Beautiful Disease

Hairbrush  by Rimel Neffati

 

Beautiful Disease


It’s a Road trip of sorts,
How do you get there?
Pick your poison.

That’s right
Where do you go
To be alone?
Not to be seen
By any eyes;
Other than your own?

Isolate yourself
In that room called, Safe;
Lose yourself
In the scene of the crowd;
Throw yourself down
Face first on the ground.
Blindsided eyes scathe
The imaginary ceiling
Fervently searching cracks
For the almighty trap door.
Run like an inmate
To your fetish, The Escape;
As if on a treasure hunt
Through the neighborhood.
Embrace the roundup
Of Mother’s Little Helpers;
Follow them
With rain water chasers
To your destination;
A long way from home.

 

“Thank you for the tragedy. I need it for my art.”
― Kurt Cobain      Playful

Nirvana — “Where Did You Sleep Last Night” Blank

“Beautiful Disease” is the companion piece to, “Altered State”.

99 thoughts on “Beautiful Disease

  1. I was just thinking I was wondering when you were doing
    your new article and like magic has come you’re always original and different with your articles here ithe reason I love them. 🙂
    Well done with magic and class … nice!
    I wish you a nice start to the week with a lot of inspiration and love ❤
    Wishing you well and kiss from Rome.

    Soul.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Soul, thank you so much for your generous words. Yes, I have been sitting on this for many days. You know I think my ideas and writings make a lot of people uncomfortable, maybe because of the dark nature of the themes. But they are my truths, even in fiction the truth can emerge. I don’t care what anyone has to say and they can most definitely disagree with me, but I believe the best art comes from the darkest recesses of the mind, history proves this time and time again.

      I want to wish you a wonderful week, your Monday is half over. I hope you have a terrific evening with great creativity and inspiration. Always wishing you well and the very best.

      Much Love,
      Mia ❤

      Liked by 2 people

      1. I agree with you if some people do not like to think it is their problem for me I like a lot. 🙂
        Follow your art your passion your ideas.

        Is it not true that the darkness is more ancient and mysterious light.

        Thanks for the greetings and best wishes I wish you a good continuation to all with a lot of love for you ❤
        xoxo

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Soul, thank you. Ha-ha, I had to contain myself, otherwise I would have gone on a full blown rant. It is the artist that wades through the “darkness” and fucking murky bullshit to make his art, in order for others to enjoy, think and contemplate. The viewer never, if ever gives that a second thought. Well, that’s just my opinion and no one is paying me for it, ha-ha! Thank you for all the love, sending much more back to you. xoxo ❤

          Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Carisa. Kurt was a very sensitive individual in many ways, with a low threshold for bullshit, combine that with the music industry and you have a recipe for disaster. Everyone played their part, those that know are quiet for now. Without hesitation I can say, be careful when you sleep with the enemy.

      Likewise, wishing you a great week as well. Take good care. ~ Mia

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I get your drift in your words. I’ve always felt that was what lead to his demise. I’ve watched the documentary on him with the private investigator. I was fascinated with the information. All the recordings of the meetings. Mind blowing. Thank you for appreciating him even in death when so many didn’t appreciate him while he was alive. You have such a Beautiful soul!

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Thank you Carisa, for such a gracious reply. I selected this song, “Where Did You Sleep Last Night”, a Lead Belly cover for several reasons, primarily because Kurt was a huge fan of his, the second reason speaks for itself. Next week or the week after I’ll post the companion piece to this, written at the same time, again for me the music is very significant. Thank you again, lovely one. Have a marvelous Tuesday. ~ Mia

          Liked by 1 person

  2. Fave line here is hilarious to me, ya know that I have a macabre sense of humor:
    “Run like an inmate
    To your fetish, The Escape;
    As if on a treasure hunt
    Through the neighborhood.
    Embrace the roundup
    Of Mother’s Little Helpers;”

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Glad you like that, hey you have to have a sense of humor to even write this stuff otherwise you would seriously have to hurt yourself, ha-ha. Oh wait that’s what this is about, laughing! *Wink* Good you got the part about Mother’s Little Helpers! 🙂 Thank you Ted, for the kind words, have a great evening! ~ Mia

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah yeah, some sort inverse, helps with the sense of humor, bottle of dexedrine is hurting one’s self, still gives one a chuckle as well..(ah heck i can’t sleep can’t sleep..) Shall we list all the sixties musicians on the uppers, which they got to chase with the big green downer pills?

