Ether

Playing With Fire — Photography by Eleanor

 

Ether


Lit my last cigarette
With a match
That could never be
Struck again.
I stood as black carbon
Final indifference —
Kerosene and gasoline;
Fanning the flames
Hiding high crimes
All the while
Whitewashing ugly pretty.

Now Mesmerized:
Once paralyzed
I had memorized
Sermons from the book,
“Unwritten Rules”.
Blank be the pages
From whence they came;
Ink knows no shade
Shame never names names
Silent, stands forever.

Hindsight realized:
Rulers lie.
Never wake
Holders of landmines;

Best they go off
In their sleep.
Lithium chloride
Fueled the carmine fire;
Char licked misery
A scorched mystery;
North winds flared
Caring innocence
Far away.

 

“There may be a great fire in our soul, yet no one ever comes to warm himself at it, and the passers-by see only a wisp of smoke.”      Dream
― Vincent van Gogh     Saga

 Hozier — “Arsonist’s Lullabye”

86 thoughts on “Ether

    1. Sono felice che ti piace l’immagine. Sì, la mia poesia è molto scuro. Si farà molte persone a disagio. Ma questo è ciò che speriamo, per suscitare emozioni, brutte o belle. Grazie mille per il vostro continuo sostegno dei miei sforzi. Augurandovi una serata deliziosa. Sempre molto amore, Mia ❤

      Like

    1. Grazie! Ama il tuo commento! Questo video è stato girato sulla spiaggia, dove sono cresciuto. Abbiamo apparteneva ad un beach club chiamato, “La Sabbia e Mare”! In origine era la casa sulla spiaggia di Marion Davies, lei era la “fidanzata” di William Randolph Hearst. Tanto amore da “West Coast”! Mia ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. How nice, you grow
        with the blue ocean and the melody of the waves accompanied by the gentle caress of the wind and the heat of the sun, really fantastic.
        Nice video then there is Lana Del Rey is dark beautiful 🙂
        Thank you so much for all of this again and again so much love for you ❤

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Van Gogh also said that “Normality is a paved road: it’s comfortable to walk, but no flowers grow on it.” Your writing reminds me of the beautiful wild flowers on the side of a road or a forest path. Each poem is delicately crafted. Each one causes us to stop, ponder and admire.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank your lovely thoughts and including a remarkable quote by Van Gogh. I’m delighted to read that my writing reminds you of something beautiful. You have truly warmed my heart with your words. Wishing you a wonderful and creative week ahead. ~ Mia xo

      Like

  2. I love everything about this Mia!! The title is just so perfect too. An analgesic that can stop the pain, yet it’s one of the most combustable substances on earth. It is a double edged sword to be sure. I adore this song by Hozier! I’ve seen him perform several times, he is such a talent…as are you Mia!! I always look forward to reading your writing. Have an amazing day! – Lola 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lola, thank you! I’m delighted that you liked the word play with “Ether”, exactly. Smiling, Hozier’s work is profound, he’s very clever with his words, at least I think so. It’s always a pleasure to read your comments they are written with such kindness. Thank you, it has been a lovely days so far, please do the same, enjoy the rest of your Monday. Take good care. ~ Mia 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Mia,

    “Ether” is such a moving piece that speaks to all, calling out the numbness, the imbalance, the blurred “vision”. I thoroughly enjoyed reading it several times picking favorite verses each time till I realized, if I was a highlighter, I would have been on every word.

    The emotions you generate with this piece are phenomenal.

    The photograph is stunning. One of the reasons why I enjoy your pieces is that I get to have the privilege to get acquainted with talented artists you present to us.

    Much love to you my dear friend!
    Dajena ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dear Dajena, thank you for sharing your kindness and lovely thoughts.

      This certainly was not the prettiest of poems by far. I adore the following Nietzsche quote, “That which does not kill us makes us stronger.” And as always you are right on target, this is a very emotional piece.

      I’m pleased to read that you like the photo, Eleanor does some amazing photography with mannequins, quite unique, she’s a wonderfully talent artist.

