The Fray

Artist Elif Sanem Karakoç

 

The Fray


My lover:
My brother
My father
I loathe you
I love you;
My mood changes
Moon’s tide
Weather’s temperament
And all things’ whatever

By blue restless night
Cells fuse at the hip
By dark’s blackest Velcro strips
With morose, no remorse
disdain and contempt;
(Never, never consent)
Waiting for judgement
From love’s desire:
The sane sake of the stain

While in mourning’s light
Shining its spot
On the straight edge
And sleepy rusty razor
Severing rose hips
Tossed, separate ways;
Picking scabs
Thickens scars
Strengthening the leash
Binds the blind

Years spent in the fray
Of turmoil and decay
The stench of the rot
Music to the ears
A tone familiar
Its tune reassuring —
“How was your day?”

 

“I talk to God but the sky is empty.”
― Sylvia Plath
   Tricky

92 thoughts on “The Fray

  1. The last stanza is great (not that the rest isn’t, but it’s a great pulling it all together)…. the drab end of things tinged with regret and sadness and weariness. A coming to terms after some distance. Loved it. Sorry you know the subject too well. 🙂

    Years spent in the fray
    Of turmoil and decay
    The stench of the rot
    Music to the ears
    A tone familiar
    Its tune reassuring —
    “How was your day?”

    Liked by 2 people

  2. This is superb Mia. Your wordsmithing continues to be impressive. I love your bit sardonic humor also. 🙂 Your photo and song selection excellent as always. Well done my friend. ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, you’re always so kind and I must say that I’m delighted that you *get* me. You’re an excellent friend, thank you. (Ha-ha, 3 days to commit to the photo that was my first choice to begin with, ugh!) Now, I’m laughing out loud. Hugo is another favorite! Have a peaceful evening, always wishing you the best. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. “Even today it was an ordinary day I hope to talk to an angel” 🙂

    The images that present in your articles make me think, imagine ,
    you are fantastic. 🙂
    I wish you an excellent Friday, kiss.

    Soul.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I’m so glad that you like the images that I select. Thank you for your magical words. I hope you are preparing for a wonderful weekend, it’s still raining here so I’m waiting to send sun and warmth, I can only send warmth with my words, wishing you much happiness this evening, sending you much love as always. ~ Mia ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I was lucky to meet you on WP you are really a wonderful and warm friend.
        I hope you come back soon the sun from you and here to me.
        I wish you a magical weekend with so much love and joy.
        Good continuation to all dearest. ❤
        LOVE.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Likewise, it was also my good luck and good fortune to find such a friend. I’m wishing for sun too, believe me! As soon as it does arrive, you will be the first to know. Thank you, I hope your weekend is filled with much magic as well. Love to you! ~ Mia ❤

          Liked by 1 person

  4. Your words always are deliberate and strike an image in my head. I like that. They are powerful, especially this line.. “Picking scabs Thickens scars”

    Brilliant Mia. Have a great gloomy day in L.A. I’ll steal some sunshine for you up here.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Christian, for your wonderful words. You liked that “Picking scabs”? They become scars eventually if you can’t leave them alone, ha-ha! Thanks for the gloomy wishes from all of us here in L.A., please enjoy OUR sunshine! ~ Mia

      Like

    1. Thank you Charly, especially for your kindness. Stumbled, hell I was tripping, ha-ha! Yes, how lucky for me, (seriously) that your site broke my fall! I write a lot of dark stuff, however I have a ridiculous sense of humor, which sadly I think a lot of people don’t get or are offended by, so I try to be really careful with my comments. Hey, have a great day! ~ Mia

      Like

      1. Hi Mia, so you were in the trip then?::::: ,) 🙂
        You said something about the comments, only I can say is that I comment to people if I think is necessary and in a polite way, I would like that for myself so I treat those people as well as I want to be treated, although don´t get me wrong if some idiot disrespects me, not in the internet since they´re hidding I will not be that polite ( if you know my history), by the way after saying or writing too much, I really like your writing, gifted person you are

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Oh yes, most definitely tripping, who doesn’t like a good trip now and then? Or better yet, now and now! You know, I like your philosophy on the commenting business. Hmm, your history sounds intriguing, especially because I don’t know it. Thank you for your very nice words, I’m delighted to read that you like my writing. Hey, do you have a PayPal account? That way every time you make me laugh I can just make a donation. I hope you are enjoying your day, wishing you well. ~ Mia

          Like

          1. My history is pretty much on written on the blog, with a cool simphony or melody of creativity writing 😉
            By the way, I do know you call yourself Mia, you don´t have to put it at the end…. kidding, by the way if your name in Spanish the exact translation is “Mine”, no bull, check it out

            Liked by 1 person

          2. mitary 5 years, deployed 2 times, I´m even cooler than that, I had 9 times sex in the same day…..did i just say that? sorry don´t have delete button.
            And lost too many good men, forgot
            you look seeeeeexy!

