Altered State

Photography by Rimel Neffati

 

Altered State


Off Limits is the border town
To twisted-sister cities
Out of Bounds
And
Out of Control;
Location,
A euphoric altered state
Far from the capital,
Nirvana.
Hallow is the road
To Never-Mind,
It’s up around the bend
Just this side of Paradise Lost.

 

“I’d rather be hated for who I am, than loved for who I am not.”   Rebuild
― Kurt Cobain      Understanding

Nirvana — “All Apologies”     Struggle

Altered State” is the companion piece to the poem, Beautiful Disease.

69 thoughts on “Altered State

          1. Hello, very nice and creative to your image in your gravatar looks like a painting of a surrealist artist reminds me a little Van Gogh, really fantastic
            I like it a lot ❤

            Now here in Rome it is very hot
            It has arrived the hot African 🙂
            It will be a week late boiling stuff that breaks the lizards lol 🙂 🙂

            From you is night so I wish you a sweet and magical night and a wonderful weekend with love and peace will embrace.
            A kiss from Rome ❤
            Wishing you well love.

            Soul

            Liked by 1 person

          2. Soul, thank you. I’m pleased that you like it, a truly marvelous artist.

            I hope you’re able to stay cool, ah, so you join the heat parade, here too it has been very hot.

            I hope you’ve been enjoying your Saturday, please have a lovely evening. Thank you as always for the wonderful greetings.

            Much love,
            Mia ❤

            Like

  1. Read “Beautiful Disease” again, loved the fact that you brought up a different kind of escape here ~ Nirvana, to a place of never-mind. And the Quote by Kurt Cobain ~One powerful truth that if embraced can really change the way one lives.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Nitin, I’m more than pleased that you enjoyed the shared connection of these two poems. You have graced me with such kind words and thoughts. I love how you state the following, “One powerful truth that if embraced can really change the way one lives.” Nitin, absolutely! Like you, I also find the Cobain’s quote incredibly true, if not painfully true. I think of this quote often and realize how insightful it is. Thank you again, wishing you a marvelous and creative week. Take good care. ~ Mia

      Liked by 1 person

  2. The trip continues… a wonderful companion to Beautiful Disease. And I can’t think of a better compliment than Cobain and Neffati for both. “A euphoric altered state” to “Just this side of Paradise Lost” is a wonderful transition. I give you five stars (which is the highest) ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ I hope that you are having a lovely evening out there in Mia’s creative laboratory. 🙂 Thank you! ❤ xo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your kindness and generous words Maverick. I’m pleased that you noticed that I used Cobain and Neffati, I liked the idea of staying with the same artist under the circumstances. Thank you for the five stars, ha-ha. 😉 I am have a nice time, thank you, I’m working on a challenge. Please have a lovely evening. *Hugs* ❤ xo

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Charly, for your kind words and the proposal. I’m really glad that you liked the music video, true he does say, “Married” but that’s followed by “Buried”, still interested? Wishing you a wonderful and creative day. ~ Mia

      Like

      1. I didn´t get that part the “married” and “burried”, a bit weird, so no I´not interested in that proposal, hold on….. can I borrow your cell phone?—-Just to call God and tell HIM HE lost an angel, that should work.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Mia, wonderful sister piece to Beautiful Disease. Your poem, the photo and Nirvana song marry very well in this. Love the play on words with ‘Euphoric altered state” and then “Nirvana”.
    “Hallow is the road
    To Never-Mind,
    It’s up around the bend
    Just this side of Paradise Lost.”
    –I find this part so interesting. It makes me think. It’s almost like I don’t know how to put into words my thoughts and how it makes me feel. It’s as if it’s a picture of one who has lost pleasure or faith in their vice/escape, and after this disappointment, a sense of indifference and ‘not-caring’. Almost like giving up, but not in the sense of giving up on a specific thing. More like a just not caring anymore about maybe once they cared for. I don’t know if I’m making any sense…
    Have a lovely rest of the day Mia.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Staci, I’m really pleased that you thought the photo and the song worked well.

      Oh yes, you’re so right, it makes complete sense. I think that we’re all more alike than most want to admit, the following is kind of a blanket statement. I believe we all have periods of struggles in our lives that are difficult, hopefully these struggles progresses into turning points of sorts for us. During these periods when things are so overwhelming in order to make it through the day, we almost have to convince ourselves that nothing matters. Maybe we do this until we are ready to tackle the issues that want to make us walk away from everything. But, I also believe all things come full circle, with each struggle something new is learned, in turn making the next issue easier to deal with. But that’s just me and how I look at things.