        Liked by 1 person

          1. No sense in asking mister zimmerman, he would not tell ya the truth, and would probably feel an invasion of privacy, which is why ticket prices are high, they pay for the intrusion, pay for the other 22 hours of the day, not the performance. He rambles on and on and on and…

            Liked by 1 person

    1. Chris, thank you so much for your wonderful words. You read my intent perfectly. I can only speak for myself, but it seems to be an ongoing task, so I guess I’ll be a work in progress up until the end, ha-ha! I hope you have a wonderful evening, take care. ~ Mia

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Mia you never cease to amaze me. 🙂 One of my favorite books is Beautiful Losers so Beautiful Disease is perfect. You have really wonderful rhythm and good depth. Love this one, maybe because it’s dark or maybe because it all weaves together so nicely. Also like the scratches look on the photo. Kurt was an excellent choice for song and quote. Thank you for turning a mundane Monday into a marvelous evening with your posting. Hope you’re having a pleasant evening. 😘

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Maverick thank you, you’re so very kind to me. I understand Cohen was high the entire time he was writing, “Beautiful Losers” so he could maintain his creativity. I mean really who doesn’t suffer from the daily grind of life on occasion? We all need an escape, whatever that might be. I love the photography of Rimel Neffati. I actually wrote a kind of companion piece to this, so I’m looking for just the right photo, I would love to use the same photographer. Maybe I will post it next week, or the week after. Cobain quotes are quite profound in light of the events of his life. The song, “Where Did You Sleep Last Night” is a Lead Belly song, which I absolutely love, I think Kurt did a fantastic job covering it. Thank you for the evening wishes, I hope you’re having a pleasant evening as well. *Hugs* ❤ xo

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I didn’t know that about Cohen but not surprised. I loved his imagery of red wine spilling on a white table cloth and spreading and spreading and spreading… Really enjoyed your escape into this, very well done. Look forward to your next masterpiece. 🙂 Big *hugs* & *kisses* ❤ XO

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Mia, I am so intrigued by what lurks in your mind and your willingness to share it with us in your beautiful and noir aesthetic form. I also love your selection of photography and wonder how you find them. They all have this classical or vintage mood to them that complements your poetry. There is a lot of drivel out on WordPress, and some great stuff also, but you are always intriguing and thought provoking to read. I regard you as this classy and intelligent poet aesthete that takes us one level deeper to challenge the norms of society

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for such a lovely comment. “Noir” and “aesthete” are such wonderful words, thank you. As far as photographers I have my favorites, also I’m partial to black and white photos. There seems to a huge boom in iPhone photography these days, producing some fantastic artists. I’m delighted to read that you find my words to be intriguing, thought provoking and that they challenge the norm. Wishing you an enjoyable and creative rest of the week. Take care. ~ Mia

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Mia you have such niche to ur thoughts…..very captivating n a very commendable write up.
    ‘Beautiful Disease’ is so perfect to me, very engaging. I love how u improvise with the art attachments to ur beautiful pieces……… and Cobain, how can he not be a favourite to anyone.
    I love being at ‘Coppercranes’

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Saaransh, thank you for your delightful comment, it’s always wonderful to see you here. I’d like to think that the artwork and music helps to capture the thoughts and ideas that I’m attempting to convey, thank you for noticing. Wishing you a brilliant rest of the week. take care. ~ Mia

      Liked by 1 person

      1. “I’d like to think that the artwork and music helps to capture the thoughts and ideas that I’m attempting to convey”, absolutely they r like cherries to the cake
        Pleasure is all mine…keep writing….Stay blessed 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  7. the escape ~ to our freedom, or our demise… It’s the end for sure. Loved the starting of this post. Drew me in. And as others have said, the picture, the words, the quote ~ everything fused into something very tangible by the time I reached the end of this post. ..

