Mephistopheles

Untitled by Benjamin Larrabee 1966-19677

 

Mephistopheles


No scent
No sound
Seething
Intent
Rob blind
Hopes and dreams
Sneaks
Lurks
Invited
Between the sheets
Lays with you
Lies next to you
Fucks you
Fucks with you
Professes love
Empty with glares
Chews you up
Throws you down
Fate’s teeth wait
Consume
The soul you give
Freely

 

“No evil dooms us hopelessly except the evil we love, and desire to continue in, and make no effort to escape from.”
― George Eliot, Daniel Deronda     Object

53 thoughts on “Mephistopheles

  1. I like your style of poetry in a kind of minimalist way, it’s like you give the skeleton and the reader gives it body and flesh.
    Can we find what our souls desire without letting evil overtake us? Nice work Mia – SImon x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Simon! This is just that, an intentional minimalist effort on this piece. I felt it required few words to bring the intent to life, also I’m very hopeful that everyone is familiar with the story of Faust. What a terrific question! I don’t know the absolute answer, but if we look at history I would have to say “NO” in all regards. It’s just the nature of man to want, and to want things that are not always good for the heart or the soul. I don’t know if anyone is immune to this thing, “desire”. Thank you again, I hope you’ve had a wonderful day so far. Wishing you a terrific evening! ~ Mia XO

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hi Mia, I don’t think desire, lust or passion is bad, I think we find ways to fulfill them in bad places.
        For me, this was about a woman finding that in a man, who fulfilled her desires and then she saw him for what he was after and he took a piece of her with him.
        Day has been normal, hope you’re good. Always like seeing you Mia. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Ah, I’m so delighted that you read this with my intent! 😉 Normal is good, ha-ha better than an abnormal day! I’m good, thank you for asking. Likewise, I always love to see that you have visited! Have a pleasant evening! 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

          1. You should know already that I love visiting you and talking with you.
            I read it like you wanted? Is this just something you made up or based on personal experience? I noticed you didn’t use much detail in the act of lovemaking, it was just a cold act it seemed?

            Liked by 1 person

          2. Thank you! Yes, you did read it correctly. I would like to think that everyone can relate to this, in having experienced a “reckless relationship”. Both parties have an agenda, perhaps not so nice. Although the poem itself really does validate “the bad relationship” with idea and introduction of Faust and Mephistopheles. We all know the outcome of that! Ha-ha! 🙂 So to answer your question, there really was no love involved. 😉

            Liked by 1 person

  2. when the bell over your head stops ringing – when the last layers of decay flake and peel off – when your pain compass no longer points in any particular direction – what then? when you wake up from the nightmare and you know that even if you fall asleep again, you wont have the same dream

    Liked by 1 person

    1. If the bell in my head ever stops ringing
      While the last layers of decay have blown away
      Sadly I find my pain compass is badly broken
      My need to depend on my oh so dependable
      Reoccurring dreams will have to suffice —
      That is until I can find another vice

      How about you?

      Thank you for a wonderful comment, I love it! ~ Mia

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Your quote, photo, and song selections are always superb. Your poem though really stands out, love the simplicity along with the Faust tie-in. The coldness kind of reminded me of a Leonard Cohen lyric – ‘Yes, I rise up from her arms, she says “I guess you call this love”; I call it service.’ Outstanding poem Mia, thanks for sharing. I hope you have a wonderful evening. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your very kind words. I pleased that the starkness worked, as well as the Faust reference. I fell in love with Benjamin Larrabee’s photograph and had to use it! I really like the Leonard Cohen lyric that you shared, so much so that I listened to, “There is a War” (5 times, ha-ha, great song). 😉 Wishing you a lovely evening also, looking forward to your post tomorrow! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Grazie! Tu sei troppo gentile, sempre un piacere vedere le tue parole e pensieri abbelliscono le mie pagine. Voglio augurarvi una favolosa notte di Venerdì e un fine settimana fantastico. Tanto amore! ~ Mia ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I immediately recognised the reference to Faust from the title. And I admire the grace with which you treated your subject matter. Really down to the very last word it was a sophisticated and thought provoking story.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Marlow would definitely be thrilled to read this piece that sheds light on one of his main themes. Sin, Redemption and Damnation of proximity with what lurks in the dark.
    A gorgeous write as always! Be well my friend!
    ~ Dajena 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you for a wonderful comment. Please forgive me if you already know this, Marlowe was an enormous influence on Shakespeare. There is a theory that Marlowe faked his own death then began writing under the name of William Shakespeare. Many talking heads dismiss this idea, interesting the two were almost the same age and their writing is similar. Wishing you a lovely Sunday with your family, please take good care.
      ~ Mia 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Christian! Those girls are amazing, the video is so mesmerizing. That’s very cool that you know one of the skaters! Dark is good, right? Ha-ha, I don’t think I can do unicorns or daisy chains, just not in my bag of tricks. Enjoy the rest of your day! ~ Mia

