Enola Leaves

Photography by Ellen Rogers

 

Enola Leaves


At every turn, push away
Saving grace
Alleviating some pain;
A blessed yoyo wafer,
At every yank
Pull back again.
Things would be easier
If hate played its hand.
Stares that look secure,
Aren’t.
They’re made of sand;
Burying deep
Coveting — eternal sleep.

Lamenting zodiac’s sign
Making us stutter
Dare we, address it by name;
Ca-Ca-Ca-Cancer:
A rogue cell killing machine.
Checking obituaries piously
Horrors cope religiously
Every mourning captured in print:
Today’s your lucky day
Ink lies, as does the page.
The unwelcome prognosis
Stains — beguiled by sage.

In the mean time
Is a Mean Time.
Musical chairs play
The Staying Game,
To a familiar tune
The Crying Game,
With an overture
The Waiting Game.
We’re on the sign-up sheet
For the last dance;
Will we find redemption
When the fat lady sings?

 

Is there a state of being which is less painful than the perpetual state of breathing?      Chaos
— M. L. Lurie, The Lost Journals
      Sacrifice

Lana Del Rey — Born To Die”

61 thoughts on “Enola Leaves

          1. La tua città deve essere molto bella a volte mi capita di vederla in TV in qualche documentario o movie.
            Ti auguro una bellissima giornata.
            Enjoy ❤

            Liked by 1 person

          2. Parti della città sono incantevoli. Proprio come tutte le grandi città alcuni non sono così bello. Noi manca il fascino, la storia e la bellezza che esiste a Roma. Augurandovi una bella giornata pure. Amore, Mia ❤

            Liked by 1 person

          3. Quello che dici è vero, ma a me piace molto il lungomare che ha la tua città che affaccia sul Pacifico che spettacolo un immenso blu!
            Wishing you well my dear and lovely friend ❤

            Soul.

            Liked by 1 person

          4. Dove vado io il mare si trova a circa 30 Km verso Roma Nord sull’Aurelia, la quale è una strada consolare che inizia da Roma e prende il nome dall’Imperatore Marco Aurelio ed arriva fino al confine Sud della Francia costeggiando il Mare Tirreno 🙂
            Con Amore e Simpatia ti auguro un eccellente Venerdi,bacio da Roma!

            Enjoy ❤

            Liked by 1 person

  1. You always find the perfect vintage photo. Feel like I’ve fallen into the abyss. 🙂 Excellent poem Mia and nice choice with Lana. Sad, but well stated. Have a wonderful evening. *Hugs* ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, I’m glad you think so. Look how long it takes me to complete a post, seven days, ha-ha! That allows me plenty of time to find the perfect photo, laughing so hard. Oh yes, it’s a terribly sad poem, with a lot of sad elements for sure. One day I’ll surprise you and write about puffy clouds and sparkly things, maybe, maybe not. Lana did her job for me, difficult topic and she looked good doing it! What more could you ask for. 🙂 Thank you as always for your most gracious and kind comments, it means so much to me. Have a wonderful evening as well. * Hugs* ❤

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Saaransh, I really like Lana as well, I find her music to be very emotional, a lot of depth and darkness contained within the lyrics. Thank you for your gracious words, you have brought a smile to my face. Wishing you an enjoyable rest of the week. Please take good care. ~ Mia

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I have morbid/happy thoughts once I wake. I sat outside with my dog today. Amazed, I did not stop breathing last night. One never knows. I was thinking that life and death are married, (not my line) Felt so grateful, hoping that I can coast out the last 20 years (?) of my life. Felt like calling family, tellin’ them I love them. Love the line about saving grace. Zap! A person is gone, learned that too early in life. Be forewarned that once again, you have proved inspirational towards my creativity, though what may happen could be totally predictable. take care!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think we all have morbid and happy thoughts, people that say they never have a morbid thought, well I just don’t believe it. It’s human nature. Rant over, ha-ha! Well life and death certainly hold hands, married or not, absolutely. One never knows if, “Today’s your lucky day”, right? Pleased to read that you like that line. “Zap” is a good description. Delighted to be helpful. Ted, thank you for a lovely comment, truly. Have a wonderful afternoon and evening! ~ Mia