      You are such a sweet and dear friend, thank you for all the warm words that you grace me with. Wishing you a beautiful day fill with much love and sunshine. ~ Mia ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Dear Mia,

        Love the quote and I would like to reciprocate with what we say in Albanian: “A broken bone, does not break twice on the same spot” (I hope meaning is not lost in translation 🙂 ) This is certainly a broken world, and we are lucky to see beauty amidst of ashes.
        May you have a thrilling Thursday 😀
        Smiles, love and hugs,
        Dajena ❤

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Thank you Dajena, for a lovely reply and I’m in awe of the quote (love it). I would like to think that we can build castles from the ashes. The day has been wonderful so far, wishing the same for you. Please have a beautiful afternoon and evening. Smiling back, sending much love and many hugs.
          ~ Mia ❤

          Liked by 1 person

          1. 🙂 🙂 My afternoon was beautiful and I believe that my night will follow suit. 🙂 Love your enthusiasm as I love you!
            ❤ ❤ Dajena

            Liked by 1 person

  4. As usual vivid work, visually striking. lots of images in my mind after reading this. Though I always doubt my interpretation of your work… whether I have fully grasped it.. so I’m doing a bit of stalking on your work now.. reading your previous works, I hope you don’t mind 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes – read the first two posts. And liked them. 🙂

        I see that your blog isn’t very old. And there was a maturity in your writing from the word go. For how long you have been writing?

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Nitin, how kind of you to notice. I’ve been writing for a long time. I’m actually a visual artist and quite captivated with all aspects of language and word usage, both the correct and incorrect. The written word is fascinating and can be quite powerful. Another intriguing thing is the alphabet itself, regardless of the language, the beauty contained within each letter or symbol. Sounds a little silly I know, but that is how I see the world. Probably more than you wanted to know, ha-ha! 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Woww. Visual artist -indeed, this shows up in your own work. No – I totally get what you are saying. Though I have a lot of catching up to do, to reach the level you are in terms of understanding the alphabet, but I have felt it, the lingering beauty in the letters and the alphabet.

            Nice to know this about you. Thanks for sharing 🙂

            Liked by 1 person

          2. Nitin, you’re so kind, I’m pleased that you understand what I’m rambling about in regard to the letters and the alphabet. I don’t believe for one moment that you have any catching up to do. You are a gifted writer, one that is able to take my mind miles away with your words.

            I may have been writing daily for a long time, but I would never consider myself a writer by any stretch of the imagination, rather an accidental tourist on an extended vacation, ha-ha! 🙂

            I hope that you have a wonderful Thursday. ~ Mia

            Liked by 1 person

  5. Had to come check this out. A perfect bedtime story. Everything intertwined beautifully and was nicely combusted by your brilliant prose. The talented Mia does it again. Great work! 🙂 Enjoy the rest of your evening and have a wonderful tomorrow. Whatever day that is. 🙂 *Hugs* ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Definitely light reading before bed, ha-ha, you’re funny! Thankfully you didn’t suffer from spontaneous human combustion! 😉 Thank you so much for the kind words, wishing you a wonderful Friday, please enjoy! ~ Mia 🙂

      Like

  6. Mia, this a very strong poem/post. I have read it a number of times, and still can’t wrap my head around it’s true meaning. But that’s the great thing about your work. It really makes one stop and think. Your posts can never be read nonchalantly. I was sitting with my laptop in the living room, and I could hear all sorts of noise outside. I had to come into my room, where it’s quiet so that I could better focus and concentrate.
    Having said that, I will take a shot. The title and first stanza makes me think that one has been playing with fire, and of course, got seriously burned. Burned, yet not necessarily feeling it, or even possibly caring so much. Maybe just trying to cover up shame?…
    Another feeling I get is one of a person that, through life experience, innocence has been lost, and what she thought was true and right at one point, has proven to not be so. Experiencing suffering and disappointment has hardened her heart, and possibly caused a rebellious attitude.
    I think I’m way out there this time, my friend. Hahaha. Hopefully not too much out there though.
    Splendid photo. The look on the mannequins faces is a dark and solemn.
    Hope you’ve had an excellent week and that you have a wonderful weekend.
    🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Staci, thank you for such a lovely compliment. I so appreciate that you take the time to read and understand my intent. I’m thrilled that you liked the work of Eleanor and her mannequins, she’s a pretty incredible artist. In all honesty, this was a difficult poem to write, although good for my soul, ha-ha. You are very much in line and in no way out there. 🙂

      All of our experiences are unique, but some of us share a common denominator. You know this is just the bottom line, children are very fragile during their development and it’s my truest belief that hope holds hand with resiliency. Sometimes we have to burn the house down to start over.