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Hi Mia, this is a perfect title for your poem. Or should it be vice versa. Haha. ‘Professes love’ – that’s just it. It’s only professed. ‘Empty glares’ – that’s right, it’s just an empty lie.
    And who says being able to do whatever one likes and desires is ‘freedom’? Not so. It’s slavery. Like the title suggests. Mephistophiles comes to serve the desire, but in so doing, making the served a slave.
    A wonderful job and portraying this Mia.
    Have a wonderful rest of the day.
    🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Staci, thank you for a lovely and wonderful comment! I absolutely love how you’ve worded the following, “Mephistopheles comes to serve the desire, but in so doing, making the served a slave”. Maybe “Those” in charge of undermining humanity will use desire to take over the world, I mean really if you think about it, and sadly it’s a horrible thought. Hmm…in reality is it already happening? I think maybe so. As temptation and immediate gratification comes in so many forms these days. I could resist the title, “Mephistopheles”, but I did waver a bit, considered using “Faust”. 😉

      I bet it’s good to be home, I hope you took a ton of fantastic photos while you were away. I personally would love to see you post more of them, it’s fun to see the other projects that you’re working on. Take good care, enjoy your evening and the rest of your week! ~ Mia 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hi Mia,
        ““Those” in charge of undermining humanity will use desire to take over the world, I mean really if you think about it, and sadly it’s a horrible thought. Hmm…in reality is it already happening? I think maybe so.”
        –Man, is that ever the truth. I don’t know if you’ve seen anything on the international news, but Brazil is absolutely crazy right now. We are facing the largest case of corruption ever in the history of a democracy. There was this huge scandal with the major gasoline company, Petrobras here, where the president of that company is not imprisoned. Now, the ex-president is being investigated and there is so much proof of corruption and theft of ‘the people’s’ money. It’s all over the news here. Also, the current president (same party and closely tied to the ex-president) is up for impeachment. There was a nation-wide demonstration for her impeachment on Sunday, and now tomorrow has been declared a nation-wide holiday to fight for her impeachment. All because of this greed and desire. (sorry for the book on this – haha.)
        Photos – I didn’t take any. Can you believe it? I had no time actually. I was running the entire time gone. No time to practice. haha.
        You have a wonderful evening Mia, and a great Friday.
        🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Staci, I’ve read a couple of articles that address this issue, apparently the information reported is that everyone involved is denying any allegations of wrongdoings. Some of these individuals have put themselves in positions that makes them untouchable, I hope this is not the case. This sounds frightening and the people must be furious, the type of anger that starts riots! Mob mentality is also frightening, as it seems to be fueled by the loudest idiot. Hopefully clear heads will prevail. Wishing you and your family well during this difficult time, as well as during an obvious political transition in the future.

          No photos, what a shame, I pleased to hear you were busy and on the go, sounds like you had a good time. Have a wonderful evening as well, enjoy Friday and the weekend. Please take good care!
          ~ Mia 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

          1. It’s crazy. My husband was in Brasilia on Wednesday for a meeting at the ‘camera’ (I think that means senate in English). He joined in the protest against the ex-president for a bit. Haha. He’s constantly sharing posts on FB about it all. The ex-president could be imprisoned at any time now.
            🙂

            Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Saaransh, for sharing your amazing words with me. Oh definitely, I think you can get so much mileage out of a title, it’s like precious real estate, ha-ha. Thank you for the encouragement and your thoughts. Please be well. ~ Mia

      Like

Leave a Reply