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I am not certain that you are aware, that in the prose, you mentioned the song called , ‘the Crying Game’ , which lead me to do a cover of the song. Lucky day= winning the billion dollar lottery and having a fatal heart attack simultaneously.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Mia, once again I must applaud you for your insight into the deeper things of the human spirit and mind. I’m not entirely too sure about my interpretation on this one but I believe you are touching on the complexities involved in romantic human relationships (you correct me if I’m wrong – haha). Enola makes me think of the plane that dropped the first Atomic bomb. That caused a lot of pain. Cancer as well, causes a lot of pain. The idea of an unhealthy relationship between two individuals, and the co-dependency… the hurt and pain involved… the lies spoken as truth… the emotional turmoil… the waiting until it finally comes to its death… The last stanza is killer. Love your play on words.
    Bravo Mia.
    Have a wonderful rest of the week.
    🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Staci, I want to thank you for the wonderful comment, investing your time, the reading of this effort and leaving me your marvelous thoughts. You’re always right on target. I think for me the entire idea behind this poem, is a kind of “Until Death Do Us Part” made up of multiple scenarios, primarily romantic in nature, but also including the loss of a loved one under any circumstance.

      I believe the process of dying is difficult, especially when it’s within the setting of a relationship. All the roles and identities of the individuals involved evolve and change. It’s very demanding and frustrating, even the heathiest relationship can be challenged to the point of becoming unhealthy, it’s just not the norm. My heart goes out to people that face this type of situation.

      I also love the word, “Enola” interesting it is, “Alone” backwards and also means Magnolia. You’re correct about Enola Gay, WWII is a most significant period in history for me. Yes, the dropping of “Little Boy” was horrific and the radioactive fallout was deadly as well. Of course there was also the idea that many different groups of individuals were considered a type of cancer that needed to be eradicated too. So here you have a situation where there was so much death and destruction from all sides.

      Yes indeed the last stanza does sum things up. You know I truly wonder at the end of the day, or when everything is said and done will we find solace and the redemption that we’re looking for?

      Off topic, slightly. Have you ever seen the movie, “Das Boot”? It’s actually an amazing film, looking at the men on a particular U-boat. The film makes everyone human, the lines disappear, regardless of who you are or your own personal history with WWII, just my opinion. Ha-ha, boot made me think of your foot. How is your foot and how are you managing? Well I hope.

      Apologies for writing a small book! I just can never thank you enough and I so appreciate the thoughts that you have to offer. Thank you again, wishing you a wonderful rest of the week as well. Please take good care. ~ Mia 🙂 ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. “I believe the process of dying is difficult”
        -heck ya. The Bible says it’s the last enemy to be destroyed. Anybody that tells me that they’re not in the slightest way scared of or effected by it is either lying or seriously deceived. At least that’s what I think.
        “All the roles and identities of the individuals involved evolve and change.”
        -Absolutely. Life is not stagnant. I love that actually. It’s constantly changing, and we change along with our experiences.
        Hey wow! I didn’t recognize that before about ‘Enola’. Isn’t that cool (so to speak).
        “You know I truly wonder at the end of the day, or when everything is said and done will we find solace and the redemption that we’re looking for?”
        –Well, suffering is a very real part of everybody’s life. I think that more don’t find solace than those that do. But there are those that do. A lot of it has to do with the choices we make and the attitude we take I think.
        I have never seen “Das Boot”. I should see if I can find it on Netflix. Haha @my foot. Well, it’s ok. Still weak and recovering. I guess it’s a slow process. Even though I’m not wearing the boot anymore, it’s still going to take some time until it’s back to normal. Bummer actually. But I’m getting around ok, and I can do most things. Just can’t run yet, or do any heavy cardio. Actually, very little cardio. I did exercises on Monday for the first time in a month and now my thighs are so sore I can hardly walk. Hahaha.
        Anyhow, have a great Thursday afternoon and evening Mia. And thanks for the wonderful response.
        🙂 ❤

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Staci, I agree they would have to be lying or as you say, which I love, “seriously deceived”. I’m always baffled by those that don’t realize that everything changes moment by moment. I suppose it’s just a mindset.

