful photographs. Please take good care. ~ Mia

      Like

    1. Many of Sally Mann’s photos are of her children and family. The photos at the end of the video are self-portraits of Sally Mann, she had an injury and took these during that time while she was recuperating. I think they reflect how she was feeling inside. They really are amazing when you realize what she actually captures, she gives a voice to her emotions. Have a terrific and creative day Aruna. ~ Mia

      Like

Leave a Reply

