Torch Singer

Oubliettes  — Ellen Rogers

 

Torch Singer
10 Words Only


Give me a brilliant mind over a warm body anytime.

 

“Yes, my consuming desire is to mingle with road crews, sailors and soldiers, barroom regulars—to be a part of a scene, anonymous, listening, recording—all this is spoiled by the fact that I am a girl, a female always supposedly in danger of assault and battery. My consuming interest in men and their lives is often misconstrued as a desire to seduce them, or as an invitation to intimacy. Yes, God, I want to talk to everybody as deeply as I can. I want to be able to sleep in an open field, to travel west, to walk freely at night…”      Vision
― Sylvia Plath, The Unabridged Journals of Sylvia Plath

Lana Del Rey – “Burning Desire”

80 thoughts on “Torch Singer

    1. Alan, there is much to know about her. Even if you just wiki her, I think you will be amazed. I love the way she put words to paper, very intense and profound. She is one of my favorites for so many reasons. Wishing you a marvelous weekend. Please take good care. ~ Mia 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Mia,

    Love everything about this post. Plath, Lana.. and you. Three women that are on the top list of inspirational women for me.

    The quote reminded me of what I was telling someone earlier today: Wit is educated insolence – said Aristotle – and I, Dajena, will have it no other way! 😀

    I will take it three times a day, after food, or before.
    Love you dear friend!
    ❤ ❤ Dajena

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dajena, thank you, you’re so very kind, if only to be in the company of these two, if only! 🙂

      Truly a marvelous quote by Aristotle, is there any other way to live? Ha-ha, taken before or after food, I love it! Maybe it should be an Rx for everyone, what a delight that would be.

      You are such a dear friend, thank you AND you get me, ha-ha! Always much love and great admiration, Mia ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. 🙂 All the three ladies I mentioned would be marvelous company for me 🙂
        Let’s keep leaving like this, with or without RX for all 😉
        Love to you sweet Mia!
        ❤ Dajena

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Perfect choice of words for Torch Singer. Only if you were to sing them would they be any better. Wonderful quote by Sylvia which Lana balances beautifully I believe. Liked the photo – oubliettes of the mind perhaps? Obviously you were given a brilliant mind. Vous faites le coeur chanter. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dearest Maverick, thank you. I’m so delighted that you pieced this all together. I know, it would be a perfect line in a song for a Torch Singer. I adore Sylvia, she had a way of saying things that some of us can relate to and connect with. I mean really at times I find myself wanting very much the same thing. Lana is a Torch Singer no doubt, I think “Burning Desire” is the ideal song and video for making this point. Oubliettes of the mind absolutely, I’ve been look for an escape forever, ha-ha! Can’t find the trap door in what is the ceiling of my mind, ha-ha! Merci. Merci.

      Please have a wonderful Friday evening, hoping you have some fun things planned for tomorrow. Thank you for making me smile. *Big Hugs* ❤

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Jade, you may want to start with her final collection of poems, Ariel. There is also Plath’s novel, The Bell Jar, which is largely autobiographical. But of course there is so much more. I happen to be a huge lover of her writings, it can be deep, dark and quite thought provoking, but I wouldn’t have it any other way. I hope this is helpful. You may check with others as they may have a different opinion or reading suggestion for you. I hope you enjoy her words as much as I do. Please take good care and have a wonderful weekend.
      ~ Mia

      Like

  3. This article is a surplus of wonderful artists that I really like, like you and your choices.
    Ellen Rogers adore with his magic art, Sylvia Plath I really like how the author, while Lana Del Rey is sensually fantastic ….. and you’re a love ❤
    Enjoy your weekend a kiss from Rome.