          Maybe acceptance holds hands with solace, again I agree with you, the scale is most definitely tipped towards not finding it, sad. All in the choices we make, or decide to make.

          I think you will like the movie, primarily because of the social implications it offers. Glad to hear that you did workout, moving in a positive direction. Please continue to feel better. Thank you for a most wonderful response. Enjoy your Friday evening and the entire weekend for that matter. ~ Mia 🙂 ❤

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Mia, I found the movie on Youtube actually. I didn’t watch it yet because I was with my husband and a friend of ours, and being that it is a longer movie, I don’t think they wanted to watch it at the time. I will watch it soon. I’m interested to see what it’s all about.
            Thank you for the well wishes Mia. My foot is getting much better, thankfully.
            🙂 ❤

            Liked by 1 person

  4. I enjoy the layers of your sensual, intelligent and thought provoking writing. There is much depth and some of it, I believe, should be interpreted as metaphor with a underlying story that we can only guess at.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for a lovely comment. I’m pleased that you enjoy my writing. True a lot of metaphors and a lot of underlying stories. Thank you again, please have a wonderful and creative day.
      Warm regards, Mia

      Like

  5. This is a wonderful work Mia. Deep and profound. I have reread it multiple times, and still don’t know how right my interpretation is, but one thing I found in all the three stanzas was the juxtaposition of opposite kind of things…(not literally may be, but figuratively, for sure) .. so push and pull in the first one, cancer -the zodiac and cancer -the disease, the mean time and the ‘mean’ time in the last. Reading it evoke a strong feelings, like something stirring deep inside of me, and the rich metaphors enriched the imagination.. . glad to have read it first thing today… 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Nitin, thank you for investing your time to read my effort and for sharing your delightful words. Your right, there seems to be a dichotomy found in all things. Perhaps this is not the happiest of subjects, but it is what it is. I think there is a delicate balance between life and death and all the living that we packing into our time between the beginning and the end. Also I believe it can be both comfortable and uncomfortable at times, so that’s how I arrive at the “Mean Time”. Thank you again my friend, it’s always wonderful to see your smiling picture! Please enjoy your weekend. ~ Mia 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. How many ways you’ve managed to incorporate ‘Enola’ into this, clever Mia. The plane, Enola Gay, was named for the mother of its pilot, Hiroshima and Little Boy, the backwards feeling of being Alone…your words and ideas send my mind into tailspin.
    I love Lana, and this song in particular – it is a perfect soundtrack to your words. You left me pondering how love changes over the course of a relationship/lifetime and how there are many small deaths on the road to the big one. Ultimately, how strong must a love be to survive some circumstances and what is left if it fails? A powerful write, my friend. Your mind is a treasure 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ryan, you are marvelous the way you are able to read my efforts and intent. I’m thinking out loud and please correct me if you find I’m wrong. There are pieces we write without regard to ourselves in the sense that the words don’t hurt and then there are the pieces that have a deeper personal meaning, sometimes these are the ones that are painful. But we write them anyway.

      I love every bit of your comment, Enola is a wonderful word for so many reasons, I’m very happy that you liked this. Really there was no second choice, “Born To Die” was it! I especially appreciate your mentioning of, “how love changes” and the “many small deaths” along the way. I often wonder about the staying power of love as we weather the many storms of life, also the impact these challenges have on our relationships, changing us forever. Oh, how happy! ha-ha! 🙂 Thank you once again my friend for your lovely thoughts. Have a fabulous week. ~ Mia 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