      Thank you for such a lovely comment, you always know what direction I’m going, I love that! Please enjoy your Thursday, always wishing you the very best. ~ Mia 🙂 ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Mia, thank you for such a wonderful response. I also believe that, ‘with each struggle something new is learned.’ I imagine there are those that just get bitter and don’t let the struggle be their teacher, but then again, they do take something out it. Even if it’s a lesson in, ‘I won’t let that happen again’ (if that makes sense). I think that when we do deal with the ‘next issues’, even if it’s something completely different, it is easier to deal with, simply because of the experiencing the battle of prior struggles.
        I’m so glad I was able to follow the direction you we’re taking this Mia.
        Please have a wonderful weekend.
        🙂 ❤

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Staci, thank you for a wonderful reply. I adore the idea behind the following statement, “let the struggle be their teacher”. You make complete sense. I don’t know if everyone as you mentioned wants to be aware or spend any time thinking about what’s happening to them while they travel their path. I happen to believe there are so many clues along the way to eventually help make the journey easier. But again that’s me and I know what works for me is not for everyone. 🙂 I hope that make some sort of sense.

          Thank you for the kind wishes, please have a wonderful weekend as well. 🙂 ❤

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Mia, you’re more than welcome. And yes, I agree with you that not everyone takes the time to think about what’s happening to them. A lot of people just let life do its thing.
            Of course it makes sense. 🙂
            I had a nice, quiet weekend. Hope you did too.
            🙂 ❤

            Liked by 1 person

  4. So I’m reading and I think how the structure and word play is so much like Beautiful Disease… And then there it is, you called it. I love that you linked them that way. Makes for interesting and thoughtful reading.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Daniel, thank you so much for sharing your kind and wonderful words. I’m pleased that you enjoyed these two efforts. Please have an enjoyable and creative rest of the week. Take care. ~ Mia

      Like

  5. Mia,

    This post definitely brought back some memories of my earlier “adult” life of 20. The road of character molding, and figuring out what to do when push comes to shove, happens at the same time when our mind’s eyes are at their peak of alertness.

    We learn, we find how and what works. Meanwhile we lose some along the way.
    Altered State- is a great sidekick of your Beautiful Disease.

    It is perfectly set with the same tone, and feel which both artists illustrate so well.

    May your weekend be a magical one beautiful lady!

    ❤ Dajena

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dear Dajena, so true. These words also brought back many memories of youth’s turmoil. The paths we travel do indeed help shape who we are. This may sound a silly, I think the process never stops, the foundation of who we are just gets stronger and perhaps we become more comfortable just being ourselves.

      Thank you, I’m pleased that you felt the connection between the two efforts, I was hoping to maintain the same feeling throughout both pieces.

      It’s always wonderful to read your gracious comments. Thank you, may your weekend be just as magical. Please enjoy!

      Much love,
      Mia ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes dear Mia,
        It does not sound silly at all. We have spoken about this before. If we only stay in one state of being, then we are not embracing our fullness. The continual movement, like tectonic plates, is always bound to release 😀 (I am always hoping that the release is a good one 🙂 )
        Love to you beautiful!!
        ❤ ❤ Dajena

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Dajena, thank you for your wonderful thoughts and words. Indeed true, life is “continual movement”. Please enjoy the rest of Saturday with your family and have a marvelous Sunday. 🙂

          Always much love,
          Mia ❤

          Liked by 1 person

          1. 🙂 We had a beautiful Saturday, with an early Father’s day BBQ at my in-laws. Kids always bring the best of smiles on all of us 🙂
            Love to you!
            ❤ ❤ 🙂 Dajena

            Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for your kindness Saaransh. Your words are magical, “it just crawls slowly inside the reader, like smoke and stays there like love”. Wishing you a wonderful weekend, please take good care and enjoy! ~ Mia 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Brilliant writing Mia! I have always loved this quote and believe the world would be a better and more interesting place if more of us accepted and owned our own unique and special qualities. I do believe Kurt Cobain owned a dream machine, he wore while he slept. Always special and ahead of his time. Have a fantastic weekend!! – Lola

    Liked by 1 person

        1. Thank you. I know you say, “My name is not important”, how may I address you properly? Please let me know, much appreciated. I will be over to visit during my day, looking forward to reading more on your site. ~ Mia

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