    Soul.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. My dear Soul, thank you. I’m delighted that you like how all the pieces fit together. Lana is fantastic, beautiful to watch and listen to. Sylvia’s words stir the soul, and Ellen’s image take me a million miles away. Please enjoy your Saturday afternoon. Always much love for you, Mia ❤

      Like

    1. Thank you for such splendid words. Delighted that you adore, “Oubliettes”, pretty much an integral part of the post. I feel much the same about Sylvia’s words and Lana’s emotions, she is beautiful in this video, truly the epitome of a Torch Singer. Thank you again, please enjoy! ~ Mia 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. You’re killing me with this one, dear Mia. Lana – my one and only celebrity crush who always makes me feel like she sings for me alone; the amazing mind of Sylvia who understands me like no one else and explains complexity with simplicity; oubliette – a place for forgetting, a prison for the mind…and, of course, your own beautiful words. What a beautiful, imaginative mind you possess, my friend. I love this post in so many ways for so many reasons 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dear Ryan, you have graced me with the most lovely thoughts. Lana is incredible, her story is fascinating and her transition from the underground scene to her international success is certainly more than inspiring. Sylvia, truly a brilliant mind, her words often stop me in my tracks. Smiling that you noticed, “oubliette”, such a pretty word, but a little sinister, definitely a prison for the mind. Thank you again, I’m so vey pleased that you like this effort, a puzzle of sort. Please take good care. ~ Mia 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I really enjoy your puzzles and finding the link between each aspect. All are interesting in their own right and made better once I discover the thought you’ve joined them with (or at least my interpretation of your idea!). Don’t stop 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Mia, I totally agree. I’d much rather have a brilliant mind than a warm body. Then again, both would be a bullseye, wouldn’t it. Hahaha.
    “Yes, God, I want to talk to everybody as deeply as I can.”
    — Heck ya! Sylvia Plath knew what she was talking about. I also enjoy the deep conversations. Like mental candy (or chocolate in my case. I’m not much of a candy girl 🙂 ).
    You always come up with these great titles and photos Mia. This photo has a great filter to it.
    Have a lovely week.
    🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Absolutely, both would be ideal. 😉 I love what Sylvia is saying here, wouldn’t it be wonderful to talk deeply with everyone? Thank you I’m glad you liked the title, the photo really spoke to me. That reminds, are you still taking your photography class? Please have a lovely week as well. 🙂 ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh yes, I am still taking the class. I believe it goes until July. It’s very good. I’m not getting as much time as I would like to practice, but the good thing is that I’m finally starting to understand photography more.
        🙂 ❤
        Thank you for the well wishes.
        🙂 ❤

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Staci, good to hear, I didn’t know if “the foot” interfered with your ability to continue the class. I loved the photos you posted, I hope that you will share some more, possibly in the future. Please enjoy the rest of your week and have a marvelous upcoming weekend. ~ Mia 🙂 ❤

          Liked by 1 person

      1. Mia, they’re great. You really have to choose just the right words, don’t you?
        Have a great rest of the week.
        I noticed you posted. I will be reading it today. Tuesdays I am away all afternoon so it’s tough to do any blogging. Looking forward to reading your newest work.
        🙂 ❤

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Staci, I think that’s what so fun about the “10 Words Only” is just that, selecting the right words. I don’t know how successful I am, just hoping that my thoughts are conveyed in a somewhat cohesive manner, ha-ha! I want to thank you very much for your kind words and your generous and gracious support of my efforts. Please enjoy the rest of your week, always wishing the best for you and your foot. ~ Mia

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Haha. My foot is so much better. I’ve been running and working out all week (run/hop).
            Always welcome Mia. And yes, you are very successful in your 10 word pieces. The message is loud and clear.
            Have a wonderful weekend Mia.
            🙂 ❤

            Liked by 1 person

    1. Nitin, I would most definitely agree with you, I’m re-infected with my love for Slyvia every time I read her words. Thank you so much for your kindness and lovely thoughts. Please enjoy the rest of your week. ~ Mia 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Interesting Sylvia Plath quote. I know she’s a very different kind of writer, but the quote made me think of George Orwell, who also liked to be in among working people, talking, observing and recording.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. It’s sentiments like this that have kept me vital 😉 Buttressed beautifully by a Plath quote. I wonder if the world felt too confining for such a free spirit? Love your work.

    PS, I “mistakenly” emailed you a hello again. lol

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Vitality is important. 😉 I like your words, “the world felt too confining for such a free spirit”, I agree, I do believe there were many factors that made her world feel confining. Thank you for the lovely comment. Wishing you a wonderful evening and a brilliant Wednesday ahead. ~ Mia 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Hi I’m new to the blogging life and was wondering if you could read my work and follow me I’d appreciate it as i am interested in literature and spoken word and lack a bit of confidence Thank you for your time and have a nice dayy

    Like

Leave a Reply