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Nitin, thank you for your excellent thoughts on my effort, absolutely right on target. You’re always so kind, thank you dearly for your beautifully written words. Please enjoy the rest of your week, take good care. ~ Mia

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Mia,

    What a riveting story you have revived through your lines.Your poem, matching the lyrics of the song is seeped in the theme of a woman being caught doing something she should not. I can feel the tinge of self-liberation mixed with a sense of “I owe it to myself”. I remember reading that the song talked about ‘decapitation’, and I feel that photograph fits that imagery perfectly.

    I am looking forward to reading the sequel.

    May your Wednesday be a fantastic one full of magical inspiration.

    Love to you!
    Dajena ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you dear Dajena, for such a lovely comment. I was really fortunate to have remembered this rendition/cover of “Where Did You Sleep Last Night”, I thought it would echo the sentiment of my words, along with the image quite nicely. I think at times we all find ourselves restless and in need of an escape, each of us deciding to what degree. This is a great song for so many reasons, Kurt sings it with such passion and emotion, which can be a little unsettling.

      Anyway, initially when I wrote this I realized I had indeed written two independent efforts, it wouldn’t do either of them justice to force fit them together, so that’s why there is a companion piece, kind of like bookends. 🙂

      Thank you again and for the kind wishes as well. Please enjoy the rest of your Wednesday. I hope that you’ve started your summer vacation and are doing all kinds of fun and creative things.

      Much love,
      Mia ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You are welcome dear Mia.
        I love being here, and always feel welcomed and often at home with you and your thoughts. I hope and wish that whenever you feel the need to escape, you will always return to us. 🙂

        Sending you love and hugs!
        May your night be marvelous and the weekend ahead be a special one.
        Dajena ❤

        Liked by 1 person

  9. Mia, another great thought-out piece, although quite tragic and dark. That’s reality though, right. Let’s not sugar-coat things. I am a person of faith and hope, but I truly do believe that humans are a fallen race, capable of such darkness, especially if fed into.
    The photo and your mention of ‘Mother’s little helpers’ goes so well together. She really does look like a worn-out mother that’s taken a serious dose of valium. That’s her escape, right. 🙂
    “Run like an inmate
    To your fetish, The Escape;”
    –Oh yes. This is great. So, so, so, so true. The fetish/escape imprisoning. Been there (wayyyyyy back). Learned from it though. Brought me to where I am today, and am so thankful to no longer be imprisoned to my ex-fetish(es)/escape.
    I was a big Nirvana fan. I remember listening over and over and over again to “Smells Like Teen Spirit”. I would even sing it in the mirror. You know, the whole being young singing in the mirror thing. Hahaha. Perfect pick to accompany your poem.
    I hope you have had a wonderful week. I, as you know, have been so crazy busy. Looking forward to a calm weekend, and hopefully a calmer week next week.
    🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dear Staci, thank you for the wonderful thoughts contained within your comment, I love them. “Let’s not sugar-coat things”, perfect! I agree, this is a dark piece, we all know the escape right? I would imagine everyone has their thing, even if it’s sitting watching Netflix for hours on end. Not everyone wants to address “the escape”, not everyone will admit to participating in anything resembling this idea. We’re all “capable of such darkness” so true, but the question becomes, do you linger there? I believe life to be a cycle of ups and downs, at times it’s smooth sailing and other times it can be a struggle.

      I’m pleased to read, “Nirvana fan” that made me smile, as well as singing in the mirror. 🙂 Thank you, I’m delighted you liked the choice, I thought it was the right song as well.

