Cougar

Being Frida Kahlo  — Artist Martina Rall

 

Cougar
10 Words Only


The black widow by nature, can devour her mate alive.

 

“If I didn’t care for fun and such,
I’d probably amount to much.
But I shall stay the way I am,
Because I do not give a damn.”
― Dorothy Parker, Enough Rope
      Superstition

I selected this image not because I consider Frida Kahlo a cougar, or because of her many notorious love affairs, but more so for her ferocious and fearless nature.  If you know her history, then you will understand my choice.  I have the utmost admiration for her artwork and who she was as a person for many reasons.

68 thoughts on “Cougar

    1. Thank you so much for you kindness. I want you to know that I’m laughing, because I was just going to edit the post, “The black widow can eat her mate without a gag”, or maybe it should be “bib”! But, sadly no one *gets* my sense of humor! ~ Mia

      Liked by 1 person

    1. You are most welcome and thank you. I remembered that you like Frida Kahlo, I thought of you when I was looking for the right image, which of course took me forever. I’m glad you found the humor in it, as that was the intent. So glad that it made you smile. I’m really pleased that my humor does not offend you, ha-ha! 😉 Have a peaceful night! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Have a good Sunday my great friend.
    Here today from me there is a bright sun do you send a part so you too can enjoy the warmth and light. 🙂
    xoxo

    Soul.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Soul, thank you. I’m delighted to read that you are enjoying the sunshine, I actually have a little here, the sun is going in and out from behind the clouds. I hope that you’ve had a wonderful Sunday so far, enjoy the rest of your day and have a lovely evening! Much love is on its way to Rome. ~ Mia ❤

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Agreed, life should be approached with a ferocious and fearless nature, at least that’s what I think too! Otherwise, what would be the point? My mother always taught me life is for the living, you have all eternity to rest. Although I don’t think she expected me to be such a wild child.

      Oh, but of course nurturing is part of the pleasure-pain cycle! The best part comes after the suffering, right? Charly, thank you for a wonderful reply, I enjoy reading your thoughts. Take care. ~ Mia

      Like

      1. I still got more thoughts, and one of my rules in most cases that is and in the good way although I will admit I did some bad things, the rule : I you are not living on the edge you are taking up too much space.
        Remember, living on the edge in the good way

        Liked by 1 person

        1. By all means, please always share. Ha-ha, that’s great, “too much space”! I will remember that, next time I’m on the edge in a questionable way, I’ll just say, “I’m following Charly’s rule”. Thank you!

          Like

  2. 10 in reply: The clever poet carves precisely with her razor sharp wit…
    How I love and have missed your writing and humour, dear Mia. Perfectly Frida, beautifully portrayed. Your writing is a breath of fresh air 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. “The clever poet carves precisely with her razor sharp wit…” I absolutely adore this, you are ever so kind and ever so clever! I want to share something interesting about the artist, Martina Rall, she uses herself as the model for these self-portraits, in this instance “Being Frida Kahlo”. I find her to be incredibly talented, really an interesting spin on portraiture and commentary. I’m delighted that you found the humor in this and the meaning behind using such a strong individual, Frida Kahlo as the focus of this effort. I can never thank you enough for taking the time to read and understand what my intentions are. Please have a wonderfully creative week. With admiration, Mia

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I loved this! Sassy women are hard to walk unnoticed 🙂 🙂

    A funny coincidence, our high school mascot is a Cougar and my husband often makes jokes about it and me.:)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ah, we can always have special jokes with the ones we love, the kind that are “inside jokes”, right? Dajena, thank you for sharing your kind words and thoughts. I like that, “Sassy women”, Frida was definitely one of those! Have a lovely evening! ~ Mia ❤

      Liked by 1 person

        1. You know after I wrote that, I started to think about all the little special things that are shared, I know that I was smiling, I thought I would wink to myself, but that would just be dumb, so I just sat and thought about all the wonderful things and continued to smile. Thank you for sharing this moment with me! Always much love for you Dajena! ~ Mia ❤

          Liked by 1 person

    1. Shiva, I’m delighted that somehow visiting my site inspired you to write, “Healer of the Broken Hearts”. Thank you for your kindness and for letting me know about the poem. I’m headed over to your site now. ~ Mia 🙂

      Like

    1. Thank you so much Charlie Zero, for your kindness. Very pleased to make your acquaintance as well. Please if you don’t mind, tell me how you like to be addressed, is it Charlie? Thank you for letting me know about the follow. I will be visiting you tomorrow and look forward to what you have been up to. So until tomorrow, please have a wonderful evening and take good care! ~ Mia

      Liked by 1 person

        1. Charlie, thank you for a lovely reply. Just visited your site, yes you are most versatile, definitely a wonderful gift! I’m looking forward to seeing you in my reader now and enjoying your writing. Truly a pleasure! ~ Mia

          Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Arnua, I adore Salma Hayek, she’s the actress that played Frida Kahlo in the movie, “Frida”. I also love the artwork of Frida Kahlo, it’s terrific. Wishing you a great day, lovely Aruna. ~ Mia 🙂

      Like

      1. Oh sorry.i have understood her as named farida.u have remind me dt actress’s name is salma hayek .i have seen d movie”farida”,l m impressed her beauty with jointed eyebrow n her performance in her movie.sorry for misunderstanding.mia dear.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Sorry for misunderstanding.my mistake is dt i understood salma hayek as farida.d movie”farida”,i have seen.some years ago.her beauty with jointed eyebrow n performance in movie is unforgetten things.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