            Liked by 1 person

          3. I have the greatest admiration for your service and for all that serve and have served. I don’t know if I want to know about the number 9, although I will admit my mind is racing with questions, ha-ha!

            Like

  5. Darkness and wit combined…what’s not to love?! This poem is dripping with your usual grace and flair, Mia, and the dark undertones, in particular, call to me. The restless nature, courage in the face of fear and strength to carry on…so fine.
    ‘My mood changes / Moon’s tide’ – exquisite! As is your choice of picture and song. You had me from title to closing word. You’re a star 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ryan, thank you, you’re incredibly kind. I’m extremely touched and always in awe of your comments, they’re as lovely as your poetry. I’m delighted that you felt the entire piece came together. I immensely enjoyed this, I want you to know you made me smile, a wonderful thing! Wishing you a wonderful week my friend. ~ Mia

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, always a diplomat. Ha-ha, that was incorrect, I know you have a sense of humor, so I will tell you what a nut I am. I cut and pasted into word because I had several comments to reply to, “from Ryan the Fray”. So you see my process, oh gosh! Hahahaha! Below is the un-nutty comment! Please tell me you’re laughing!

      Ryan, thank you, you’re incredibly kind. I’m extremely touched and always in awe of your comments, they’re as lovely as your poetry. I’m delighted that you felt the entire piece came together. I immensely enjoyed this, I want you to know you made me smile, a wonderful thing! Wishing you a wonderful week my friend. ~ Mia

      Liked by 1 person

  6. There is a wonderful world that you create within each verse. I admire how every time I read your poetry, it always is well put together (or maybe you keep it all together with your graceful wit!)
    Love to you!
    ❤ Dajena

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dajena, oh how I love your comments, they always make me smile! Thank you for your kindness, truly I’m pleased that you find my poetry put together. Wishing you a lovely week, please enjoy. Thank you, sending much love! ~ Mia ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  7. It is a pleasure to blog into you Mia. I have read a few posts and each conveys feelings that flow and ebb in the river of time. What I am most impressed by though is that you have built a strong community of thoughtful followers and are very attentive to them. That is worth everything.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Mr. Modigliani, it’s my pleasure as well. Such kind words you have so graciously left for me, thank you for that. You know it all happened quite by accident, as this was intended to be a read only blog. I was forever forgetting to close the comments, so I’m grateful to everyone that takes the time to share their thoughts with me. I have my own philosophy on attentiveness, but I will spare you from a surely slow death of boredom. I’ve had the opportunity to enjoyed several of your posts and have set aside some time to spend more time with you. I see you are an artist, I felt a bit foolish, I attempted to visit your gallery and I was unable, is this off limits? Abracadabra did not work, just kidding. Please have a wonderful Saturday and Sunday. Warm wishes. ~ Mia

      Like

        1. Somehow we have to find a way to express and live our passions, incorporating them into our wakeful lives, not just dream about them, otherwise the internal struggle becomes far too great, but this is only my opinion.

          Liked by 1 person

          1. That’s wonderful to read. Do you think progress is part of the process, or is process part of the progress? This is not a trick question, just interested, wondering how and what you think. ~ Mia
            Btw, lovely gallery.

            Like

  8. THIS PURE SHITE!
    Sorry, just like to be different! that would work if it was, but if course it’s a great piece.
    Especially really like
    “Picking scabs
    Thickens scars
    Strengthening the leash
    Binds the blind”

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Saaransh, thank you so much for your kindness. I really like the song, “Hailstorms” by Hugo, especially, “Hailstorms coming, baby bring it on”. Oh yes, and wonderful Sylvia. 🙂 Please have a terrific and creative weekend. ~ Mia 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