      Staci, I want to thank you for such lovely support and your beautiful words and thoughts. Wishing you a fun Friday and a marvelously calm weekend. Please take good care.
      ~ Mia 🙂 ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Mia, you are more than welcome. I’m all for keeping it real, and ‘dark’ stuff is definitely real.
        Oh yes, we all have some sort of escape. So many people don’t even realize that their escape is exactly that – an escape.
        I completely agree that life is a cycle of ups and downs. Although, it seems like humanity is constantly trying to ‘escape’ the downs. All we have to do is go outside and see advertisement everywhere on how to ‘make life better’ or ‘how to be happy’.
        Hahaha, yea, I was performing in front of the mirror. I guess this many years later I can confess that. But heck, we probably all do that at some point or another, right? 😉
        Have a lovely weekend Mia.
        🙂 ❤

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Staci, you’re so kind. Absolutely, the dark stuff is real, we innately do what we need to in order to survive. I also want to believe that the wiser and more mature we become mentally, the healthier the escapes become.

          I love this, “it seems like humanity is constantly trying to ‘escape’ the downs”. So perfectly stated, so true the escapes are everywhere, it will profit someone somewhere, ha-ha, mass social media has made that possible.

          Laughing, yes I really think we all do that. 🙂 Thank you, please have a wonderful weekend as well Staci. 🙂 ❤

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Mia, you are more than welcome.
            Oh yes, I also want to believe that. Actually, I do believe that.
            Ahhhh, mass social media. The pros and cons. Haha.
            Have a wonderful week Mia.
            🙂 ❤

            Liked by 1 person

  10. Mia, I loved this. This inspired me to think of my own moments when I needed solitude. I have a wondeful partner who I cherish, but there are times we need to hide in our deep solitude and be one with ourselves. Great write. Have a wonderful weekend.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Andrew for your kindness and wonderful thoughts. I agree with you, we all need a certain amount of solitude, it helps to keep us sane. I’m so far behind with my reading, I plan to visit you this weekend, please accept my apologies for the tardiness. Wishing you a wonderful weekend too. ~ Mia

      Liked by 1 person

  11. What a fantastic piece Mia! I was speaking with a friend of mine the other day about the artistic talent of tortured souls. Some of the most brilliant are so beautifully broken. Some can escape through the trap door of their art , but others prefer to remain in their darkness for the sake of it. A sacrifice of the soul. I know Kurt was one of those. I love the song, the quote and your words, so deep with awareness. Have a wonderful weekend! – Lola

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lola, thank you so much for your lovely words. Sadly, I think you’re so accurate in your description of “artistic talent of tortured souls”. Agreed, Kurt was most definitely was one of those. A poignant reminder of the toll it can take on some that create. On a happier note, wishing you a wonderful weekend as well. ~ Mia

      Liked by 1 person

  12. Another look of life in such a way that only you can bring to us. Insightful and emotional work Mia ~ there is no doubt that life holds so much beauty, but at times, it is as if this beauty is surrounded by an impenetrable force and while we can see it, it is so difficult to experience and at times seems impossible. This is the feeling I get when I read your words: “How do you get there? Pick your poison.”

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Randall for sharing your lovely words and thoughts on this effort. I like your description, “impenetrable force”. I quite agree, we all have challenges to varying degrees and sometimes the idea of an escape seems so inviting. I believe that the challenge will always wait for you, it’s whether you decide to deal with it now or later.

      I never know where you are, here or there. 🙂 Wishing you well and the very best. Take good care. ~ Mia

      Like

      1. So very true Mia ~ and it is the challenges that create who we are and who we become. The idea of shirking challenges eventually will catch up with anyone, so facing them early seems to be a good way to go for me 🙂 I’m in HK this morning, but head out to China in a few hours…back to hide behind their firewall. 🙂
        Cheers to a great week ahead for you ~

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Thank you Randall for a lovely reply, all so true. I hope you enjoyed your time in HK. Thank you for the kind wishes, likewise, have a great the week ahead. Please take good care. ~ Mia

          Like

Leave a Reply

