Coming Up for Air

Alice in Wonderland  — Kristamas Klousch

 

Coming Up for Air


“A tisket A tasket”
Hell in a handbasket.
Allemande right
Cow’s left, mad with disease
Unable to jump over the moon;
I can’t find any candlestick makers
Any blackbirds for pies
Georgie Porgie was never well.
Bonnie and Clyde:
The new Hansel and Gretel
Humming Devo’s, “Big Mess”.
Madam, Old Mother Hubbard
Runs, “Dirty Laundry”
A brothel in Pahrump;
Heidi Fleiss claims to be clean
That’s yet to be seen.
I can’t find my way back home
All my bread crumbs have blown away;
But, “Hey Diddle Diddle”
I’ll just follow the dish and the spoon
I’m sure they know the way.

 

“Here’s to the crazy ones. The misfits. The rebels. The troublemakers. The round pegs in the square holes. The ones who see things differently. They’re not fond of rules. And they have no respect for the status quo. You can quote them, disagree with them, glorify or vilify them. About the only thing you can’t do is ignore them. Because they change things. They push the human race forward. And while some may see them as the crazy ones, we see genius. Because the people who are crazy enough to think they can change the world, are the ones who do.”
― Rob Siltanen
     Earth


The Kills – “The Good Ones”

56 thoughts on “Coming Up for Air

    1. Ted, thank you, how kind of you. We must have just passed each other, I was just leaving a comment on your video, “Call It a Self-Portrait, Inside Out”. I watched it last night and couldn’t get it out of my mind. It’s really terrific, but you can read my thoughts on your site. Thanks again for sharing! Have a wonderful Friday and enjoy your weekend. ~ Mia

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Mia the Mad Hatter. 🙂 Loved your poem with your beautiful madness and the quote’s one of my favs. Kindred spirits I’d dare say. Have become fond of The Kills lately, can’t imagine why. Kristamas Klousch I looked up and found to be interesting. Nice work with everything my friend. Parting is such sweet sorrow but alas… you have a wonderful evening. ❤

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Mad, probably just a bit. You know to tell you the truth, I’m actually not a hat wearing person, they drive me “mad”, ha-ha! I know, what a wonderful quote, everything has it’s time and today was the day to use it. I can’t imagine why you are becoming fond of The Kills, but I think I know. 😉 Did you really like the work of Kristamas Klousch? She has a vintage and odd appeal. It is sweet sorrow, but we always have tomorrow! Have a peaceful evening my friend. *Hugs* ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ha – henceforth she be known as Mia No Hat. Although hats can be good for bad hair days. 🙂 Yes, I really did like Kristamas Klousch. Normally I’m not crazy about selfies but she does provide a unique interpretation with a vintage appeal to her work. Tis the lark, the herald of the morn now, so good morning. Have a great day! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Ha-ha, M.N.H. 🙂 I think that’s true, but the bad hair day just got worse when you take off the hat! Exactly, her work is unique. Thank you for the good morning wishes, I hope you’re out and about having a wonderful time with the camera! 🙂

          Like

  2. Well now Mia… this was quite a glimpse of your poetry and a delicious first taste that swirled and danced deliciously around my mind. Btw, I can’t stand the box and have never fit in it.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. M, thank you for your lovely and generous words. I often wonder what percentage of the population lives in the ONE-SIZE-FITS-ALL-BOX? I’m sure the scale is tipped heavily towards the box. It’s an interesting phenomena, once you realize you don’t fit, which is great by the way, there seems to be a total shift in mind set, all perspectives and perceptions change. I want to believe that makes us more empathetic to those that still reside in the box. That’s why I love the poem, “The Genius Of The Crowd” by Charles Bukowski. I think his words give those in the box, permission to love us until they hate us, which he then suggest becomes, “their finest art”.

      Looking forward to visiting you before the end of my day. I hope all is well with you, please enjoy yourself and have great inspiration throughout the weekend. ~ Mia

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Just got back from Paisley Park. Talking about a beautiful soul that lived outside the box and validating your comment about “their finest art”. I will look up his poem and I appreciate the reference.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Indeed, a beautiful soul, wonderfully stated. If and when you’re in the mood, the poem is on my about page, that’s all you’ll find there, “The Genius Of The Crowd”. Wishing you a peaceful rest of the day.
          Always, Mia

          Liked by 1 person

  3. A different perspective on many old tales, Mia…but somehow you’ve made them feel far more real to me. I love your brand of crazy-it feels like home to me. The dark truths of this poem are so very appealing. You’ve left me breathless once more 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Ryan, you’re always so gracious and beyond kind with your words, I want to thank you for that. Ha-ha, sometimes I think my brand of crazy lives in the dark corner of the closet. 😉 Thank you again, please enjoy your week. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Mia, this photo of Kristamas Klousch art is too amazing! I love all the references of your witty you! It is a poem that has beauty and as always that humorous sting. I smiled with you reading this. 🙂
    Love to you bellisima!
    ❤ ❤
    Dajena

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dajena, I absolutely love her photography, I can’t recall if I have ever used her video. If not I will. This was a fun one. I’m delighted to read that you were smiling with me. I think the quote by Rob Siltanen pretty much sums it up, ha-ha. Thank you for your wonderful comment, they’re always exciting to read. Wishing you a lovely afternoon and evening. Much love to you, beautiful Dajena!
      ~ Mia ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I will be looking to the video. 🙂 She seems a delight to peruse. I hope you are having a great week so far, and that your hands have not been hurt by any rock 😀
        ❤ ❤ Dajena

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Dajena, Let me just pop the video in here, as I have not an idea at the moment how to use it creatively in a post yet. There are several, I like this one the best. Feel free to watch, only if time allows, please don’t feel you must. It has been a wonderful week so far, likewise I hope yours has been too! Enjoy the rest of Thursday. With Love, Mia ❤

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Will give it a try when I am home this weekend 😀
            Thank you and happy to hear your week has been wonderful! May the weekend follow suit 😀
            love, Dajena ❤

            Liked by 1 person

        1. Thank you for taking the time to watch it. Her work can be provocative and dark, I think it stirs something within the viewer. Interesting she uses herself as the subject in most of her photos.

          The photography scene is just exploding, especially now with all the iPhone apps, so many great photos and artists are coming to the surface. Please enjoy Friday evening with your family.
          Much love, Mia ❤

          Liked by 1 person

          1. I agree, there are many artists that are taking advantage of various apps and the possibility of mass-media distribution within seconds. 🙂
            My Friday has been super! Hope yours is the same.
            ❤ ❤
            Love, Dajena

            Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Axl. Delighted you like those lines. This was a fun one, not a pull your hair out one, ha-ha! Why is it that some poems are agonizing to write, while others seem to write themselves? Can you please tell me that? Ha-ha, so nice you see you here! Have a great afternoon and evening!
      ~ Mia

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Love a good nursery rhyme flip. This is a fantastic and fun piece with excellent rhythm. Sadly though I must give it an update, as the dish was found Shattered…..Splattered all over…..Manhattan. (Rolling Stones) Because it seems the Dish discovered a Needle with Spoon.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you, for the update! “Love and hope and sex and dreams”, that’s what the spoon was looking for. 😉 I’m glad you liked this effort, these are always fun to write. I love when the ridiculous reveals some truths.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