      Thank you again for your kindness. Wishing you a wonderful weekend too! Enjoy and create!
      ~ Mia 🙂 ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ohhh, haha. I’m glad I’m not way out there.
        I completely agree, all of our experiences are unique. They may share a common denominator, but still individual, right. I love that @hope holds hand with resiliency. Like a hanging on and not giving up.
        It’s funny that you say “Sometimes we have to burn the house down to start over.” because that is exactly what happened to me. No lie. For real. I lost everything in the fire when I was 19. Earlier on that same day, the boyfriend I was living with and I broke up, and I had somewhat of a revelation that changed the entire course of my life. Quite the experience, that’s for sure.
        At any rate, that was all for the good, and I’m so glad that it did happen. It gave that kick in the butt to ‘start over’.
        I hope you had a lovely weekend Mia.
        🙂 ❤

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Staci, I want to thank you for a wonderful reply. “Like a hanging on and not giving up.” I don’t see giving up as an option. Things can definitely be challenging at times, sometime I think that’s the plan, otherwise nothing is learned. You certainly experienced divine intervention firsthand, I can’t even begin to imagine what that must have been like. What a way to start over, I’m delighted to read, “that was all for the good, and I’m so glad that it did happen”.

          Wishing you a lovely and creative week. ~ Mia 🙂 ❤

          Liked by 1 person

  7. O Mia…’Ether’ is just tranquilizing ….very deeply involved and heartfelt
    ‘…Fueled the carmine fire;
    Char licked misery
    A scorched mystery;
    North winds flared —
    Caring innocence
    Far away’….brilliant …high all the way…u r a craftswomen
    ‘Playing With Fire’, I reckon is in balance to it

    I have loved Hozier since ‘Take me to the church’, who cannot? ….though I heard ‘Arsonist’s Lullabye’ for the first time.

    And the quote is just awesome……have a wonderful weekend 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Saaransh, thank you for such kind words. “Ether is just tranquilizing”, how true! Apparently consumption of ether was quite in vogue, still somewhat of a problem in Poland. Truly, I love Hozier, after I wrote this, I thought of no other song. I’m delighted that you like the quote. Wishing you a wonderful weekend as well. Please take good care. ~ Mia 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Mia, the opening of this piece is powerful “Lit my last cigarette, With a match, That could never be, Struck again.” and then I just let the Ether take over… trying to find and reach the fire in my soul.

    “Char licked misery, A scorched mystery” you’ve seen my soul 🙂
    Beautiful work, from the words, to the quote/photography and music…you’ve filled all my senses.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey you, Mr. Freshly, thank you so much. That’s what I get for smoking and drinking ether at the same time, the buzz is really hot but short lived. 😉 I hope you’re having an wonderful weekend. ~ Mia

      Liked by 1 person

  9. How wonderful – I was just trying to figure out what all that meant whilst waiting for part 2 of the England match to begin and I caught a snatch of a song from a TV ad – I’m a firestarter by (i think) Prodigy. ‘Ah,’ I thought ‘that’s it!’ 🙂
    So many clues we get – what’s not to love about this life?

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Hey, just found your blog because of your excellent feature on Ryan Stone’s blog. Very much love your poetry and am happy to have come across it and read more. I enjoyed how you said in your bio that you like to let the reader define the poem for themselves, I think thats smart poetry 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you for following the link over and for your lovely comment. Ryan did a stellar job of putting together the post, I’m so honored to have been invited to be featured. I’m pleased to read that you enjoyed my effort, “Ether”. Thank you again, wishing you a wonderful day. Please take care. ~ Mia

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

